We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eilerd - A wonderful experience”
Review of Clarens Eddies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarens Eddies
Ranked #2 of 38 Clarens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lichtenburg, South Africa
1 review
“Eilerd - A wonderful experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Eddie's with our two daughters. We received a very friendly welcome from Dawn and found everything in order and in a neat condition. Dawn showed us around and gave us all the necessary information that we needed. The walk up the mountain was a great experience for our eldest daughter, with Dawn being very friendly and helpful. Eddie's is situated very close to the town activities, which made walking to town a pleasant outing. Enough notices all around helps you to get to know all the do's and don'ts. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    58
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
87
128
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My daughter,two grandchildren (aged 12 and 13) and I, spent three days in Clarens at Eddie's. What made our stay so amazing, was Dawn taking us up the mountain and taking photos of all of us as we climbed the steep slope to the top. Had many laughs and ''rest'' stops and the view from the top was just amazing as the trek down was even more spectacular. The next morning, my 13 yr old grandson did the climb with Dawn again - just another route and he loved it. Dawn was lovely and shared many stories with us. Our stay was the best and we will definitely be staying there again on our next trip which we plan November, but bringing the whole family with this time. Eddie's is close to centre activities and restaurants and we walked to and fro. The rooms were neat and clean with nice little touches.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nestled in the quaint village of Clarens, Eddie's is ideally situated; so that hikes to the adjacent hill or a browse in the arty village square is very accessible - a few minutes either way. The views from Eddie's is breathtaking, the grand Maloti Mountains on the one side and, what I think of as Dawn's hill, on the other. I love the proximity of the hill which is literally on Eddie's doorstep. Nothing better than waking up in the morning to weave your way through the magnificent sandstone and redstone rock structures, awakening all your senses, birdsong and babbling rivers the only soundtrack. Dawn is passionate about Clarens and the surrounding mountains. She hikes everyday, usually between 6-8am and encourages guests to join should they feel like it. Eddie's is great place to retreat to if you're from the city like I am. I've been twice to Eddie's. It has Dawn's special touches and even some of her own artwork!. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pralini n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eMalahleni, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We are frequent travellers to Clarens and this was definately our worst holiday ever!

We phoned Dawn prior to our arrival as it says that every unit only has one parking space per unit but arrangements can be made with the owner. Arrangements were made with Dawn and we advised that we would be bringing a bike trailor. Dawn said this wouldnt be a problem.

When we arrived there the first thing Dawn said to us was "you are early". What a nice way to great your guests.

Then we drove into the premises, the driveway is very narrow and turning with a bike trailor isnt very easy. Dawn has made a garden in the driveway which makes it extremely difficult to drive. She screamed like a crazy person when when accidently drove into the garden.

Dawn then called one of her workers stating that they must fix the garden because these people cant drive. We overheard this comment and confronted Dawn. We stated that she shouldnt make a garden in a driveway where cars need to drive. Dawn then made an issue about the trailor saying that there isnt enough parking. We mentioned to her that we phoned and made prior arrangements for the extra parking.

We didnt want to stay here and we had just arrived and hadnt even been in the unit. We requested our money back so we could find alternative accommodation. Dawns words were "you wont get a cent back".

So we stayed and the nightmare continued. We stapled closed our Christmas presents and this was opened by the whoever serviced our rooms. Then Dawn started leaving notes in our units saying we are unpleasant guests and she would make comments to us such as "your stay here is too long".

We wanted our money back when we arrived there so we could leave and Dawn refused so we were forced to stay.

Overall our stay was the worst ever and i would recommend this accommocation if you want someone to poke around in your things and watch every move you make.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
there123, Owner at Clarens Eddies, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
At Eddies Guest House these guests will never feel at home!
Their conduct was known by:
• TERRIBLE SWEARING. When they wilfully and deliberately damaged the owner’s garden and very expensive paving, the one guest said to the owner: The owner must be f......stupid to have a garden in the driveway and only an f........idiot will have the garden there. This guest was furious when he uttered these words.
• ONGOING FIGHTING:Within the group there was ongoing fighting known by screaming and swearing at each other. The owner overheard two of these fights. The last fight on the day the group checked out lasted for more than an hour. Other guests complaint about the fighting and asked why the owner allowed these guests on the premises. The owner never discussed the complaints from the other guests with this group because of their aggressive and fighting approach. There were repeated screaming, yelling and swearing at the owner without any reason.
• SEXUALLY HARASSING AN EMPLOYEE: An Eddies Guest house’ employee complaint that the male guests in this group were sexually harassing her. Another employee witnessed and confirmed the harassment. The owner did not discuss the matter with these guests because of the group’s aggressive and fighting approach.
• THE OWNER HAD TO FLEE TWICE FROM THESE GUESTS AND LOCK HERSELF IN THE OFFICE : On the day the guests checked out the two women in the group approached the owner screaming, swearing and yelling loudly at her. They accused the owner of opening their Xmas presents and used terrible swearing words towards the owner. The owner did not say a word during the whole incidence. The owner ran to the office and locked herself in . When the owner came out later they again approached the owner repeating the swearing and threatening.
During the described conduct these guests were at all times treated with respect and calmness. Their parking problems were solved by the owner although the guests were in error.
The guest house at all times acted according to procedures the guest knew and that was communicated to them in writing before arrival. The reason for them repeatedly fighting the owner remains unknown. The accusation made towards the owner regarding opening their Xmas presents is ridiculous. Their behaviour does not make sense. At Eddies Guest House we do not have incidences like this on the premises.
Read the reviews found on many other websites! Eddies guest house team is looking forward receiving guests that understand our commitment to excellent standards and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Loved this little place and the town of Clarens is a hidden gem. Was probably one of my highlights after three months travelling around South Africa. No beggars/people hassling tourists for money here - we were welcomed by Dawn's exceptional hospitality and didn't want to leave. The apartments are wonderfully cosy and quaint, there's secure parking and there's some great restaurants/beer tasting establishments in the town, less than a 5 minute walk away. We checked a few other places out (as we wanted to stay longer but Eddie's was full) and this place looked one of the nicest out of all of the b&bs. Stay at Eddie's!

Room Tip: They all loved lovely, to be fair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilkoxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013

we spend two nights at clarens Eddie´s and enjoyed each. The owner was so friendly, she did everything she could to make the tour we wanted to do possible. The apartments are realy nice and a kitchen is also included. We loved this small and save town with lots of arts to buy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bj0ern_S2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely quiet and clean location with good customer service. Preferred destination for both business and pleasure... Central to Clarens town with secure parking available.

Fun additional activities optional

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Thabani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#6 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
11.6 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 30 in Clarens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 30 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarens Retreat
Clarens Retreat
#4 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarens Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarens Eddies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarens Eddies

Property: Clarens Eddies
Address: 176 Main Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clarens Eddies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing