We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely owner and apartments with fantastic view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarens Eddies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarens Eddies
Ranked #2 of 38 Clarens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Karlsruhe, Germany
2 reviews
“lovely owner and apartments with fantastic view”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

we spend two nights at clarens Eddie´s and enjoyed each. The owner was so friendly, she did everything she could to make the tour we wanted to do possible. The apartments are realy nice and a kitchen is also included. We loved this small and save town with lots of arts to buy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bj0ern_S2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    56
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
85
123
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely quiet and clean location with good customer service. Preferred destination for both business and pleasure... Central to Clarens town with secure parking available.

Fun additional activities optional

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Thabani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The weekend was a wonderful experience. Dawn is friendly and helpful and a lovely host. The unit was clean with beautiful finishes and kept clean throughout the weekend. The heast house is within 2 minutes walk of a lot of restaurants and lovely shops.
Enjoyed our stay. and will definately go back again.
Henk

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed here, and again was really pleasant. This time was for a week over the Clarens Festival period. Dawn gave us a whole lot if information around festivities which was really useful.

Dawn is always pleasant and extremely helpful and i would say here again as a certainty

Alex

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia,south africa
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Dawn is amazing. You feel part of Eddies for life. Thank you for the hospitality. The views are amazing from rooms Santa, June and Anki. We were so lucky to find a place we can call home in love Clarens. Eeddies is perfectly build out of Love and with Dawn as owner, she is on hand providing comfort and love we did not experience else where.

Room Tip: Room Santa for first time couples visiting Eddies. Amazing, Fall in love with the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Eddie's Guesthouse is THE ultimate escape from the hustle and bustle. It is located only 2 minutes walk to the tranquil town of Clarens. Very neat, with beautiful finishes, has necessary basics for a good night's sleep (DSTV, kitchen & coffee utensils). We were even given a discount on the Ann room.;-)

Dawn is such a warm and lovely host. She gave us suggestions on what to do and where. We stayed for 3 days. On our last day we decided to join Dawn as she hikes up Red Mountain each morning from 6am - 8am. I am super unfit, the ascend felt hectic, steep and slippery after last night's rains.

Dawn, an experienced mountain hiker, was patient, gave us safety tips, kept motivating me to push on, I CAN do it and was a constant reminder that we CAN do ALL things through Him who strengthens us. I pushed & pulled myself up and up. The view of the snowy mountains was glorious and of the sleeping Clarens town below.

When we came back to the guesthouse, Dawn even told her staff we will be checking out later than 10am since we went hiking and are very tired.

Thank you Dawn for an amazing life changing experience. I AM the city girl who conquered Red Mountain. I will definitely link up with a hiking club when I get home.

Visit www.clarenseddies.co.za

Regards Nombie (Johannesburg, SA)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nombie - Travel Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Thank you for wonderful hospitality – the Anki unit was clean, neat and very well equipped, There was enough room for the eight of us on the balcony. The view from the balcony is absolutely stunning !
We will be back maybe on the bike again !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanvdriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#6 of 38 in Clarens
167 reviews
11.6 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 29 in Clarens
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 29 in Clarens
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarens Retreat
Clarens Retreat
#4 of 38 in Clarens
114 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarens Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarens Eddies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarens Eddies

Property: Clarens Eddies
Address: 176 Main Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Clarens Eddies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing