We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kiara Lodge”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kiara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kiara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
SA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Kiara Lodge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Clarens is great, the views are stunning, walks amazing and for this the other things I suppose can be forgotten. That said I think the accommodation was very basic. Please note a four sleeper is not a four sleeper for adults unless you are happy to share a bathroom and sleep on the couch. Self catering is very basic. Four of everything so don’t use a knife or plate twice. Cutlery and glasses are very cheap, tiny wine glasses no coffee plunger etc.

The indoor swimming pool is tiny and only for adults. No relaxation at the spa you can hear everyone talking and making a noise.

Love the views but will find somewhere else to stay in Clarens next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    87
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
94
54
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middelburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very nice place to go and relax.. We had lots of fun.
the lodge is very beautiful and clean...
booking in was fast, and staff were very friendly.
a little bit disappointed with the indoor swimming pool... the water was not nice and hot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Kiara lodge is situated 15km outside of Clarens and about 5km from Golden gate. The chalets and gardens are in pristine condition. A wonderful place to relax. Enough amenities to keep everybody happy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hctal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

enjoyed stay and accommodation very nice, but water pressure and temperature not up to standard - nothing else to complain - Clarens have a lot to offer and can spend hours there - Golden Gate reserve also worth a visit

Room Tip: ask for a unit with a view - 18 c where we stayed have privacy and good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DALEEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived on Monday; the lodge is nestles in the mountains just at the gate of the Golden Gate National Park. Our lodge was very high on the mountain. Staff showed up to help us carry stuff into our rooms. Self-catering, but the lodge was furnished with a complete kitchen. Indoor pool and outdoor pool, mini golf, enjoyed meeting Mac at the on-site restaurant (it has a lot of character, and so does Mac). Clean rooms. About 12Km from Clarens, but not a bad drive.

From another Trip Advisor review, we decided to visit the Lion Park outside Bethlehem. It was so amazing; we captured beautiful photos of Big Cats who have been rescued. Please go and support them.

Room Tip: High on the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NancyS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Travel tip: The map that Kiara gives you leaves out one important turn. Approximately 5kms outside of Frankfort, there is a T-junction, you need to take the right turn towards Frankfort.

Clarens is nestled in the foothills of the Maluti mountains (the start of the Drakensburg) in the Free State. It is a very beautiful town, full of art galleries and colourful locals. The restaurants (of which there are many) are all very good and hospitable. The lodge is very child-friendly. There are game rooms, giant chess, pool tables, swimming pools and a holiday club. The bar/restaurant - the Trout and Mallard - has great food, a great vibe for the sporting events and great hospitality. The rooms are spacious, with a great balcony and braai. There is a spa - and I have to confess that the deep tissue massage I had was the best I have ever had.

The surrounding areas have a lot to offer too: the Golden Gate National Park, which now sports a vulture feeding programme, a huge variety of extreme sports, a huge variety of coffee shops, art galleries and locally made clothing and furniture at very reasonable prices. The best part of our holiday, however, was a visit to the Lions Park big cat sanctuary (a mere 50kms from Kiara). It used to be a canned lion farm (featured on Carte Blanche), but an organisation called 'Four Paws' took it over and rehabilitated the big cats. They have saved lions from circuses, zoos and private owners all over the world as well as taking over a lot of those bred for the canned lion farm. They have also rescued tigers, leopards, hyenas,caracul and the famous white lioness from the Jo'burg zoo. It is definitely worth a visit. The game drive is 1 and a half hours long and you are guaranteed to shed a tear for each big cat's story.

Room Tip: The rooms all have a fantastic view, the ones higher up have more of an overall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Kiara lodge was an absolutely awesome place. It was a perfect getaway. The accommodation, the activities, the restaurant and the service was great. Will definitely come back again. The lodge is extremely clean and comfortable. The spa was also a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
11.3 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 29 in Clarens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clarens Country House
0.7 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#6 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ash River Lodge B&B
Ash River Lodge B&B
#8 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiara Lodge

Property: Kiara Lodge
Address: R712 Golden Gate Road | Dihlabeng, Free State, Clarens 9701, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the breathtakingly picturesque Maluti Mountains between the Golden Gate Reserve and the quaint village of Clarens, Kiara Lodge offers an all encompassing retreat with easy access to explore nearby attractions. Large grounds ensure that you get to enjoy the peace and quiet, and with a choice of apartment style or freestanding self-catering chalets, there is a unit to suit everyone's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Kiara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiara Hotel Clarens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing