We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak, weird decor”
Review of The Phatt Chef - CLOSED

The Phatt Chef
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We fully appreciate that we be townies and that when we go to the country, different rules apply! And, inn fairness to his Phatness, the steaks were amazing. It just seemed a shame to have full glare lighting, 1970's decor and unused broken furniture in the corner. It was also strange how several patrons were told that the restaurant was full, meanwhile there were many empty tables.

I think we'll definitely go back! Notwithstanding the lack of ambience

2  Thank Tgerntholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phatt_Chef_Clarens, Owner at The Phatt Chef, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for the review & I am glad you enjoyed your meal. The lights were up in the section because the guests who were next to your table are old (ish!!) and always ask for the lights to be put up so they can see their food. They are also my most regular locals (not that all my guests are not as important) and the always moan about the dim lights. Usually we put the lights down as they depart, but we missed out on Saturday night.

We had 9 of our 9 tables booked on Sat and we had 2 no shows = 7 tables

The large table in the middle of the room necessitated us moving 2 tables out to fit them in and so we had to stack the tables on the staircase to our private dining room. I can assure you they were not broken...we use them all the time!

Once again thank you for taking the time to comment on our restaurant
Kind Regards & we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Great food. Steaks best we had in a long time. Atmosphere is lacking a bit. Too many bright lights. The chef is great and live up to the name of the restaurant. Other front line staff can provide a better service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mmmmmnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a great meal . the personal touch provides useful info on choices from a small, but varied menu. A difficult choice, but we chose steaks (the house specialty), and pork neck on mustard seed mash. all were excellent. We had started with snails, in litchis and baked with gorgonzola. really tasty, the sauce was mopped up with the bread provided. Good service, a welcoming atmosphere, and good food. we are looking forward to our next visit to Clarens.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had dinner at this restaurant last night. Wow... our steaks were perfect. The Phatt chef comes to the table himself to take the orders and discuss your choices. There are only about 12 table in the restaurant and he staggers the bookings so each group can be given his personal attention. The mashed potatoes with mustard seeds were excellent and the fries were perfect. The veggies in season were also great. The soup (thick vegetable) was a great starter on a very cold evening. I would love to have tried the desserts but had eaten so much already I couldn't find space for more

This restaurant is highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

What a restaurant... Amazing food, the rack of lamb was outstanding!!! Great Atmosphere, and very good service... 10 out of 10! Will defenatlly be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MelissaJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phatt Chef also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing