We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Barn Conversion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison Narbay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Andre de Seignanx
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Narbay
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Barn Conversion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We arrived to the beauty of St Barthelemy b and b Maison Narbay from a full on cruise to find large beautifully outfitted rooms with king sized beds and ensuites. Sarah and Carl met us with a welcome drink and aperitifs .Breakfast was probably basque style, crepe, Bayonne ham and Carl,s delicious home made breads. This was an ideal base for visiting Bayonne, Biarritz and Spain.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet and there is also a gite on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2kiwis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We spent rwo nights at Maison Norbay in late september and were impressed by Sarah and Carl's warm welcome, friendly hosting and great accomodation. Our room was large, private, very clean and tastefully decorated, with our own deck. Breakfast and dinner were all local or home-made products. The location is so convenient with many worthy sites within a short drive. We fully enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

We found this small guest house on the internet and are so pleased we did.

We were driving to Spain and decided this was a good area to take a rest stop.

The property is a renovated house and stables and has been completed to a very high standard.

The rooms are large, exceptionally clean and well furnished. A really nice touch is the individual terrace to the rear of the room allowing a very pleasant spot to sit and admire the gardens. Beds are very large and very comfortable. Top quality shower room is, of course, en-suite.

We were welcomed by the owner, Sarah, and her delightfull children. The welcome is warm and genuine. We had pre ordered the evening meal which is a superb assiette plate of regional food served with a good red wine and was just right.

Breakfast is served in the huge kitchen/breakfast room and is, again, excellent.

The beach area is only a short distance from the property and Sarah and Carl will give excellent directions to this and also some good walks.

We can recommend this and would like to go back for a longer stay sometime.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrinklieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Positives:
Warm welcome and welcome drink
Excellent value
Clean and spacious room
French doors to extensive garden
Visitors kitchen - microwave, fridge etc
Near Bayonne and Biarritz
Wonderful quiet beach at Ondres - 15 minutes away
English speaking - good local advice

Negative:
Difficult to find a restaurant nearby - except for Ondres

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneHillwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, U.K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

We had a wonderful week in Maison Narby. Sarah is a fantastic host and her family gave us a warm welcome and made us feel at home. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and spacious with patio doors opening up onto glorious peaceful countryside.
Maison Narby is a magical place to take children with loads of freedom and space to play and run around.
The breakfast was lovely with homemade breads and cakes which were delicious and too tempting to leave!
Maison Narby is a fantasic location for exploring the Basque region and is a good base to travel to Bayonne, Biarritz and the surrounding areas. There are so many great places to visit.
Sarah was able to advise us with her local knowledge of good day trips and child friendly activities which was invaluable to us as this was our first trip abroad with our little boy! She was wonderful with our son, who adored all the family, and made his holiday so special.
I can't rate Maison Narby highly enough, but beware if you stay for one night or one week, you won't want to leave!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petitpois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croyon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed at Maison Narbay recently during our annual family holiday. We wanted to see Bayonne, Biarritz and the basque region.
The rooms were very stylish ,large and airy and were perfect for the four of us as they were in a suite with seperate bathroom and toilet.There was a lovely kitchen downstairs which allowed us to make snacks and we had our own private terrace to sit out and enjoy the lovely views.We didn't expect such luxury and wished we had booked for a whole week! The breakfasts were home made bread, preserves cakes and yoghurt.,and all the guests were made to feel welcome.We highly recommend this lovely chambre d'hotes .
The Gorman family, Surrey, UK.

  • Liked — Quality of the rooms and location
  • Disliked — not able to walk to beach
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank no19girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

We made a late booking for a family of five via the internet. Sarah replied promptly, and in english, giving us the confidence to continue with the booking. We flew into Biaritz, picked up a hire car and followed the clear directions to the door.

carl and sarah have a lovely place on a quiet road. the photos they have on thier website are a very good depiction of what you get - no funny angles or estate agent blurb! This is thier home that they open up to the visitor. it is still a work in progress but when you see the photos of where they started you will be amazed how far they have come.

The rooms are homely, comfortable and well sized. The breakfast is to die for - all home made and from thier own or mums garden. They are great hosts, they know the area so well, sarah speaks french, spanish and english (probably more) and carl does welsh!

In short I would recommend it without hesitation. if you want a relaxing break this is the place to be.

Jon, Sandra, chris, Emma and Steve
Summer 2008

  • Liked — friendly hosts
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JSCES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Andre de Seignanx
15.5 mi away
Domaine de Silencenia
Domaine de Silencenia
#1 of 1 in Louhossoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
12.1 mi away
Maison Gelous
Maison Gelous
#1 of 1 in Bidache
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
10.3 mi away
Maison Basta
Maison Basta
#1 of 2 in Orthevielle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Domaine De Millox
Domaine De Millox
#2 of 3 in Saint Andre de Seignanx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
23.7 mi away
La Forge de Clermont
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Narbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Narbay

Property: Maison Narbay
Address: 814 route de Saint Barthelemy, 40390 Saint Andre de Seignanx, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Saint Andre de Seignanx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andre de Seignanx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarah and Carl, a franco-welsh couple offer you a very warm welcome in this rustic converted farmhouse, full of charm, character and sobriety.During the hard work renovation of our 200 year old house, we have revealed the original features of stone walls and wooden beams and added some modern touches for your comfort.Maison Narbay is only a few minutes drive from the coast and long sandy beaches of Les Landes (Ondres, Hossegor). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Narbay France/Saint Andre De Seignanx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing