We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The resort from hell”
Review of Nilayoram Resorts

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thrissur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nilayoram Resorts
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Thrissur
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We did not even get the chance to BE there - my wife phoned and an extremely rude man answered the phone - he would not shut up long enough to let her speak - and she was calling long distance - calls are extremely costly to India, yet he continued to interrupt and speak when she was speaking.

She wanted Ayurveda treatments. To us, then, the most logical thing to do would be so obtain the doctor's mobile number to discuss the case and see if he could
help her. The man refused her. She said she could not come unless she could
call the doctor some time, the man said, well then just leave it. And closed the call - she was shocked.

Want to know who the rude man was? THE OWNER OF THE RESORT!!
If the owner can be so horrible in his attitude and how he treats people he does now know, you can expect the same attitude and bad treatment from the rest of his staff. That is how businesses are run - idiots hire idiots.

Nice looking website, nasty owner.
So don't let advertisings throw dust in your eyes.
Just stay away,
and save yourselves a lot of frustration and grief.

This man does not seem to need any new business
and also does not have the intelligence to at least understand
that business is build by people telling other people about it.

For sure I will not tell any of the people I know and I meet
about this place.
My wife and I will spend our hard earned money
at a decent place where people are given understanding and respect.
Plenty of other choices, my friends.
Go and find them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Surya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

After reading the reviews here, I made a conscious choice to check out Nilayoram since I was looking for a place to get my sore neck treated without having to bear the grind of a hospital regimen. I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly attitude of the health staff and the cleanliness of the place. The food, initially was not completely to my tastes but soon changed on providing feedback. I would have been a bit boring if not for the chess sessions in the evening. What really makes this place stand out is the fact that it is set amidst nature in its raw form. Whether it is the sound of the stream careening through the rocks or the wake up calls in the morning by peacocks and a whole variety of birds, you many not want to miss a beat.

Room Tip: Pick the ones closer to the stream and take a companion along
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TulipTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I went to the retreat to help me with a health issue that I was dealing with for 4 years. I went for a 7 day treatment. I had to continue treatment with ayurvedic medicines for 3 more months. Within 1 month, my issue had resolved. The treatments are based on ones condition. I received twice a messages and it was great. The medicines were bitter but that was expected. The rooms are cleaned daily and was nice. It can be boring if you don't bring someone or bring something to do. But I had expected this. The yoga teacher was great and I am not sure about the review by others. He explained things and teached yoga poses for my level and conditions. The resort itself is located in a very nice area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I'd quit my job and wanted to start a new life so I thought what a perfect way to de-stress. So I signed up for a 3 week health retreat in India...I wanted to spoil myself so I lashed out on one of the more expensive ones and choice it particularly because of the fact that it also taught yoga. I've been trying to quit smoking also so I thought I would have a bettter chance in this type of environement....Boy was I wrong...There was a guest staying there the same time as me that was smoking in his room (which was right next to mine) and on occassion in the living area of the resort (that we commonly shared). Needless to say my attempt to quit smoking was futile.

I agree with the review below, the food served was 'okay' (initially) however it did tend to be repeated every 3 days and on a 3 week stay it was overly boring, on most occassions the food was luke warm at best...however often it was down right cold.

You were given aweful tasting herbs to drink (which I kinda of expected) but the most annoying thing was when you asked what is was the answer you got was simply 'medicine'...then my next question would be what type of medicine..they would say 'herbs'...then my next question would be...What will the herbs do? ...then after 7 or 8 more questions you will get 'half' an answer.

The yoga instructor...although he was a nice enough guy was an absolute joke of a teacher...Given that the cost of the program is advertised in 'Euro' I assumed that the centre was targetting Western clientelle as opposed to locals so I thought it was a fair assumption that a yoga instructor would be able to explain the yoga postures he was doing in English. Bless him, he tried..but I had no idea...I got frustrated and then just didn't go anymore.

This centre is not near ANYTHING!!!! The doctors prefer you to stay in and 'take rest', however they dont like it if you sleep during the day or sit in the sun...you're meant to just sit quietly in your room....I found myself sneaking out with the smoker just to go for a walk so I could get out of the four walls...

Personally, if it hadn't been for the friend that I made whilst at the resort (another guest) I would have thought that this part of my holiday would have been an absolute right off.

Lucky for me I was able to travel around India for a further 2 months so this joke of place was not my only impression of india.

So in short...I'm sure there are some great heath retreats to go to in India...it's just that this isn't one of them.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SugarRae1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Disappointing is the word that sums up my Indian holiday. Such a shame really as I had gone to great lengths to try to ensure that I was clear in what I was looking for before I had confirmed my booking.
What I had been looking for: Relaxing, healing, experiencing new culture, meeting new people, sunbathing, learning and improving my yoga skills. Learning about ayurveda - to enable me to use this on my return to the UK. I am a student nutritional therapist so I thought it would be a bit of a bus man's holiday.
What I found:
The pick up from the aiport was very welcome, although the two hour drive a little scary at times but that is India for you.
The staff were quite friendly and did try hard to make my stay as relaxing as possible.. as long as I fitted in with their routine.
The room was a good size and cleaned daily although I should have put ear plugs in my case as the electric switches quite noisily between generators at all hours.
The treatment staff were friendly and on the whole good. A shame that on the last day they dropped the bottle during my head oil treatment so rather than being totally relaxed I was hanging off the ceiling!
The food was fair but the menu repeated on about day 3 so became quite monotonous and there was no explanation as to what it was or why we were eating it. Oh apart from the rice soup which has weight loss properties, I worked out how with this one; once you've had it 4 days in a row you just dont eat it!
The yoga was a joke and I stupidly didn't say anything sooner, the only other person at the resort stopped going but I tried to get the most out of it by asking questions and sharing my yogic goals but to no avail. We found out that for the yoga courses they do get someone else in.
I think if my expectations had not been set so high by Mr Menon in his speedy and incredibly curteous replies then I would not have felt so disappointed. If I had been told there was no yoga but only meditation in a strange indian english, that they would rather you didn't speak/spend time with the other guests (sorry guest), that there was no real space for any sunbathing (the grass was over grown and down some perilous stairs), that during monsoon season the walk ways were dangerous and pipes leaked and had not been repaired, that there would be no explanation of any of the treatments, the food or indeed anything relating to ayurveda and there would be nothing to take home to read to remind you of what you had done and why, that there would be no information at the resort about the resort - that I would have to use the slow internet to check the resorts own website, that they say Yes there is a specialist shop rather than admitting it is not possible to buy local hand made goods in the area, and any trips would take about 5 days to organise and the prices would change daily,.. if I had known all that then I would not have been so disappointed.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
7  Thank ZenaNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed here the first week of our vacation to acclimatise. When we arrived a driver picked us up and took us to the resort where we were welcomed by Mr. Menon. Beautiful resort and cottage where everyone is very friendly. If you want to experience true ayurveda this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElisabethvO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thrissur hotels
0.0 mi away
Joys Palace
Joys Palace
#2 of 28 in Thrissur
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lulu International Convention Centre & Garden Hotels
0.0 mi away
Sree Krishna Residency
Sree Krishna Residency
#18 of 28 in Thrissur
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luciya Palace
Hotel Luciya Palace
#14 of 28 in Thrissur
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palace Tower Hotel
Palace Tower Hotel
#24 of 28 in Thrissur
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chand V Residency
Chand V Residency
#3 of 28 in Thrissur
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilayoram Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilayoram Resorts

Address: Painkulam P.O. | Cheruturuthy, Thrissur 679531, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thrissur District > Thrissur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Thrissur
Price Range: $463 - $1,511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Ayurvedic Resort in the hills of Thrissur ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nilayoram Resorts Kerala/Thrissur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing