We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in a lovely location”
Review of Millpond House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millpond House
Ranked #7 of 39 Clarens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Been to clarens a few times. Tried a new b&b. Very nice and new. Under floor heating in bathroom was the winner. Friendly owners. Great breakfast.
Highly recommend this for first times and even the well travelled.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme_OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent the night in the garden cottages. The rooms were warm and comfortable (even the right adaptors provided) with thoughtful touches such as a small decanter of excellent sherry. The bathrooms were well appointed with lots of hot water. The welcome friendly and the breakfast really good.

Room Tip: Garden cottages are private and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llarter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent two nights here in the dead of winter (minus 8 the one morning) which is an experience in itself. The deluxe room was spacious and warm, the welcome most friendly and breakfast superb. Easy walk into the heart of the village makes this an ideal place to stay if you are looking for some peace and quiet!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in Rose Cottage for 2 nights. What a lovely place. Comfortable, homely, with a wonderful fireplace for those cold winter evenings. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was a real pleasure.
We had to change our travel plans a few times and Merri was very helpful in changing our accommodation dates.
The area around Clarens is spectacular and it is so nice to have Millpond House to come home to after a day out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesG333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and i have been returning to Millpond for about 7 years. We visit a couple of times each year and we really LOVE it. sometimes we come on our own and sometimes we bring our daughter and a friend. Each time is just a s enjoyable. We like the Rose Room best and we just love Merri's peaceful garden the flowers, the dogs, cat and the view. We know Clarens so well but with each visit we discover something new. There is so much to do: Walking and hiking in the mountains, trying the restaurants in the village, strolling through the country streets. Millpond is the best base in the pictoresque Swartland . the house is graceful, ever so pretty and it has all you need. Cannot wait to be back again Nicky and Ken, Umhlanga, ZKN

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have been to Millpond three times and all three times we had a lovely stay. The third time my husband and I were travelling from Johannesburg to Cape Town and we booked a standard room. Upon arrival the friendly owner informed me that she upgraded us to a luxury room free of charge and we had sherry, a fireplace, under floor heating and a beautiful view! If you are going to Clarens, you have to stay in this gem!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Thanks to Roger and Merri who made who made us feel so welcome in their wonderfull guest house. The interior was done with great care and love and let you feel at home immediately. It made a great impression on us experiencing Clarens and its surroundings for the first time. We will definately recommend Millpond House to anyone who would like a break away from the husstle and bussle of town. The breakfasts were faboulous! Deon and Ferinda Schoeman

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
By the Way Guesthouse
By the Way Guesthouse
#15 of 39 in Clarens
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
#1 of 39 in Clarens
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#5 of 39 in Clarens
210 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clarens Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millpond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millpond House

Address: 468 Cilliers Street, Clarens, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Price Range: $76 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millpond House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Millpond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing