We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Home away from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Clarens, Free State

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PricessLe...
Germiston, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Home away from home”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We were really surprised at what we received for our money. This is a home away from home with all and much more than we expected. The home is more than sufficiently equipped with crockery and cutlery, bedding, etc. All the matters that we pointed out to Yolande were efficiently and very quickly attended and corrected. The positioning of the home is in a very quiet area and easily reached. To use as a base will be a very good idea as all the sight-seeing activities can be easily reached from here. The various restaurants in the area are very great and within walking distance to work up an appetite. The gardens are well kept and the birds that visit develop a very relaxing atmosphere. Well done Nelsbells! We will be back.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness of the location
Liked least: no problems
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2016
Dear Mike

Thank you for taking time to write a review. Your feedback is much appreciated.

All the best Andrien
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connector...
1 review
“Nice but not what I expected”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The house is very neat and nicely decorated. The location however is not great as it is very close to the school, so if you have a midweek stay it is very noisy. The neighbours were also doing renovations which unfortunately added to the noise level.

It has everything that you may need and the owner was very friendly and helpful!

I would recommend it for a weekend stay, not a weekday.

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
Dear Chantelle
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We value your feedback. Its unfortunate that the noise from our neighbours renovations and the school kids did not afford you the peace and quiet that you were looking forward to. Weekends are definetly more peaceful.
Your feedback is much appreciated.
All the best
Andrien
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizelle89
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful!! Inside and out!!! :)”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Nells Bells has opulent space and amazing character!! It is certainly a treat to wake up at this beautiful place!!! This is amazing accommodation for any family, for a weekend getaway with a partner or enjoying a trip with friends. Will Definitely recommend!!

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback.
All the best Andrien
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rentia201...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful Nells Bells”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband , me and 5 grownup children had an awesome time at your cottage. Love the decor (chandeliers and chalkpaint furniture) The daybed is just so inviting. Heating was very sufficient with heaters in every room as well as electric blankets and the jetmaster stove downstairs. Everything you need is there and more. More than enough cutlery and beautiful old plates and cups. The shower is small but what a welcome surprise... loved it. Only regret is that a weekend is too short.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the big stoep all round
Liked least: not totally soundproof
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback.
All the best Andrien
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZimLeeds
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple but effective!”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent 4 days at Nelsbells, 7 of us, my stepmom in the little cottage, very pleased with her own bathroom, kitchen and porch to smoke on away from the little children.

My wife and I, two daughters (4 and 1) and my sister and her boyfriend were in the main house. It is spacious but could do with some sound proofing between the two floors, anything you do downstairs comes through so clearly upstairs it sounds as if the noise is just outside your door! The stair bannister at the top of the stairs could do with less wide gaps, as it makes it dangerous to have a small child upstairs - the railing around the awesome upstairs porch is safer. Last suggestion is a sign next to the white cupboard to the right of the washroom/scullery at the back of the kitchen to say that's where the light switch is - I was embarrassed to have to call people out to find the switch - one at the entrance wasn't working and I assumed that was the one for the kitchen light - didn't even think to look between the cupboard and the wall on the far side of the room (narrow gap).

This may sound negative, but it's not meant to be - we loved our stay, it's a lovely big garden, away from the centre of town and very roomy. I would recommend this cottage to large groups and families .

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and porch
Liked least: Sound proofing and upstairs rails gaps too large.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your points are valid and we will look into it.
All the best and we hope to welcome you back to The Nelsbells Cottage in the not so distant future.
Kind regards
Andrien
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
690andrew...
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The owners were very accommodating fitting us in. The facilities are comfortable and easily slept the 6 of us. It is close enough to the market square to be able to walk there and back. We will definitely use them again.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Nelsbells Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lize-Merè...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and Affordable”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house is equipped with just about anything you can ask for. It is quaint, comfortable and very spacious.

The only downfall is that there is only one bathroom in the house and one in the cottage with very small geysers. As such, I would not recommend staying there if you are a big group.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Nelsbells Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing