We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”
Review of Brae Lea House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochboisdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brae Lea House
Ranked #4 of 5 Lochboisdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed for 1 night in a very comfortable spacious room, a pleasant residents lounge is available with good views towards Lochboisdale. Breakfast was good and hearty and the hospitality warm and welcoming. Good evening meals were available at the Lochboisdale Hotel which was only a 20 minute walk from the house. Recommended

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 30 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2010

Brae Lea House was our shelter on a rainy afternoon.
After a brief welcome we have not met our hosts for the rest of the day.
We had dinner in the Lochboisdale Hotel which was very cosy, there was no other place to go anyway.

Breakfast was chosen from a menu and very delicious.

The B&B is for sale and unfortunately one could feel that the owners are a bit weary. It was OK for what the name "Bed and Breakfast" stands for. Our room looked much better than on the home page.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walthersus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The breakfast was lovely, Patsy also cooked a lovely eveing meal. I liked the house very much we had a great room and bath room number 5, but yes the walls are a bit thin. I would still recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bletchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

In most ways this was a standard B+B. Differences were a significantly larger than usual bedroom, but a minute very cramped bathroom – with a strange folding door and an electric shower. There is no TV in the room, but a good lounge.

They do not offer dinner which is available at the Lochboisedale Hotel ¾ mile away – there is no alternative. On the Saturday night in May we went there every table in the dining room and in the bar were occupied by diners, so it could be wise to make a reservation.

There is a for sale sign outside the B+B so things may be different in future – for better for worse.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We checked into the B&B with Patsy for a two night stay.  The room did not have a key so we locked important stuff in the luggage.  The WIFI connection was available but slow.  The room was large; the bed was comfortable and the shower was very good.  Our towels were changed each day.  Breakfast was cooked to order with smoked haddock and kipper available; tasty alternative to bacon and eggs.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandCHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

It must be said that if you stay in the room my girlfriend and I had then there will be no secrets!

Shower/toilet is accessed via a wooden particion door which wasn't exactly sound proof if you see what I mean! Also if you wanted to bend over to rinse your mouth whilst brushing your teeth you really needed to open the door!

Shower we were warned makes a noise when in use but it was nothing alarming and did the job.

Room was small but it's a B & B not an hotel. No TV in room and given the lack of things to do in Lochboisdale this could be missed on a wet windy night!

Breakfast was good and overall not too bad a place.

Ate in the Lochboisdale Hotel which was ok. Had the Fish Pasta which was supposed to have scallops in it but .......I think they must have been those micro scallops as I couldn't find them!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St-Cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights. Patsy and husband great people and I would recommend them to any traveller..... Thanks Patsy for such a terrific stay in your friendly guesthouse. and thanks for being so helpful in finding our way around Uist....we loved it. .. Keep up the great work..... Will tell all our friends

Sue and Tony

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nofry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brae Lea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae Lea House

Address: Brae Lea House Lasgair, Lochboisdale HS8 5TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Lochboisdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochboisdale
Price Range: $53 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms en-suite; packed lunch offered instead of breakfast if going on early ferry. 1 mile from ferry terminal; will collect if requested. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brae Lea House Lochboisdale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing