We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lochboisdale Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
70
57
37
29
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
57
37
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish and chipssouth uistgood nights sleepleather sofasmacaroni cheesethis lovely hotelevening mealpremier innhuge portionscooked perfectlycrispy batterhot waterblack puddingouter hebrideslounge barstayed for one nightcycling trip
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 207 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night and really enjoyed it! We had a premium room which was huge and beautifully decorated . The ensuite was large with a fab slipper bath!!! The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. Loved watching the ferries coming in and out! All in all a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thenewmrsyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A lovely big room in an old hotel which needs a little updating. The setting is great and Barra is a beautiful place.

The staff were friendly, but lots of stairs and long corridors but no lift and no offer of help with luggage - which we'd have appreciated.

There was an unfortunately incident in the bar with a chap who had had a lot to drink and became quite unpleasant and had to be removed quite early in the evening, so sadly not the best impression of the place to take away.

Would have to think twice about going back....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacDonaldsCoventry, Owner at Lochboisdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

I do apologise about the gentleman in the bar that we had to remove but unfortuntately incidences like that are out of our control and he was removed from the premises anyway. Yes we are a little tired, but we are trying to care of that little by little. It's better to have a little tired hotel that is open rather than a plush hotel that is closed due to cash flow. We always ask if you need any help with luggage and I'm suprised that you weren't maybe you should have mentioned it and we would have been happy to ablige. Also, we are not in Barra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel was probably one of the most expensive we stayed in during our trip to the Hebrides but it was value for money. The staff were friendly and the food was excellent. Our room was very spacious and well decorated and we had a fantastic view over the loch. It was the perfect location for the ferry. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Lochboisdale Hotel is very typical of the Scottish country hotel genre in that it is functional and comfortable without being particularly well-appointed or flash. This is due to the fact that such individual hotels don't have the capital or the steady business of the large, city chains so cannot compete re decor, amenities etc. So when people complain of such hotels being "tired" or "dated" etc I often wonder if they would actually like all hotels to look like Premier Inn clones - surely not!

Our room at the Lochboisdale Hotel was clean, comfortable and spacious, with lovely views out over the loch. The bar was very pleasant with a good mix of locals and tourists, and the food on offer is varied and very good.

Breakfast was taken in an impressive dining room that is smartly furnished in a bright, modern style with a plethora of large windows that afford excellent views of the loch and the harbour, and certainly as we ate our very good "full Scottish" breakfast watching the Cal Mac ferry sail serenely up the loch I couldn't think of many better ways to start the day.

To summarise: the Lochboisdale Hotel is convenient for the ferry; is set on a lovely position overlooking the loch; is comfortable and clean; has friendly and efficient staff and serves good food and drink at reasonable prices.
And it is not advertised by Lenny Henry - what more could you ask?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacDonaldsCoventry, Owner at Lochboisdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, it is very kind of you to say those things. It's a refreshing change to see a review from someone that actually understands the plight of small hotel owners that do not have great conglomerates behind them. What we get out of the hotel is put straight back into it. The staff are more like family and we try our hardest to make everyone happy but we're under no illusion that that is always the case. We never set out to be a flashy hotel with all mod-cons, we want to stay personal, small and comfortable. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good hotel right next to the ferry terminal so no back breaking trek with luggage or hassle of getting a taxi or bus to your hotel. Stayed in two different rooms both rooms really well set up and lots of room. Meals where very good breakfast choice everything from kippers to cereal, main meals excellent with very freindly staff and the a public bar right next door. Ideal place to stay if you want a base to explore south uist

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank page1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews