We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Retreat to South Uist”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of An Taigh Soilleir

An Taigh Soilleir Near Completion April 2012
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An Taigh Soilleir Near Completion April 2012
King size bedroom with ensuite wet room Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
An Taigh Soilleir Near Completion April 2012
King size bedroom with ensuite wet room
Double Bedroom
Dining Room
Some of the local wildlife
View of hills to the South from rear of An Taigh Soilleir
The machair and beach
Upstairs Sofa/TV area
Upstairs Sofa/TV area - Sofa Bed
Preparing the kitchen for holidaymakers!
Living Room
Lewis Chessmen
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy S
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Retreat to South Uist”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic break. I can honestly say the cottage is the nicest we have stayed in over 20 or more years we have been visiting Scotland. That combined with the stunning beaches, wildlife and solitude made for a wonderful holiday.

The cottage is equipped to a superb standard and the views from all the windows are fantastic. We will return in the coming years, so much more to explore, a week is not enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Service
Liked best: Standard of accomodation
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie A
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house, fabulous location”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful week exploring The Uists and Benbecula. The house is very comfortable, well located and the owners were helpful and accommodating.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joan B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“1 word to describe this house. ..MAGNIFICENT.”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Myself, hubby, daughter, son in law, sister, brother in law & not forgetting lovely grandaughter who only stayed part of week as she just travelled back from Barcelona were stunned when we entered this magnificent house. After having checked it out previously on the internet it was just the way we all imanigined it to be ..Beautiful house in beautiful location. We went up for a wedding & it was a joy to return to lovely house after eating & drinking night away as we only came off the ferry that day. The rest off the week was just as good. It was that good we have already booked again for next year. I could go on & on but don't you try it out for yourself & can assure you won't be disappointed in any way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary H
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Wonderfully comfortable and relaxing. This well thought out property had everything you could possible need for a great stay on the beautiful South Uist, whatever the weather. We definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable with beautiful views
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan K
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb cottage in a peaceful location”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Every detail has been attended to, comfortable, spacious and well set out. With well stocked supermarket 3 miles away it is very convenient location from which to explore the Outer Hebrides.
Although there were only the two of us the house would accommodate 6 people in comfort.
If we visit South Uist again we would check the availability of this house before any other.
Alan & Amanda Kelly
Leeds
West Yorkshire

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B
Debenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A superb bungalow,set in superb surroundings on a beautiful group of islands”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As soon as we entered we knew we had made a really good choice,a wonderfully light airy spacious house.Everywhere was so clean.There are fantastic views from all main rooms and we could hear corncrakes all around.A highlight for us was seeing a corncrake in the garden on several occasions!!The sunsets as seen from the front porch /viewing room were amazing.It was home from home being well equipped,the drying space in the boiler room a bonus..As someone who enjoys a coffee the nearness of the Hebridean Jewelery Cafe and shop were an added bonus,walk the mile and burn off the cake.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiredSurr...
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Great location and ideally situated to explore all the islands with excellent views from all sides of the property. A perfect place to enjoy peace and quiet disturbed only by the sounds of birds and the local crofters sheep and cattle with the odd dog barking. I would advise the owners to leave the grass on the lawn at the rear reasonably long as we spotted a corncrake there several times and they are supposed to be secretive and hard to see even if they are easy to hear.
Exceptionally clean and the kitchen contained everything you could need. There were books, DVD's and games and even a computer available for use.Our one regret was that it was never quite warm enough to use the barbecue.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The wet rooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing