We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our holiday.”
Review of Caloraidh

Caloraidh
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caloraidh
Ranked #12 of 12 South Uist B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent four fantastic days with Mary. The rooms were spotless and equipped with everything, from wine glasses, bottle opener, fridge, to hairdressing accessories. Beds and coverings very comfortable and breakfasts were made to our liking every day. It was restful and for our holiday absolutely what we wanted and would recommend it. It is not equivalent to a hotel room in size and twin room could be small for two but use of large lounge compensated for this.
I think it was the friendly atmosphere and Mary couldn't do enough for us, without being intrusive, that made the stay so enjoyable. Thank you Mary, would not stay anywhere else if we come to S. Uist again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annegardiner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 23 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

A lovely quiet spot to rest after touring South Uist and hosted by the very warm and friendly owner Mary, this B&B is a great place to stay.

A great breakfast with plenty of choice, served using china cups and saucers and crystal glasses, it's a real little pleasure to be hosted by Mary who is very chatty, personable and knowledgeable of the area and nothing is too much trouble.

A great stay :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

The room was spotless and toiletries were provided. Good breakfast with plenty choice and fresh eggs from the hens in the garden. The owner was very kind and helpful and knew of many places on the island to visit.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Ytak D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Lovely people and very friendly. Really nice breakfasts. B&B very clean - great places stay. The location is very quiet and in a good position to visit several good places for a meal in South Uist - thank you for a good stay

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Had a lovely few days in South Uist. Weather was generally kind to us. The island is a quiet retreat great for cycling and hill walking.
B&B was excellent and Mary our host was full of local knowledge and very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerh156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Short of being in your own home, this place is the best possible substitute. Comfortable spotless room with lots of little conveniences - hair drier, sewing kit, coffee and tea, china cups, crystal drinking glass. Hostess Mary is ever so helpful, can even teach you Gaelic but really useful for suggestions on what is worth doing & seeing. Eggs for breakfast from the chickens seen out back. Peat fire very cozy. Walk along to fabulous beach another plus. 8 min drive from ferry, location quite central on the island. 5 min to Askernish golf course.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Our last 2 nights on the Hebrides and without doubt the best 2. Mary was fantastic, not only give a great welcome and chat, but also lots of help and advice as to what to see and do and where to eat with all her recommendations coming true. Too finish off the day a lovely peat fire to slowly send you to sleep.

Once again a fantastic breakfast to then send us on our way. Truly a great experience and a reason why you should visit the Hebrides

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Needwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Uist hotels
449.9 mi away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
429 reviews
452.7 mi away
Borrodale Hotel
Borrodale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Daliburgh
125 reviews
460.6 mi away
Kilbride Campsite
Kilbride Campsite
#1 of 5 in South Uist
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caloraidh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloraidh

Address: Milton, HS8 5RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in South Uist
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Caloraidh South Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing