We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Millpond House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Millpond House
Ranked #5 of 39 Clarens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Silkeborg
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Millpond is a lovely place. Merri upgraded our rooms so we and our friends stayed in the cottage with our own garden. The rooms are tastfully decorated and everything was just perfect. The gardens are so pretty with an abundance of roses and other flowers. The breakfast Room is almost as sitting in the garden and breakfast served as neatly as everything else. We loved staying there. Clarens in itself is a cosy town with a lot of fine galleries and restaurants. The Golden Gate Nature Reserve is incredibly beautiful. So we would certainly return if coming to South Africa again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOSSilkeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
111
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Merri and Rodger at Millpond House for a weekend in October 2013, and what a great stay it was! Attention to detail in the rooms is something I havent seen in some Well known international 5 star resorts! The breakfasts are great and you just feel at home! Highly recommeded to anyone wanting to spend a few nights in the lovely town of Clarens! Well done you two on owning and running such a great establishment! Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Room, which had a window looking out on the mountains and a double french door leading out to the garden, completed with a small patio set for two. The Garden Room has it's own entrance, but is one of three rooms inside the main house. It was somewhat of a delightful surprise to me that the room had it's own little kitchenette, furnished with all that you could need for self-catering. The bathroom is complete with a bath and a shower. The bedroom is spacious enough to easily move between a queen size bed, an antique cupboard, a desk and two wicker chairs. We had everything we needed and were very comfortable. The antique cupboard has a couple of shelves and two drawers for clothes, and there were 4 hangers on the side of the antique cupboard, that helped for hanging our jackets. The decor of the room is very elegant and tasteful and leaves one with a quiet and peaceful feeling - just the way I prefer!
The same applies to the "public" spaces within the rest of the Guest House. I found the furniture & decor to be functional, yet warm and very pleasing to the eye. They have excellent taste!

Our hosts, Merri and Rodger Mills, were very friendly and made us feel more than welcome in their home. And we enjoyed talking to them! We really felt very spoilt at breakfast times, because we had everything (and more) that we could wish for and the two of them were serving us like a king and queen.

We were really very pleased to stay in Millpond Guest House & can recommend the guest house without hesitation and with all our hearts!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SumeB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the rose cottage. It was so beautifully decorated, impeccably clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and Merri and Roger were fantastic hosts. I'm recommending Millpond to all my friends and would definitely come back if we find ourselves in Clarens again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Another visit to the the charming Clarens and the very well appointed Milpond Guesthouse where we stayed in the garden cottages. Warm and comfortable accomodation with a view of the mountain. Even in winter this place has a special feel. Wonderful hosts and a hearty breakfast before we set off. I think we could be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, SA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We travelled with another couple to Clarens this weekend, and stayed at Millpond House in the Walnut & Rose rooms. The rooms were excellent in all respects, and our hosts were friendly. The fireplaces in the rooms are a great bonus, as well as the underfloor heating. Breakfast was generous & offered a good variety. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyDrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Been to clarens a few times. Tried a new b&b. Very nice and new. Under floor heating in bathroom was the winner. Friendly owners. Great breakfast.
Highly recommend this for first times and even the well travelled.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme_OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
#1 of 39 in Clarens
140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarens Eddies
Clarens Eddies
#2 of 39 in Clarens
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#4 of 39 in Clarens
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#2 of 33 in Clarens
212 reviews
11.5 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#4 of 33 in Clarens
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millpond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millpond House

Property: Millpond House
Address: 468 Cilliers Street, Clarens, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millpond House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Millpond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing