We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, friendly B&B”
Review of Maison Narbay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Andre de Seignanx
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Narbay
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cardigan Village
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Welcoming, friendly B&B”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Sarah and Carl were very welcoming and the B&B had large rooms and a large bathroom. Internet access via WiFi Breakfast was delicious with homemade bread and local Basque ingredients. The location is close to beaches which were great for a walk. Sarah had lots of brochures and ideas of where to go and what to see in the local area. Would recommend this as a beautiful place to stay in Basque country.

Room Tip: All rooms had access to outdoors with a table and chairs so bring food back and sitting outside to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Sarah is so friendly and welcoming!

The house is picturesque and located away from the busy roads leading to Biarritz. Breakfast was excellent - Sarah made fresh churros!

The room was very comfortable, the bathroom large and the shower, great. Some internet. There are boardgames for guests.

Not far to the beaches of Biarritz. I recommend it!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTravelbug25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We arrived to the beauty of St Barthelemy b and b Maison Narbay from a full on cruise to find large beautifully outfitted rooms with king sized beds and ensuites. Sarah and Carl met us with a welcome drink and aperitifs .Breakfast was probably basque style, crepe, Bayonne ham and Carl,s delicious home made breads. This was an ideal base for visiting Bayonne, Biarritz and Spain.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet and there is also a gite on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2kiwis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We spent rwo nights at Maison Norbay in late september and were impressed by Sarah and Carl's warm welcome, friendly hosting and great accomodation. Our room was large, private, very clean and tastefully decorated, with our own deck. Breakfast and dinner were all local or home-made products. The location is so convenient with many worthy sites within a short drive. We fully enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We found this small guest house on the internet and are so pleased we did.

We were driving to Spain and decided this was a good area to take a rest stop.

The property is a renovated house and stables and has been completed to a very high standard.

The rooms are large, exceptionally clean and well furnished. A really nice touch is the individual terrace to the rear of the room allowing a very pleasant spot to sit and admire the gardens. Beds are very large and very comfortable. Top quality shower room is, of course, en-suite.

We were welcomed by the owner, Sarah, and her delightfull children. The welcome is warm and genuine. We had pre ordered the evening meal which is a superb assiette plate of regional food served with a good red wine and was just right.

Breakfast is served in the huge kitchen/breakfast room and is, again, excellent.

The beach area is only a short distance from the property and Sarah and Carl will give excellent directions to this and also some good walks.

We can recommend this and would like to go back for a longer stay sometime.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrinklieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Positives:
Warm welcome and welcome drink
Excellent value
Clean and spacious room
French doors to extensive garden
Visitors kitchen - microwave, fridge etc
Near Bayonne and Biarritz
Wonderful quiet beach at Ondres - 15 minutes away
English speaking - good local advice

Negative:
Difficult to find a restaurant nearby - except for Ondres

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneHillwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, U.K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We had a wonderful week in Maison Narby. Sarah is a fantastic host and her family gave us a warm welcome and made us feel at home. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and spacious with patio doors opening up onto glorious peaceful countryside.
Maison Narby is a magical place to take children with loads of freedom and space to play and run around.
The breakfast was lovely with homemade breads and cakes which were delicious and too tempting to leave!
Maison Narby is a fantasic location for exploring the Basque region and is a good base to travel to Bayonne, Biarritz and the surrounding areas. There are so many great places to visit.
Sarah was able to advise us with her local knowledge of good day trips and child friendly activities which was invaluable to us as this was our first trip abroad with our little boy! She was wonderful with our son, who adored all the family, and made his holiday so special.
I can't rate Maison Narby highly enough, but beware if you stay for one night or one week, you won't want to leave!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petitpois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Andre de Seignanx
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
1,138 reviews
5.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Lodge
Inter-Hotel Le Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ondres
184 reviews
5.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Bayonne Tarnos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Maison Gelous
Maison Gelous
#1 of 1 in Bidache
49 reviews
10.3 mi away
Maison Basta
Maison Basta
#1 of 2 in Orthevielle
114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Domaine De Millox
Domaine De Millox
#2 of 3 in Saint Andre de Seignanx
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Narbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Narbay

Property: Maison Narbay
Address: 814 route de Saint Barthelemy, 40390 Saint Andre de Seignanx, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Saint Andre de Seignanx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andre de Seignanx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarah and Carl, a franco-welsh couple offer you a very warm welcome in this rustic converted farmhouse, full of charm, character and sobriety.During the hard work renovation of our 200 year old house, we have revealed the original features of stone walls and wooden beams and added some modern touches for your comfort.Maison Narbay is only a few minutes drive from the coast and long sandy beaches of Les Landes (Ondres, Hossegor). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Narbay France/Saint Andre De Seignanx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing