We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!”

Balfour Beach Inn & Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Balfour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balfour Beach Inn & Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Balfour
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place is unbelievable. First, you go online to make your reservation and it comes back and tells you that you have a confirmation number. then it says that someone will call to confirm the reservation. NO ONE CALLS YOU! So I call them a day before we leave for there and they have no idea that I'm coming but tell me to "go ahead and come as we don't have any other people staying there." We show up, the office has a neon "open" sign lit but the door is locked. You then end up searching for someone, anyone who might look like staff. That is usually found in the bar. When you tell them you have a reservation, they just look at you like you're nuts, which, is probably true. They don't ask for your name but rather just give you some paperwork to fill out with the usual stuff and then give you a key. The rooms are fairly clean. However, if it's hot out, bring your own fan as they have no A/C, no fans and only have windows that slide open and some of them don't have screens. You will have the pleasure of sharing your accommodations with the insect world and frankly, don't try to ask the staff for help as you are not going to find them....especially working in the office. No one has any idea where anyone who works the motel part is, and this is after asking several times over a 4 day period. The overarching issue is, they charged us $110 a night for this dump. We looked around for other places, but seems the decent ones were all booked. Bottom line is, this place has a great advertising gimmick going but as everyone should well know, don't believe everything you see or read on the internet, especially about lodging in Balfour. I would equate this to a hillbilly hotel in southern Alabama!

Room Tip: Search for a motel that lists how old it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    0
    4
    11
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

everything is fresh this spring at the BBI. the best part is "dub at the pub" on tuesdays! we went for the first one last week and it was so much fun! every week there is a local dj..next week is El Jimador we were told...he rocks! what a great idea to have dancing at the pub...jam night friday is fun too...but we wanna go tuesdays all the time!!! cant wait until it is warm enough to go on the patio!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Pros:
great location with a wonderful view.
food is ok.
serving staff are pleasant and friendly, if a little slow.

Cons:
smelly, dirty room.
accommodation staff is slow, not accommodating, and impolite.
bed was uncomfortable.
can hear the people in the next room brushing their teeth because the walls are so thin.
no coffee in the mornings unless you go over to the cafe.
driveway full of potholes as well as parking areas

We could have saved our $240 and pitched a tent on the beach and been happier.

Room Tip: Camp at a local provincial park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annalise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Balfour hotels

Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This has been bothering me now for over a month. I have never and I mean NEVER had such a combination of bad service, food and accommodation in one place ever! The sad lazy girl in the sparkle boots that was "in charge" of the place seemed to be inconvenienced by my presents because she had to get off the bar stool she was on surfing the net behind the bar to help me check in. When she finally retrieved a key (ten minutes later) she instructed me to go and see if the room was fine. Fine by any definition would be something at least middle of the road, not the nightmare of a room I had the key to. Badly warn seventies fixtures with a real lame and cheap attempt to up date the look with poor quality sheets and pillows. It was getting late and I was tired so I took the room anyway, I went back to the Inn, registered, ordered a drink and something to eat. The menu was a confused mess and hard to read in the dim lights so I ordered the special. The driest meat loaf I have ever had, more like a brick of saw dust with luke warm gravy on it served with the chunkiest mashed potatoes I have ever come across. THE WORST!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

There were socks under the bed that where NOT mine and certain hairs in the bathroom again NOT mine...plus broken glass on the bathroom floor makes one wonder if a broom is part of the cleaning regime.

There was no service just confused individuals that would refer you to a manger that no one seen nor knew how to reach.

It was the worst Canadian hotel I have ever slept in, especially for the price they expected!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chips007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

It was just awful. I slept with my clothes on all night. Bathroom towel rod broken towles hung from a rusty shower rod. No supplies what so ever. Pillow on bed as old as the hill. I can't see how they are allowed to get a License to rent out rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 154913Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great location on the beach near the ferry terminal in Balfour. The building is old, and in need of either a major Reno or torn down. Beds uncomfortable, carpets and counters dirty, room had unpleasant odor. All this for $120 night. Bring a tent and stay at Kokanee creek provincial Park instead.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJay1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balfour
0.2 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
17.1 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
261 reviews
16.5 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#10 of 10 in Nelson
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
182 reviews
17.9 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
204 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balfour Beach Inn & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balfour Beach Inn & Motel

Property: Balfour Beach Inn & Motel
Address: 8406 Busk Road | Box 137, Balfour, British Columbia V0G 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Balfour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Balfour
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Balfour Beach Inn & Motel Kootenay Rockies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing