We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The stay was a lovely experience and I will definately come back in future.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Patcham Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patcham Place
Ranked #3 of 38 Clarens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
somersetwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The stay was a lovely experience and I will definately come back in future.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

The attention to detail and service is superb and create a relaxing environment and a feeling of 'I want to stay longer'. Situated in town centre, make it easy to walk to the local shops, restaurants and local brewery for a free beer tasting. Staying over for one night on a bussiness trip felt like a mini holiday and I will definately come back. Jaco

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moelich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Moelich
Thank you for the great review and we hope you stay longer the next time.
Love Rich & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
125
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Fabulous place to stay - clean, neat, airy and beautifully decorated. Carol and Richard run a great B n B and have just opened a restaurant as well - great Portuguese style food. So all in all 10 out of 10 and would def return!

Room Tip: We had the blue room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Browneyedgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi Jane
Thanks for the great review and hope to see you and Jim again.
Love
Rich & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Caron and Richard provide a wonderful place to stay within a few minutes of the centre of Clarens. We had a large clean room with a balcony and the bedding was spotless. The breakfast was perfect and we look forward to returning again; for a fourth visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wookeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi Wookeyman
Sorry dont know your real name but thank you for taking the time to write this nice review.
I would like to know who you are.
Love Rich & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I had the privilege of staying at Patcham Place on my last night of a 6000km bike trip around South Africa.

My room was clean, neat and more than what I expected. The owners were friendly and made me feel welcome. I got a room with a view if the mountain next to Clarens.

Breakfast was made to order and exactly what I wanted.

The location makes it perfect for walking anywhere in Clarens.

I will be returning to Patcham Place on my next visit to Clarens and that will be soon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenTeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi Warren
Sorry i thought i had sent you a thank you for doing this nice review but i see it either did not get posted or i must have thought i did. I hope we see you back and glad you enjoyed it.
Love Richard & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Beautiful views, lovely rooms with balconies and great hosts who do an excellent breakfast!
Wonderful location withing walking distance to all this lovely and interesting little village has to offer! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi Vick
I hope this is the same Vicki that is arriving tomorrow for another stay with us! And if so thank you for the lovely review and being a loyal guest.
Love Rich & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully clean B&B in walking distance of everything you need to see and do in Clarens. Carol and Richard are friendly and helpful and serve a great breakfast. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Hilary
Thank you for the lovely review and taking the time out to do it, im glad you put your name down because most people put some funny name and i dont actually know who im responding too.
Hope we see you again.
Love Carol& Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Husband and I had an amazing stay at Patcham Place. We stayed in room 1 and it was spacious and clean. The room had a balcony with beautiful views of the mountain. Breakfast was delicious and the owners are lovely and had good info on what to do in the town.

Will definitely stay there again when visiting Clarens.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi
Thank you for the lovely review i hope you will be back one day and sample the new restaurant we oppening.
Love Richard &'Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarens Eddies
Clarens Eddies
#1 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#6 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarens Retreat
Clarens Retreat
#4 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Millpond House
Millpond House
#5 of 38 in Clarens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patcham Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patcham Place

Property: Patcham Place
Address: 30 Church Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Hotel Class:4 star — Patcham Place 4*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing