We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable business hotel”
Review of Joys Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Joys Palace
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Thrissur
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Affordable business hotel”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Affordable business class hotel in cultural capital of Kerala. Away from crowd but easily reachable from Railway station / National Highway / Bus terminal. Good multi-cuisine food, neat & clean premises with ample parking. Ideal for family stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abrahamsuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    87
    46
    14
    20
See reviews for
110
42
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Given that this hotel is not exactly 'cheap', one would expect more in a Tier-2 town, Yet, this might be the best option in town.

On the positives, you get a great view from the top floors. The service was generally good and the food was also satisfactory.

The hotel feels a little '90s. Maintenance is average at best in terms of the upholstery, bedding and furniture. The breakfast is also average and there is scope to introduce fresher and more local variety such as Appam in the menu. The approach is potholed and immediate neighbourhood is not really picturesque.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the 8th / 9th floors for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aamadmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The location of the hotel overlooking the temple grounds is very good. The restaurant and top areas provide a very good view. The rooms are also pretty good, decent and clean for the rate. The service is also very good

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors overlooking temple grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimvaghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not expecting a great place I had booked Joys palace only to be taken by surprise. I rate it no less than a palace.


The Hotel:
Standing tall at 9 floors the hotel is a business class one. I do not know if you would enjoy much if you plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel itself. Getting to the hotel is easy and you could see it from a distance if you are in the vicinity.

The Service:
We had specified our approximate arrival time and stuck to it. However the check-in did take around 30 minutes since the rooms were not ready. Apart from this the staff here are excellent and always around for you. The room service, housekeeping all were prompt to our needs and that added to the charm.

The Rooms:
We got a room on the 8th floor. The room is pretty huge for the price we pay. At the 8th floor height, the windows gave a good view of the greenery submerging the Thrissur town. The linen was clean and so were the furniture. Toiletries were provided and also replenished during our stay. The executive rooms provide only twin beds and no king/queen beds.

The Food:
Had breakfast and dinner buffet at the hotel. Outstanding!!!!!! I regret not having met the chef in person and complimenting him. The spread was great and had some authentic food with authentic tastes. Something that most Kerala hotels lack to offer. By far one of the best buffets I have had to date! Each and every dish was made to perfection.


Other facts:
There is a nice bar next to the restaurant. There is a pastry shop down at the reception. There is a gym and SPA on the 9th floor. And yes, if you plan to get married or engaged there are some huge huge halls in the hotel.


Overall:
A great place if you are on business trip and or for touring people. If you intend to stay mainly in your rooms and enjoy the property it does not have much to offer like resorts. Will recommend this hotel and even if you do not stay here drop by to have their dinner or lunch buffets.

Cheers!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soubhagyanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A 1 night business stay in May 2013. A very disappointing experience.
Rooms:
Was large but fairly ordinary. The sofa had cigarette burns. The sheets had stains and the pillows too lumpy, heavy and uncomfortable.
I had booked an executive room (Rs 3350 + tax) and most annoyingly they have only twin beds in this category. No queen or king beds available. For that you have to upgrade to the Delux room at Rs 4500 + tax. So you pay additional Rs 1200/- for a queen bed.
The TV is the old 20 inch CRT, in this day and age where they are practically antiques.
There is a small empty refridgerator, not a mini bar. You will have to ask the room service for cold drinks, which are really expensive at Rs 63/-
Bathroom is decent, and that was a saving grace. Adequate toiletries were provided.

The worst part of this hotel is the room service and the food quality.
Really pathetic.
I took the pains to go and order personally to the manager at the restaurant because I knew on the phone they would goof up the order.
Still they goofed up the order. I ordered one soup and 3 dishes. I was told it will take 30 mins.
70 mins and 2 reminders later the order arrived. 1 dish short. Even the orders which came were incomplete. The beef steak came minus the mash potatoes, sauce and garlic bread.
The Pork pepper fry, looked and tasted terrible.
Breakfast was not much better. Very average choice in the buffet, but again bad service.
I aksed for a plain crisp dosa. Hoping for the best. What arrived was a cold soggy, soft dosa.
I had it changed. Second time i got it slightly crispy but totally cold.
I ordered a cheese omelette, and was left searching for the cheese.
Finally ordered a simple fried egg, sunny side up. After 20 min and a reminder, I got a semi fried and runny, sunny side up.

Only good point:
The people at the reception were nice and polite.

So though this is supposed to be the best in Thrissur, definitely avoid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctorneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed in the hotel on the night of 29th march 2013 with my kids and occupied Executive Double Room. I told them to join the beds no in this category two separate beds.It is in Deluxe Rooms. Rediculous.. if you are with your wife you need sleep two separate beds!!!!!
Bathroom is flooded with water..... Interiors are not so good after paying a hefty some which is not worth for money... I paid Rs. 2890/- plus taxes.. They never mention the percentage of Taxes..in the email. This room worth of Rs.2000/- maximum per night.
I don't know how it is rated #6 in thrissur by trip advisor may not be so good hotels around.
As mentioned in the website Big Screen LCD TV, LOCKER, Mini Bar ...etc but nothing is provided.
After bath the bathroom is flooded.
If you are paying it should be worth that's all I wanted to say.
But plus point is the Restaurant is provided good food.

Room Tip: Not Value for money... if they offer good discount on tariffs then it is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelKuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My personal experience with this hotel was a very bad one. Maybe you must have heard of the day when all goes wrong and this was just one for me. I got a room (607) with no TV working (the plug took about 3 hours to be replaced. After taking a bath, i found the entire toilet flooded and water had entered the room. The entire maintenance people in and out of my room. Luckily for the hotel manager had gone long to take his dinner and no decision makers....keeping the guest waiting for hours with the problem .
The Coffee Shop service was like waiting for hours before you could get any service at all (Even Coffee).. We had a meeting in the morning and had gone out to visit our client and on returning back in the evening, we went to the coffee shop again as we had someone waiting in the lobby..to our surprise, we found the table left with the balance cookies and balance coffee that we had left in the morning..
You can never name this place the Joys Palace... I have to close this feedback by saying that i finally got a room where all was ok along with apologies..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varghesemathew700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thrissur hotels
0.5 mi away
The Garuda Hotel
The Garuda Hotel
#6 of 27 in Thrissur
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merlin International
Hotel Merlin International
#9 of 27 in Thrissur
47 reviews
2.6 mi away
Niya Regency
Niya Regency
#4 of 27 in Thrissur
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luciya Palace
Hotel Luciya Palace
#18 of 27 in Thrissur
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dass Continental
Dass Continental
#14 of 27 in Thrissur
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casino Hotels Limited
Casino Hotels Limited
#2 of 55 in Thrissur
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joys Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joys Palace

Property: Joys Palace
Address: TB Road, Thrissur 680021, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thrissur District > Thrissur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Thrissur
#3 Spa Hotel in Thrissur
#4 Family Hotel in Thrissur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Joys Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 5 star hotel in Thrissur with outdoor restaurant, bar, Ayurveda, spa, spacious rooms, 5 non veg buffet, swimming pool. Guests have the provision to use a high facility gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Joys Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joys Palace Kerala/Thrissur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing