We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Clarens
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Thendele Hutted camp(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harrismith Inn(Harrismith)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
97
146
65
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
146
65
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hoteldeluxe roomrecommend this hotel to anyonebuffet breakfastwithin walking distancelarge varietyrooms are smallpublic areasmountain viewrestaurants and shopscomfortable stayundercover parkingthe location is perfectart galleriessurrounding mountainsgolden gate national parkmaluti mountains
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 320 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent a very pleasant weekend in Clarens. Not too many highly rated accomodation options were available so chose the Clarens Protea. The hotel seems new, very well positioned withion walking distance of everything in the village. The exposed parking underneath the hotel spoils a pleasant sandstone theme. The standard room we stayed in overlooked the car park and was strangely laid out with a shower and basin inside the room, the cupboards and desk all shoved to the one side. Nevertheless, the room had everything one needed, was clean and comfortable. I would stay here again but would insist on a mountain facing room with a balcony. Breakfast service was a bit slow but the staff were pleasant and seemed to be trying their best.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the mountains and preferably with a balcony if you intend staying in the room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for two nights in February on our road trip from Joburg to the Cape.

The hotel is centrally located near the main square. The design of the hotel is beautiful with lots of stone and wood. We had a mountain facing superior deluxe room. The rooms are well deisgned and tastefully decorated, but very small for a deluxe room -- there was a table with chair but no other place to sit in the room except the king-size bed, The room did have a nice balcony. The bathroom was nice with a large bath and large separate shower. The hotel also has good Wifi.

There were, however, two big draw-back however,

1) )The hotel is directly next to the main road into town on a rather steep hill. The weather was good so we had the air conditioning off and the door to the balcony open, even at night. Fresh mountain air was nice, but the sound of large trucks in low gear ascending the hill keep us from getting a really good nights sleep. If you're visiting in the winter, or like having the aircon on and the door closed this probably wouldn't be a problem.

2) The other big drawback of the hotel was the ventilation system which is apparently linked to the exhaust system in the kitchen. Every morning when they started cooking breakfast at about 6 am, the room was filled with a penetrating smell of fried bacon and sausages. Maybe nice as one heads down to breakfast,, but this was pretty intense, and not a nice smell to wake up to.

In conclusion, the hotel has a number of plus points, but also drawbacks and is expensive for what it is. We ended up staying there because of the king size bed, and the wifi, but if you don't need either of these there are lots of really nice B&B's (literally dozens) in town which are about half the price. To find one, you may want to check out the very friendly and professional accommodation booking service directly across from the Protea -- ask for Gavin.

Otherwise, a nice visit in a nice town.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are nice, as they have a balcony and fantastic view, but make sure you don't get one above the kitchen (see reveiw)
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Broes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Booked at the protea as all other accomodation was full due to beerfest. It's a really nice hotel and the service has definitly improved in the last year, but I still think it's a bit overpriced at R1500 per room per night. I think R1000 would be a reasonable rate. Besides the rate, it's was a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeenaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My husband and I decided to go away for the weekend to the Protea hotel in Clarens for a short break from the rat race after looking at it's website. Upon arrival we were stunned by the central location in walking distance to all the sights and shops and amazed at the architectural beauty of the hotel. It almost felt like the hotel was part of the surrounding sandstone cliffs. In true Protea style the hotel was modern, fitted with high end finishes and the staff were great and accommodating. The room was beautiful...a king size bed with crisp luxury linen and a shower big enough to fir six. The hotel was quiet and they made every effort to ensure we had a comfy stay. We would recommend this hotel to any one who decides to visit Clarens, it's a real treasure

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews