We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Roter Hahn

Roter Hahn
Ranked #14 of 32 Restaurants in Clarens
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Westbrook Beach
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

To sit and wait for more than 45 minutes to receive half of the food you have ordered and be billed for what you haven't received, was ridiculous. The service was also very slow. I will only recommend this restaurant if you have lots of time spare to sit and wait. The German sausages are tasty as well as the huge variety of German beers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    127
    67
    29
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Nice vibe, nice food”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We popped in with friends on the 1st January, the place was pretty full and there was a good atmosphere and a good choice of beers.

There's inside and outside seating areas but we chose inside because it was actually a bit cold - from the range of German inspired food, our table to two Eisbein, one had a chicken cutlet and I had the cheese platter which is very generous for one!

Service was a little slow (as others have commented, but it appears we weren't as badly affected) but cheerful - all in all a good evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sleeping Hahn!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I am one of those people who can NOT, for the life of me, resist polls, competitions, questionnaires and the like. I especially enjoy the type where you pick a rating and then get asked to explain your rating.

I am giving the Roter Hahn a "Terrible" rating. Not because their food sucked, or because they ran out of beer or even because they offered bad service...

They are getting their "Terrible" simply because there was NO service. Whatsoever. At all. Nada. After we were shown the deck and picked our table, we magically changed into furniture. We took some photographs, couldn't wait to order from the menu, were looking forward (on an extremely hot December 2013 day) to have a beer... But - you know - furniture does not get served. Or talked to. Or acknowledged.

After we spent about 20 minutes of being ignored, smoking a cigarette or two and generally studying our waiter delivering food to other patrons around us, we came to the conclusion that, should we decide to leave and then sneak into our own hotel-room, without being spotted by any of their great personnel (not possible), we could maybe, just maybe, also get ignored, but this time in our own hotel room. And with aircon to boot! Funny thought though... The personnel at our hotel were fantastic! So this thought made us laugh and laugh. Oh! How we laughed...

So folks, if you are planning an afternoon without food, drink, service or acknowledgement, rush over to the Roter Hahn in Clarens.

We loved Clarens, but our experience of Rother Hahn was, to say the least, non existent, therefore both terrible and disappointing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safe_Travellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Nice German Experience”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Getting German food was a bit of a treat as we cannot get it where we live. The sausages were good and I really enjoyed the rindergulasch and spatzle. Our daughter enjoyed her cheese griller meal. The highlight though is the little German grocer attached to the restaurant with some good finds (meats, cherries, spatzle and other German treats). Would recommend this place if needing a German fix like us and highly recommend a visit to the grocer!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely German Experience”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This German Restaurant is located on the Main street in Clarens. It has a patio outside with great views as well as a jungle gym for little children. The beer menu is extensive and the german sausages and sauerkraut, eisbein and ham and pea soup, simply wonderful. The music in the background (german oompa band hits) adds to the wonderful vibe of this lovely restaurant. It comes highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dia_Carstens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roter Hahn also viewed

 
Clarens, Free State
 
Clarens, Free State
Clarens, Free State
 

Been to Roter Hahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing