We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful & Amazing Landscape”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kiara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kiara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Amazing Landscape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent a lovely holiday at Kiara Lodge and it was very peaceful and relaxing. The drive through the Golden Gate National Park was beautiful and the mountains looked amazing. Kiara Lodge is so beautiful. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom chalet which was sufficient for our family of five. It was very clean and well maintained. The lounge and the balcony overlooked the mountains. The view was breaktaking. The chalet was cleaned everyday by very efficient cleaners. The unit was self-catering with a adequate cutlery and pots. Every morning somebody was sent to clean up the braai area. Cleanliness was first class. I didnt use the restaurant or spa onsite but both looked very nice. There was a pool as well as a playground with see-saw, jungle gym, trampolines and giant chess board, a games room. Plenty to keep the kids entertained. A wonderful getaway to rejuvenate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamSingh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    88
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
95
54
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our trip to Kiara Lodge was just Awesome to say the least.
We went for the weekend of 1st to the 4th of March.
A bit far from Pretoria but that's besides the point.

Our Unit had Cosy Beds, a nice view, great kitchen area and a lot of space!
But the one thing that stood out over everything is the Restaurant/Pub.
The Trout and Mallard
Their Food was AMAZING, their service was AMAZING and the manager even stopped by a couple of times, never a dull moment.
I would give that Restaurant 6 Stars if I could, Honestly, It's the best Restaurant I've ever been to.

Great Facilities aswell, Game Room, Kiosk, Outdoor and Indoor pools, We even got a great Treatment at the Day Spa.
The Only downsides of this Lodge is that both pools are very tiny and the dart board in the game room was not well maintained at all.

Further It was an AMAZING Experience.
I would recommend this Lodge anyday.
Thanx for the Great Experience.

Rudi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rudiv85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently stayed at Kiara Lodge for a quick midweek break but wished it could have been a bit longer... The units are well layed out, each with its own amount of respectable privacy. They are comfortable inside with a homely feel. The view from our unit was exquisite, waking up to Golden lit sandstone mountains is most certainly a privelage!

The reception was very welcoming, security very helpful and general staff were all friendly. Many thanks to the manager of Trout & Mallard, the Pub/Restuarant on site, they created a great atmosphere too.

We did not have small children travelling with us but I could see how kids would enjoy this establishment with so many acitivities on and around Kiara itself. Put-put, Games Room, Jungle Gym, Trampoline, Fishing, Quad biking, Hiking, Horse Trails etc etc.

About a 15 minute drive from Clarens on an easy route.

Hope to return soon...

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 1C, which had no other units directly infront of it, very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judyvanzyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhb south africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Took a 3 night weekend break to Kiara Lodge. Chalets were lovely and big. Only con was the sleeper couches were hard and small making them extremely uncomfortable. I found the bed to be hard as well and didnt like the linen either.

Apart from that, the facilties are all lovely. Hikes were spectacular. Picture perfect mountain views. Theres also put-put, a games room, giant chess and a small pool. Was lovely sitting on the balcony and watching the birds. The built in braais were also convenient.

There is no proper shop as such so make sure you stock up on all you need for your stay. Was lovely taking a drive through the Golden Gate Park thats nearby. We saw buffalo and zebra and some of the most lovely scenery.

The beds were a major disappointment and I do hope that they change them soon as it is a shame that it spoils an otherwise lovely trip.

Room Tip: Take a torch along, as pathways are dark at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nasoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Kiara Lodge is a great place to get away to. The "lodge" is located in beautiful surroundings near the Golden Gate National Park. The lodge offers many walks and the short one we did was great. We arrived late at about 7:30pm and were pleasantly surprised when a guard came running up to our unit to help us unpack! Our only complaints are that the onsite shop is really small and doesn't even stock tea and what it does stock is overpriced. Also on Wednesday you are awoken to the sounds of weedeaters cutting the grass, although I know that this needs to be done, they could be clever and do it on a Friday as people wouldn't have checked in yet. But otherwise it was a fantastic stay in a beautiful part of the country. PS there is 3G signal too :)

Room Tip: Get a room that is on "Signal Hill" as they have much better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MischievousMice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great for those get away from it all holidays, with a decent restaurant on the grounds, and nice put put and tennis facilities. Spa is outstanding. Nice hicking trails and beautiful sunsets!!! Lodges are very nice and bathrooms are excellent. Been there twice already ;) First time was for our honeymoon. Also there's a couple of nice trout farms in the surounding areas and on the way the Clarens.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landu-Zandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

great place with good activities, for those who like to keep fit. Bushman paintings and great hikes.
Dam was full of plants so was not good for fishing. my kids were thrilled with the play areas
please take warm clothes when going there.
Fresh cherries sold at entrance was a welcome PLUS

Room Tip: there are three types of chalets at the resort. Enquire when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abusufyaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
11.3 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 29 in Clarens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clarens Country House
0.7 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#6 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ash River Lodge B&B
Ash River Lodge B&B
#10 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiara Lodge

Property: Kiara Lodge
Address: R712 Golden Gate Road | Dihlabeng, Free State, Clarens 9701, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the breathtakingly picturesque Maluti Mountains between the Golden Gate Reserve and the quaint village of Clarens, Kiara Lodge offers an all encompassing retreat with easy access to explore nearby attractions. Large grounds ensure that you get to enjoy the peace and quiet, and with a choice of apartment style or freestanding self-catering chalets, there is a unit to suit everyone's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiara Hotel Clarens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing