We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Polochar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Polochar Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lochboisdale
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The food at this inn is fantastic, and the location is very good with views over to Barra and Eriskay.

Our room was very small, but we had been warned of that before we turned up, and the rate for it was reasonable. One minor point is that the extractor fan in the bathroom seemed to be pulling in cigarette smoke from somewhere, as the bathroom stank of it every time we switched it on! The staff were apologetic about this when we mentioned it at check out.

Room Tip: Don't go for a petit double room if you are tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist198299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    136
    23
    15
    7
See reviews for
56
232
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Garstang
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our third visit. Very good food and accommodation plus fantastic coastal setting. Staff are very helpful and friendly. If the weather is good, superb sunsets over sea. Handy location for ferries.
Distances can be deceiving on the islands with many side roads to the machair.

Room Tip: Choose a full size room. Small ones are of same standard but a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is THE place to eat in South Uist, we ate there 3 out of the 4 nights we were on the island. Great food, great atmosphere and great views, even its own standing stone on the door step. The menu has some changes made to it daily so don't do as I did and go back a second night lusting for the meal you had the night before - you could be disappointed! The wine was as good as the food and the staff were lovely

Room Tip: We weren't resident there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

A pleasant rather old fashioned hotel which is spoilt by the noisy yobs who frequent the public bar. If you like shouted abuse, slamming doors, revving car engines and blaring car radios, this is the place for you. Otherwise, take some good earplugs or find somewhere where the owners are more concerned about their residents than their noisy locals

Room Tip: Get a room a long way from the public areas,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arisaig
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

A beautiful old change-house (where you waited for the ferry) in a cracking spot feet from the sea. My husband saw an otter as he unloaded our cases. Lovely room, lovely staff, great food - it even has its own standing stone! We will return!

Room Tip: Choose one of the larger rooms, the small ones are fine but a bit tight for moving around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnandRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just the location would get this place five stars. It is right on the southern tip of South Uist, overlooking the Sound of Barra. Lying in bed, we could watch the waves and the ever changing weather-nothing but the hotel carpark lies between the Inn and the sea. We had one of the superior rooms. It was a good size, with room for a dressing table and chair and a circular coffee table, in the window, with two additional chairs to watch the sea from. The bathroom was very attractively fitted with nice toiletries; the bed was huge and the standard of cleanliness, and cheery smile on the cleaners face second to none. Breakfast was served in the back lounge, particularly recommend the Stornaway black pudding and the locally smoked salmon. Endless coffee. Supper in the lounge bar-decent wine list, wonderful seafood-highlight was the pan fried scallops in garlic butter-never seen scallops that size before. Staff were really friendly, pleasant, obliging. A great break in an exceptional location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The reason for our visit to the Polochar Inn was a mixture of business and pleasure, but our stay was very definitely a pleasure. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The room was very tastefully fitted out and the bed was spacious and comfortable. The on-suite was spotless and again had all the fittings, toiletries etc you would expect and require.
The shower-head was a little low but manageable and my wife enjoyed the bath which is always a good sign.
We stayed for 2 nights and although we arrived quite late on the first night we were still able to enjoy a good meal. The dinners we had were very good and the breakfasts were very well cooked and tasty.
This Inn has lots of character, welcoming staff and a fantastic location. We were able to look out our window at a stunning view that included the standing stone which is quite a bit older than 2,000 years and somewhat closer to 5,000
We would certainly not hesitate to stay at the Polochar the next time we are in South Uist and for birdwatchers and walkers it is ideally placed at the start of the Machair Way.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was great and even although it was above the external door, the noise from thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Out_and_About_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochboisdale
84.6 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
312.7 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.1 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#3 of 13 in Uig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polochar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polochar Inn

Property: Polochar Inn
Address: Polochar, Lochboisdale HS8 5TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Lochboisdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lochboisdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Polochar Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Polochar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polochar Hotel Lochboisdale
Polochar Hotel South Uist
Polochar Inn Lochboisdale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing