We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short trip”

Kootenay Lake Ferry
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Balfour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Even thought the water appeared rough the ride was smooth. We had a glimpse of the Kookanee Glacier. It is free to ride the inland ferries. Nice surprise.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Orsprey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was like riding on a ferry but with some spectacular views. You can also watch the Orsprey which have a nest there. They have little babies and everything.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Free sailing in paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Would you like to sit on a wonderful ship, coffee in hand, for a half hour crossing with mountains surrouding a pristine 100 km lake (that you're on)? Would you like to do that for free any of 365 days a year? Well, that's this ferry.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GaryOckenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great sightseeing while you slow your heart rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Been taking the ferry from Kootenay Bay to Balfour (and back again!) countless times in the last 15+ years and I've enjoyed it every time. It's free and you may have to wait, but you can't beat the mountainous scenery and slower pace of life instilled on the ferry. There are two ferries with The Osprey 2000 having the Snack bar on deck and The Balfour ferry smaller with no coffee bar available.

Ride takes about 35 minutes once it's loaded and leaving the dock. If you're stuck waiting at Balfour, visit the Old World Bakery for samosas, croissants, cookies, and a beverage. Kootenay Bay has a couple shops too, but we've always just played on the beach if we're waiting long. You never know what the traffic will be like, so plan ahead if you have something hugely important on the other side.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glee2544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
366 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“An easy and enjoyable ride across Kootenay Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a great bargain getting to cross the lake for nothing. We timed the ferry well, our wait was only 20 minutes. I was impressed with the size of the ferry and how many vehicles that could get on. On board there are a couple lounges and a snack bar. The scenery is outstanding during the voyage. The drive down to Creston was very scenic along Lake Kootenay.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kootenay Lake Ferry also viewed

Ainsworth Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
Ainsworth Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 
Ainsworth Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Kootenay Lake Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing