We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to eat”

Gosto Portuguese Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Clarens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clarens, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

A portuguese themed restaurant. Gosto doesn't have a big menu, but all the food there is good. The mezzo styled starters is a good place to begin, where you can pick up to 4 different items and share for up to 4 people. The main courses are filling and cover a variety of steak, chicken, seafood and pork dishes, including a mixed espetada with prawns and steak. I didn't find the chicken dish particularly portuguese (too sweet and not spicy enough for my taste) but the rest of the dishes I tried were very good indeed. The owner occasionally makes pastiche (kind of a mini portuguese milk tart) which are well worth saving space for! They also have excellent coffee. All in all a good dining experience, with friendly staff, good food and quick service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil9875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    147
    56
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nicest Portuguese meal I've had in a long time”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

The food is exceptional value for money! The wait staff were friendly and efficient. After some disappointing meals elsewhere in Clarens this restaurant was a pleasant relief.

The steak and espetada were particular highlights.

Helpful?
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday dinner”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Food and atmosphere was wonderful. The Fantastic food, fabulous service will ensure a return to Gosto. Great fireplace as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jcvanvuuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good quality food in a fresh modern setting”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had dinner here over the June 16 long weekend (Clarens was packed!). The food was excellent, as was the service. We both had fish (prawns & kingklip) and both main courses were very well prepared and tasty. There is B.Y.O wine due to a lack of a liquor license, however we knew this up front, so was not an issue.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Good food, warm and friendly atmosphere. A welcome addition to restaurant choice in Clarens. The service was genuine and attentive and the food a delight. Nice and warm on a cold winter evening. The location on the main square makes for a festive feeling and I am sure to return on my next visit. Well done Carol keep up the good hard work.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JamesBond89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gosto Portuguese Restaurant also viewed

 
Clarens, Free State
 

Been to Gosto Portuguese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing