We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, great, great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashbrook Country Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ashbrook Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great, great, great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in the Beethoven lodge with Ashbrook and it was lovely. Private patio, clean, neat and well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The scenery was beautiful and our visit was very private.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahCremerZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your fabulous review of Ashbrook.
We are constantly striving to deliver beyond our clients expectations and take all our reviews very seriously. I'm delighted you had a good and relaxing stay with us and hope to see you back again soon when you need to recharge your batteries.
Warm regards
Vanessa Knowles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Fantastic place, clean, comfortable, relaxing, awesome green garden with big trees around. Good value for family and romantic get away. Very helpful and friendly staff. Definitely will come back and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ludmilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We constantly strive to maintain our high standards and it is so rewarding when our guests enjoy our facilities to the extent that they refer friends and family and become frequent guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Warm regards
Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welkom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

As first time visitors to Clarens, we could not of picked a more suitable and romantic lodge to stay in. First impressions last, and wow did Ashbrook impress us. Location was perfect. Clean and very welcoming.
Thank you



  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bonny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ashbrook and that everything met or exceeded your expectations. We love receiving feedback as it keeps us on our toes making sure that we continue to deliver on our promise. So thank you very much for taking the time to review us.
Hope to see you in Clarens and at Ashbrook sometime soon.
Kind regards
Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hospitality at Ashbrook Country Lodge was exceptional. We had a wonderful time in the peaceful location. The room, bathroom and kitchen area was very clean. It was also really nice to have a fireplace inside.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lombard5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Ashbrook.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Ashbrook in the not too distant future.
Warm regards
Vanessa Knowles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very nice place, lots of dishes etc for cooking. Also lovely braai area. This is a nice quiet spot about 10 minutes walk to Clarens square. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that it is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Savvy_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria South
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We've stayed at Ashbrook Country Lodge a number of times over the last couple of years and the experience just gets better. It is in our eyes exactly what you would expect when looking for your ideal country getaway - but at affordable rates.

Every item in these self catering units were chosen with care and taste. It is clean, well kept and luxurious. The bedding is of the highest quality - down duvets and underfloor heating will see to making it toasty when it is snowing outside. You also have a wood burning fireplace available if necessary.....

Unless you are lazy like me, it is close enough to the centre of town to walk there.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting the beautiful Clarens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you so much for wonderful review. It's always good to hear from happy clients.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Ashbrook in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Vanessa Knowles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

On a Friday evening we decided to drive to Clarens for a weekend getaway. The town was very busy and the accommodation was an issue. I contacted Ashbrook Country Lodge and was assisted by Fiona. She was amazing. The lodge was full aside from their VIP suite and she offered it to us at a fantastic rate. We were thrilled with the accommodation! Every detail is considered. The rooms are spacious and beautiful furnished. Everything is absolutely spotless and all needs are catered for. The lodge is just out of the town centre but close enough for a brisk walk. The setting is beautiful with a pretty garden, covered patio and built in braai. The views are stunning. I would definitely recommend Ashbrook to anyone wanting to visit Clarens and I would like to thank Fiona for going the extra mile, her friendly and efficient service......an allround wonderful weekend in the most beautiful town in South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyJames1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Ashbrook Country Lodge and thank you so much for your feedback.
Hope to see you back in our beautiful little village soon.
Best wishes for 2014.
Vanessa Knowles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Clarens Country House
8.9 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 26 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 26 in Clarens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#6 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
278 On Main
278 On Main
#21 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbrook Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbrook Country Lodge

Property: Ashbrook Country Lodge
Address: 73 Malherbe Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashbrook Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming country village of Clarens, Ashbrook Country Lodge offers custom built luxury suites and self catering lodges that are well equipped for a relaxing and luxurious break away from home. Our lodges cater for couples and families. All units have their own private patios with magnificent mountain views, satellite TV, secure parking and a daily housekeeping service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashbrook Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing