We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Clarens
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent a very pleasant weekend in Clarens. Not too many highly rated accomodation options were available so chose the Clarens Protea. The hotel seems new, very well positioned withion walking distance of everything in the village. The exposed parking underneath the hotel spoils a pleasant sandstone theme. The standard room we stayed in overlooked the car park and was strangely laid out with a shower and basin inside the room, the cupboards and desk all shoved to the one side. Nevertheless, the room had everything one needed, was clean and comfortable. I would stay here again but would insist on a mountain facing room with a balcony. Breakfast service was a bit slow but the staff were pleasant and seemed to be trying their best.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the mountains and preferably with a balcony if you intend staying in the room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Clarens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 289 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank AdeleL77
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for two nights in February on our road trip from Joburg to the Cape.

The hotel is centrally located near the main square. The design of the hotel is beautiful with lots of stone and wood. We had a mountain facing superior deluxe room. The rooms are well deisgned and tastefully decorated, but very small for a deluxe room -- there was a table with chair but no other place to sit in the room except the king-size bed, The room did have a nice balcony. The bathroom was nice with a large bath and large separate shower. The hotel also has good Wifi.

There were, however, two big draw-back however,

1) )The hotel is directly next to the main road into town on a rather steep hill. The weather was good so we had the air conditioning off and the door to the balcony open, even at night. Fresh mountain air was nice, but the sound of large trucks in low gear ascending the hill keep us from getting a really good nights sleep. If you're visiting in the winter, or like having the aircon on and the door closed this probably wouldn't be a problem.

2) The other big drawback of the hotel was the ventilation system which is apparently linked to the exhaust system in the kitchen. Every morning when they started cooking breakfast at about 6 am, the room was filled with a penetrating smell of fried bacon and sausages. Maybe nice as one heads down to breakfast,, but this was pretty intense, and not a nice smell to wake up to.

In conclusion, the hotel has a number of plus points, but also drawbacks and is expensive for what it is. We ended up staying there because of the king size bed, and the wifi, but if you don't need either of these there are lots of really nice B&B's (literally dozens) in town which are about half the price. To find one, you may want to check out the very friendly and professional accommodation booking service directly across from the Protea -- ask for Gavin.

Otherwise, a nice visit in a nice town.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are nice, as they have a balcony and fantastic view, but make sure you don'...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Broes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Booked at the protea as all other accomodation was full due to beerfest. It's a really nice hotel and the service has definitly improved in the last year, but I still think it's a bit overpriced at R1500 per room per night. I think R1000 would be a reasonable rate. Besides the rate, it's was a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeenaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My husband and I decided to go away for the weekend to the Protea hotel in Clarens for a short break from the rat race after looking at it's website. Upon arrival we were stunned by the central location in walking distance to all the sights and shops and amazed at the architectural beauty of the hotel. It almost felt like the hotel was part of the surrounding sandstone cliffs. In true Protea style the hotel was modern, fitted with high end finishes and the staff were great and accommodating. The room was beautiful...a king size bed with crisp luxury linen and a shower big enough to fir six. The hotel was quiet and they made every effort to ensure we had a comfy stay. We would recommend this hotel to any one who decides to visit Clarens, it's a real treasure

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend getaway to Clarens.We stayed at the Protea Hotel.Our check in was easy and quick, but the receptionist was not very forthcoming regarding amenities available, breakfast times etc.The room was compact but had everything one would require, tv, coffee/tea,etc.The bed was extremely comfortable with lovely puffy pillows,and nice ,clean, crisp, linen.Be carefull though as to which way the room faces, ours faced the side of the hotel, which was next to the huge airconditioning unit which did get noisy.We ate out whilst there so cannot comment on the restaurant.Overall, a very pleasant, comfortable stay, but will try a b+b next time to compare!

Room Tip: ask for mountain facing with a balcony!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hajbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan W, Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank you for staying at Protea Hotel Clarens! We would also like to say thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor! I have handed your feedback over to our Front Offic Manager in order for to take furhter action and preventing your situation from happening again with another GUEST.We look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Clarens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel before and having enjoyed our stay, decided to stay here again rather than in one of the many B&B's in town. We weren't disappointed. The staff member at the reception desk was competent and friendly, the room was perfect and the buffet breakfast was yummy - ask the chef to prepare your favourite omelette :) The sun deck has a stunning view towards the mountains & Clarens Estate & golf course & the cosy fireplace in the guest lounge is perfect for warming up on a cold evening. The hotel is well situated - in easy walking distance from the many restaurants, art galleries & cute shops. It was really cold outside during our stay, so the well-functioning air-conditioner in our room & good duvet were very welcome. We have stayed in a few different B&B's in Clarens, all which have been good but prefer the hotel. We definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountain!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarens
0.7 mi away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#2 of 4 in Clarens
141 reviews
15.1 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
77 reviews
11.4 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#4 of 33 in Clarens
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#2 of 33 in Clarens
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
#1 of 39 in Clarens
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarens Eddies
Clarens Eddies
#2 of 39 in Clarens
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Clarens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Clarens

Address: corner of Main & Van der Merwe Streets, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Price Range: $100 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Clarens 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Clarens - Home is where the Art is. The Protea Hotel Clarens is located in the best kept secret in art and culture circles of the Free State. The picturesque village of Clarens is framed by the majestic Maluti Mountains, sandstone cliffs and is in close proximity to the Golden Gate National Park and the mountain kingdom of Lesotho. This artists’ haven is a tapestry steeped in history and rich in legend. Experience a living masterpiece that exudes sheer style, luxury and design. Protea Hotel Clarens blends in with the natural splendour that has inspired artists, eco lovers and tourists who simply enjoy the art of living to explore this tranquil, magical landscape and relax, in style. Take in the breathtaking scenery with sundowners on Protea Hotel Clarens’ terrace, enjoy fine dining or laze away the hours in luxury and comfort. This sanctuary embodies state-of-the-art excellence and service. From adrenalin rushes to cultural expeditions, Clarens offers it all. With an abundance of activities nearby, from San paintings and dinosaur trails to white river rafting and rock climbing; Protea Hotel Clarens’ warm hospitality completes the picture. So whether you plan a romantic getaway, team-building exercise, business conference or African adventure, Protea Hotel Clarens has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel Clarens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing