We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of Clarens Eddies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarens Eddies
Ranked #2 of 38 Clarens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Loved it, beautifull, friendly, and was one of my best memories. Dawn is extremely friendly. Very comfortable, and walking distance from town, safe and secure. Good to break away from the busy lifestyle and go to the quiet town which is a gem. a must for art lovers.

Room Tip: Santa for 2 people, and June apartment for 4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    59
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
87
129
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the June apartment which was smallish, but very comfortable and all that we needed to come back to after our days out exploring Clarens. Most pleasing was that it was clean, with good towels and bedding. We also appreciated that it was well equipped to brave the cold (heaters, electric blankets, coffee), and the free wi-fi which kept the children occupied. Thanks Dawn !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentGuest555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Wonderful place to stay....central and very well equiped. We had a warm stay in the middle of winter with nice warm beds. Dawn is an excellent host and very helpful and friendly. We only stayed one night but it would have been very nice to stay there for longer as Anki house was very comfortable and spacious for a family. There are breathtaking views of the mountains from Anki room where we stayed.

Room Tip: Anki room is comfortable for family of 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruterFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochville, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to Eddies in Clarens and once again...brilliant and enjoyable! Comfortable, spectacular views and a friendly hostess was all part and parcel. Daily walks to the red mountains, walking distance to town. Fireplaces and down duvets. Thanks Dawn!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rykie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Dawn thanks so much for allowing us to visit Eddie again it was so so awesome top notch!!! The stay with warm beds and fire place was awesome as ever top notch accommodation and recommended to it to all my friends at home and on facebook. Thanks so much for your friendly staff and your friendliness and welcome back hug!! Thanks for the mountain guide to was a stunning view!!!

Room Tip: June is the room to stay or Anna
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 556Hendrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We arrived just back from Lesotho to a warm and relaxed welcome and quickly settled into a very comfortable mini flat. Dawn, the hostess, casually mentioned having gone out for a sunrise stroll up the local rocky hills with some guests and said she did it every day, if we fancied, we could come early ,6, next morning. We weren't totally sure we heard right but there we all were togged up and what a wonderful eyeopener it was. Besides the scenery and the sunrise, Dawn is a well travelled humourous guide. What a place! Top choice!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Anki suite.It is very roomy. There is Wifi and DSTV . And when it gets cold there is a lovely fire place and heats up the main room good. There is heaters in every room and bed warmers. A view of the Lesotho mountains and Red Mountians. True warm South African Hospitality and recommend this suite.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christiaan Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#5 of 38 in Clarens
181 reviews
11.6 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#5 of 31 in Clarens
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
#1 of 38 in Clarens
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millpond House
Millpond House
#4 of 38 in Clarens
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarens Retreat
Clarens Retreat
#3 of 38 in Clarens
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarens Eddies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarens Eddies

Property: Clarens Eddies
Address: 176 Main Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clarens Eddies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing