We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly neighbourhood bistro”
Review of Lou Pebre d'Ai

Lou Pebre d'Ai
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Lauris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

This unspoilt village south of the Luberon runs to two restaurants and two pizza places. However, at this time of year the restaurants, while still opening for lunches, only open for dinner on Fridays and Saturdays. Lou Pebre d'Ai was recommended by the manager of our gite, who said that booking was essential. Indeed, the place was pretty full.

The atmosphere is convivial and the service very friendly. They do a three-course menu for €26.50 but there are 5-6 choices per course plus three daily specials, one of which is always fish. And they weren't bothered that we didn't have the full three courses. All the entrees came on a large bed of mixed salad, which was most welcome given how hard it is to get a decent portion of vegetables in many French restaurants. It is good home cooking, nothing in the least sophisticated, but tasty and the protein comes in large portions. Desserts were a tad disappointing, tasting of sugar but not much else. We had house wine in pichets, which was perfectly pleasant, while a carafe of water arrived at the table along with the bread badket. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Walking_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 396 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2018 via mobile

Brilliant food at very reasonable prices. I was there for a quick dinner and I happened to enjoy one of the very best ducks I ever tried.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank fredlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018

This is one of the better meals we have had in France. Small, family owned restaurant in a rural village. Very reasonably priced. Flavorful, hearty, well prepared food. We would definitely return if in the area again.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tuscan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The Lou Pebra is under new ownership and the new owners offer a 3 course fixed price menu for 25 euros. First impressions were good, welcoming staff and a clean and comfortable ambiance. The bread we were given was not fresh, it was bagette obviously left over from the previous day. The food itself was average, portions were generous, but it was akin to home cooking. Perfectly adequate and reasonable value for money, but lacking the high notes that a professional chef normally adds. Our other gripe was that our profiterole dessert was not fresh, the pastry was firm and barely edible.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jonh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

We were lucky to get the last table inside on a Saturday night and ended up enjoying a really memorable meal in which all the dishes 3 of us chose over the 3 courses were a delight: ceviche, stuffed aubergine, lamb shanks, risotto and deserts. Huge portions - was embarrassed not to be able to finish my tasty entrecôte. Nice ambience and service. I spend a lot of time in France and it’s a long time since I’ve had a meal this good at any price, let alone 26 euros for a dinner set menu. Congratulations to the owners - we will be back one day!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Hocha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Pebre d'Ai also viewed

 

Been to Lou Pebre d'Ai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing