We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LUNCH IN LAURIS - LE BON GOUT!!!”
Review of L'Argelas

L'Argelas
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Lauris
Price range: $33 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Chef, Regis Buisson as discreet as brilliant signs his card, from the salty to the sweet of an absolute mastery. The cooking is respected, the flavors are fair and the products authenticated with a great freshness. The most charming of the surprises of this address is hidden in the open patio that one discovers in the back of the restaurant in the nice season. Affranchi of the Chefs with whom it was formed (Prevot in Cavaillon, Gerald Passédat - Petit Nice in Marseille), he draws on his inspiration and seasons, simplicity, freshness and goodness. Régis Buisson delivers in his kitchen a true love for his country, his terroir. The menu displays refined cuisine that combines every day, tradition and imagination. A true encounter of flavors and taste of inspiration Provençal scrolls through its plates over the seasons, with the quality of the products that compose them. It is with great taste that Régis and his wife Nathalie transformed the old hardware of the village into an intimate place with decoration and soft tones. Provence and its light are the Chef's Muse.
Reviewed May 26, 2018

We made a lunch reservation for 21 May and when we arrived at the restaurant we were a little worried as the village was deserted and the restaurant looked quiet. However, we were greeted warmly by Madam and shown to a wonderfully pretty courtyard at the back of the dining room, which was brimming with herbs and pretty flowers and buzzing with the happy chatter of fellow diners.

With our limited French, we picked our way through the menu, with success (and with the help of Madam filling in the gaps in our knowledge). The meal was exceptional, with the freshest of produce, beautifully presented.

The chef served our deserts which were sublime and was pleased that we were so happy with our meal.

Being the last diners to leave, we were privileged to meet Celine, who was returning for her afternoon nap!!

Date of visit: May 2018
5  Thank insearchofsolitude67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgelasLauris, Propriétaire at L'Argelas, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2018

Thank you for your visit. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 137 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018

Argelas is an upmarket fine dining restaurant. It offers a very limited and quite expensive menu (Three courses 32 euros but up to 40 euros if you chose the fillet steak) All the food is excellent - so much so that we dined here 3 times during our 2 week stay in Lauris. Bio Luberon red wine was 28 euros - really very good. Our favourites were the fish carpaccio, excellent fillet steak (as good as it gets) and also the Quasi de Veal with stuffed courgette. We enjoyed Desserts Gourmand and pear and almond tarts. A glass of Sauternes dessert wine was very expensive at 13 euros so on subsequent visits we found the Muscat at 6 euros a very good accompaniment to our desserts. The only downside to Argelas was that during our 3 visits in September is was not busy so the atmosphere was a bit muted.It is clearly more expensive than the other restaurants in Lauris but it offers something a bit special and we can recommend dining here.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CardiffZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgelasLauris, Propriétaire at L'Argelas, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank you for your visit. We hope to see you again at L'Argelas.
Merci de votre visite. Nous espérons vous revoir à l'Argelas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Sophisticated if small menu in a nicely decorated Lauris restaurant. For dinner I had marinated raw fish as entree ( excellent - had a lemon and olive oil sauce) and a poached whole fish for main ( nice but a bit ordinary). My wife had aubergine starter with salad ( tasty but a little too much balsamic vinegar) and an imaginative veal dish. The lady owner was stand-offish and made no attempt at communication, although she welcomed regulars to the restaurant wiht open arms. Wine is served by the bottle - 250mil or 375mil. Worth a try if you're in Lauris

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgelasLauris, Propriétaire at L'Argelas, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017
Google Translation

Merci de votre visite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017

Nice food, fresh from the market. The lady owner is friendly and always happy to give details about the food.
Always a nice moment.
Catherine

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cferey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgelasLauris, Propriétaire at L'Argelas, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017
Google Translation

Merci de votre visite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

The food was OK but no more than that! Service was extremely slow and there were only 2 other tables with people! Also they had already run out of one entree choice.....and thai was at the beginning of the lunch hour! Because the service was so slow they did get to serve us more wine than we would normally have had at lunchtime!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Meg44AixenProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgelasLauris, Propriétaire at L'Argelas, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017
Google Translation

Merci de votre visite.
Nous vous prions de nous excuser pour l'attente et je peux vous assurer que nous nous efforçons d'améliorer ce désagrément cependant, beaucoup de nos plats nécessitent une préparation sur l'instant n'y voyez aucune mal intention de notre part.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Argelas also viewed

 
La Roque-d'Antheron, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Argelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing