We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect escape from the rain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lochboisdale Cafe

Lochboisdale Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Lochboisdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are Lochboisdale Cafe in South Uist, Outer Hebrides. Wifi & Computer access. Giftshop, we are also a Post Office Look out for the building with the Pink roof as you come into Lochboisdale. Otter spot from our window seats watch our resident heron or just daydream while sampling our varied drinks menu or try some local seafood Lobster from our Specials Board. We are 25 metres from the sea, have a view to the hills of South Uist and a great relaxing atmosphere so come visit us.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect escape from the rain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely friendly cafe with a great snack/lunch menu and little gift shop. I'll be back here if I'm ever on South Uist again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjmackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    36
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great wee friendly cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just back from holidaying in South Uist for 2 weeks. This cafe was a great find. We used it quite a lot during our stay. Great for light bites like toasties, paninis, and has a really good selection of home baked goodies, & cakes. Nicest lattes & coffees on the island. They pack a lot into a small space. The cafe is also the post office with a section selling really nice bits and bobs and souvenirs at fair prices. They have a good selection of Harris tweed products. I couldn't resist and bought 2 Harris tweed dormouse doorstops! Just look out for the pink roof and your sorted!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovepatrickswayze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quirky stop off with great tea and WiFi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Lunch stop on a tour of the Hebrides. Lovely toasties, great tea and yummy cakes. Much needed fuel for the ride North. It was so good we stayed for a second brew. Exceedingly eclectic crockery, and all in all great fun. Easy to spot as its the only building around with a pink roof.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MalRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Good quality food from a varied menu.
Must try the Ice Cream Sundae

Shame that you have to pay £1 for wireless when you are spending £25 in the café.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Starkreality1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

A very quirky cafe, friendly staff and great service. Thanks for all the fabby cakes!! kids loved the milkshake and the homemade rainbow cake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caluna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochboisdale Cafe also viewed

South Uist, Outer Hebrides
South Uist, Outer Hebrides
 
North Uist, Outer Hebrides
 

Been to Lochboisdale Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing