We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place very rewarding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The River Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The River Retreat
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Thrissur
Certificate of Excellence
bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place very rewarding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

we have been recommending River Retreat to our guests and also had personal experiences. staff is very friendly. location is great. serves well to the cultural capital of Kerala.. Tirur and Cheruthuruthy. The Folk traditions of River Nila are all around.
all in all a great place to be in for short breaks.

Room Tip: Deluxe cottages are great.. no noise unlike chamber retreat rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sinhaBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    58
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
60
49
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thrissur, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I can't imagine staying anywhere else other than river retreat. Praveen and his team make us feel so welcome and the service is certainly the best. Nothing is too much trouble, you never have to wait long for anything you order and they remember what you last had! The ambience is great, you will always meet good interesting people here and be made to feel very welcome. I can see why people come back every year and its so assuring to see the same faces year on year! the music selection in the restaurant also excellent,The rooms are clean...We will definately recommend this place to everybody. Thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bhasmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHENGANNUR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The resort is beautifully landscaped, with lush gardens at the banks of Bharathapuzha.
We were happy to see that the river was almost full because of the heavy rain fall for past few days. it had greenary allover which makes it an ideal atmosphere for relaxation. The food is excellent, with attentive restaurant staff who are always smiling.

All staff members at the resort were very helpful right from the bell boy whom we met upon arrival. The only worry was that because of the tight schedule, we could not try their Ayurvedic Massage, which they are masters in. Love to come back with family to spend few days for rejuvenation.

Highly recommend this property

Room Tip: near to the loan area... with the view of lake.... area with more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAMES_HKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

The retreat was not only neat & clean but the staff were also very very polite.
The service rendered was also of excellent quality, especially the food served.
Plenty of indoor/outdoor games for kids and the air around is also clean.
Got a real wonderful package for a group of 20 persons from Mr.Siju Pulieyoor, the Operations manager.
Overall, a very good experience for family members.
The games area can be spruced-up a bit more.

Room Tip: You can customise your menu as per your group needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acrisnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Rverretreat was an excellent experience. The picturesque resort, right by the river. Hardly 5 minutes drive to the Kerala Kalamandalam, the location is calm and serene. Right place for families, with big lawns, river facing and silent and safe locality. The food served was excellent and tasty. Quality of Staff and Management will bring you back to this resort. Thanks for the entire team of River Retreat who made our stay wonderful

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Me & My husband stayed in The River Retreat for 2 days, we really loved the resort, good & clean room i stayed, nice ayurvedic massage i got from there, room price is also normal, food i get in the resort very tasty, from check in time till to my check out time from resort they give me good services, restaurant is also good in resort, thank u Mr Praveen Menon Keep In Touch ......

Room Tip: i stayed in deluxe cottage . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMonisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We wanted to stay away from the crowds. The River Retreat, Just 70 kms away from my home was a choice for us when we were on vacation last time. We enjoyed our stay very much and we were surprised about the absolute cleanliness in this place. We relaxed in a beautiful room overlooking river nila. The whole resort is designed well. The restaurant offered very good food with very good service. The Ayurveda treatments were perfect and very professional. We will highly recommend this resort to our friends and would like to come back again for sure! River Retreat is a beautifully laid out resort, with well designed space,lovely swimming pool children play area etc. The rooms are large and well appointed. Ideally located just miles way from Kerala Kalamandalam the famous institute of performing arts. The staff were all very warm, friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saritha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thrissur hotels
1.0 mi away
Joys Palace
Joys Palace
#2 of 27 in Thrissur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Merlin International
Hotel Merlin International
#8 of 27 in Thrissur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lulu International Convention Centre & Garden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Garuda Hotel
The Garuda Hotel
#6 of 27 in Thrissur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.1 mi away
Niya Regency
Niya Regency
#3 of 27 in Thrissur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luciya Palace
Hotel Luciya Palace
#27 of 27 in Thrissur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Retreat

Property: The River Retreat
Address: Palace Road | Cheruthuruthy, Thrissur 679531, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thrissur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Thrissur
#4 Spa Hotel in Thrissur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The River Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The River Retreat Kerala/Thrissur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing