We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Castle in Clarens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clarens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle in Clarens
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was our second visit to The Castle,lived up to our expectations and then some.Once again could not fault a single thing,the service,food and everything about The Castle is totally awesome.Will be back.
Gary& Vanessa Wright

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at the Castle! It is so romantic and is a photographer's delight! The attention to detail is phenomenal - clearly a lot of thought, passion, planning and love have gone into this project to bring it to fruition!! Views upon views! We couldn't get enough of the place or the views! The peace and tranquillity is unrivalled! Beware though if it is chilly outside - there is quite a bit of draught coming in under the doors!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JABSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Castle in March 2014. Designed to resemble the Rapunzel fairy tale castle tower, it was something different and really awesome. Even though it is a short drive away from the lovely artist town of Clarens it is isolated with expansive views, great to just chill out and gaze over the beautiful surrounding of the Maluti mountains and hills. The place is well maintained, clean and very comfortable, with self catering facilities and a braai. You can also order delicious home cooked meals in advance from them which are brought to the castle for you. All in all, a very relaxing and highly enjoyable stay. Tip: the log fire place on the bottom level is great but will stink the place out a bit. You drive for a few kms on a decent sand road but just FYI

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 24EmM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nothing can prepare one for what you see once you arrive at the Castle. Absolutely breathtaking, Awesome, so much detail! The view is awesome and the absolute quietness is really something.
Having your meals delivered to the Castle is a must.
To visit the Castle should be one everyone's bucket list.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank ronel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

"If you had plenty money and no idea what to do with it - what would you do?" "I would build a fantastic Rapunzel's Castle in the middle of South Africa".
So or similar is how I imagine the Castle in Clarens to be invented. Let me be clear: This is Kitsch, but it is Kitsch in perfection, so thoroughly implemented that it turns out to be art.
Just looking at pictures, it could be a Disney style castle - all facade: Looking beautiful but feeling cheap. This place certainly however is anything but cheap - it is a massive, consequent, impressive implementation of a deeply romantic idea.
The castle is nice from the outside and the rooms are so beautiful, that it is just shocking. Combine this with a fantastic view - and you got the Castle in Clarens.

So - why only four stars?
This should not scare anybody aware, but it is why I only want to give it four stars:
We did have a bad night of sleep. The bed (in the upper room, "Rapunzel's room") was really comfortable BUT we had a special guest: A bat. Now having a bat in your room might be kind of exciting (especially sleeping in a castle), but your sleep quality goes down quick and fast if the bat flies around - including onto your face. When this happened to my girlfriend, the night was almost over and we moved to the other bedroom - the bat was not following us, and we could get some further sleep.
Still, I would recommend this place to anybody without thinking twice.

We only had breakfast with the room, which was really good. Receiving the breakfast also represented our only encounter with our hosts (which felt a bit awkward for reasons I cannot describe).

P.S.: If you want to use the BBQ facilites, bring your own brickets. We got a fire going with the ones left / provided, but they were wet and it took half an eternity (not a complaint, rather a hint).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mh_3041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a wonderful stay, very pleasent and relaxing, lovely views. The Castle has the most wonderful decor, a lot of thought has gone into the decoration of the rooms. Would recommend the Castle to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Glyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

we loved it!a stunning view and relaxing atmosphere.the rooms were awsum and romantic.
Dinner wasnt my favoutite but the breakfast was very tasty and nice.very close to Clarens for a visit or shopping around




  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank nimonet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarens
4.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
278 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
123 reviews
24.7 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
68 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 33 in Clarens
207 reviews
9.1 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#5 of 33 in Clarens
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in Clarens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in Clarens

Property: Castle in Clarens
Address: Clarens, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle in Clarens 5*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing