We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalming”
Review of Kalm Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalm Guest House
Ranked #11 of 39 Clarens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Warm hosts who went out of their way to cater to specific dietry requirements.
Interesting & fun decor, comfortable chill out spaces in lounge areas as well as the outside garden.
Simple delicious continental breakfasts. Situated within walking distance of town and hiking trails.

Room Tip: all quite fun, depends on your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renellerampersad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 77 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

So friendly owners! Love you!

The place was full of designer things and every small small detail was made to perfection. Rooms were cosy and breakfast great.

I did´nt know that such a nice place existed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tichaona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

3 nights in august 2013.
Stayed in the guest house removed from the main house.
lots of attention to detail.
Friendly owners and knew what to recommend to eat etc.

about 2-3 minutes out of the town, which was perfect as it was silent.
A great space to get away to.

Room Tip: we saw all 3 rooms and they are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spillly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had a great stay with my husband and 4 month old son in the "Whose" self-catering cottage, which is separate from the main house. The room is very well appointed and comfortable. Loved the wood burning stove - room was warm and toasty upon arrival! Decor is extremely eclectic, but cool. Karen and Malcolm have quite an eye for design. Opted for the breakfast which was just what we needed. Great property, nice folks, very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkfiece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was a unique and luxurious place. Very private and comfortable. The hosts were friendly and pleasant. Nice walks nearby.I will certainly return here in the future. Fireplace was awesome during the cold evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An0n123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Anyone who has visited Kalm since it opened its doors 18 months ago will know that it's a very special place... Designer Karen has spared no thought (or expense) in making this B&B the new darling of Clarens. Enjoy the nicest touches including eclectic decor, a fireplace in your room and complementary sherry for those chilly winter evenings. Breakfast is taken in Karen's home around a big table with other guests - nice chatty start to the day.

Our only minor suggestion would be to provide softer mattresses and warm fluffy bedding (personal pref).

Room Tip: All the rooms have a unique personality... We loved 'Theirs'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

No wonder a good friend has stayed here twice! We so wanted to extend our stay... Just because of Kalm! What an oasis in the midst of the charm of Clarens. Chic, vibey, welcoming and comfortable. You just feel the love and joy that has gone into creating this destination and want to revel in and share it. We were sending pics all over the world as we discovered more and more of this treasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeMaddams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.3 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
By the Way Guesthouse
By the Way Guesthouse
#15 of 39 in Clarens
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
#1 of 39 in Clarens
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mt Rouge Guest House
Mt Rouge Guest House
#14 of 39 in Clarens
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patcham Place
Patcham Place
#4 of 39 in Clarens
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalm Guest House

Address: 484 Swart Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Price Range: $113 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalm Guest House is situated in the Swartland area of Clarens, a short walk from the town square and the surrounding hills.We have five rooms, "Theirs", "Anybody's", "Somebody's", "Yours" and "Whose?", all of which are differently and strikingly decorated. All have double or queen size beds with extra length queen beds in "Theirs" and "Whose?". All rooms have en-suite showers, tea and coffee making facilities, full bouquet satellite TV, heating including electric blankets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kalm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing