We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great getaway at this resort with its lovely surroundings!”
Review of Kiara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiara Lodge
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The overall experience is really very good. I just find the couches in the units are not very comfortable to sit on. The surroundings are fabulous and the staff are very friendly. There is plenty to do at the resort or nearby Clarens and The Golden Gate. The Restaurant on the premises have very friendly folk working there. There is also a small shop for emergencies there on site. The dam is lovely with fishing and birdlife. There are also walks to enjoy at the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulla33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 233 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

We've just returned from our one week's stay at Kiara Lodge. We had a one bedroomed chalet with 2 sleeper couches in the lounge. I would not recommend it for 4 people as the sleeper couches are extremely uncomfortable and long passed it's replacement date. With our unit being semi-detached we found it difficult to sleep at night as we found the next door plumbing very noisy and distrubing. The indoor pool was closed as well as the games room. The Trout & Mallard Restaurant is well worth the visit. It's very cosy and the food is excellent. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank BubblySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A lovely lodge, well appointed accommodation, friendly staff and a wonderful view. An overall excellent holiday with beautiful walks into the mountains and exploring the bushman paintings and caves.
Meals etc very pleasant and affordable, well worth a trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DennisRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PierreSchroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeekmanGroup, Manager at Kiara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Carminh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeekmanGroup, Manager at Kiara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeekmanGroup, Manager at Kiara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeekmanGroup, Manager at Kiara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarens hotels
11.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
300 reviews
12 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#4 of 33 in Clarens
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#5 of 39 in Clarens
216 reviews
12.1 mi away
Clarens Eddies
Clarens Eddies
#2 of 39 in Clarens
312 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Clarens Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiara Lodge

Address: R712 Golden Gate Road | Dihlabeng, Free State, Clarens 9701, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Clarens
Price Range: $52 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the breathtakingly picturesque Maluti Mountains between the Golden Gate Reserve and the quaint village of Clarens, Kiara Lodge offers an all encompassing retreat with easy access to explore nearby attractions. Large grounds ensure that you get to enjoy the peace and quiet, and with a choice of apartment style or freestanding self-catering chalets, there is a unit to suit everyone's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Kiara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiara Hotel Clarens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing