We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A most warm welcome to a beautiful home”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Villa Senaia

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castiglion Fiorentino, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laurie G
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A most warm welcome to a beautiful home”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

With the hills of Tuscany and a church spire in the background, playing bocce or swimming in the pool said "we are no where else but Italy." Dining on the terrace overlooking the town of Castiglion-Fiorentino, under the stars was dreamlike. Guiseppe and his wife could not have been more helpful and friendly. The wine cabinet was fully stocked with local wines at 5-12 euros a bottle. We had a professional chef, Donatella, prepare a feast - from fresh pasta to a custard-like soufflé, all prepared on site; a real show as well as a great meal. We would highly recommend a stay here. We did not book the property directly with Guiseppe. We should have. The directions were not provided by Guiseppe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease of being with family in the house - plenty of room for all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Questa vacanza era spettacolare!!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The accomodations were great and Giuseppe was a fabulous host! Sipping coffee in the morning, watching the sunrise slide up over Castiglion Fiorentino and the valey below was outstanding! The views from the veranda and pool area are really great!!! There were 7 of us in the villa and we had plenty of room for everyone. Giuseppe was a great, very friendly host, always ready to offer help or suggestions for our trip.
To sum up, we will be returning in Seoptember 2014, some of the group for the third time. I think that alone recommends Villa Senaia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience/property was like I would imagine modern italian country life to be at its best... great views, friendly host, well-maintained property.
Liked least: I had no
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, you'll look for a Florentine steak cook together and drink a glass of wine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loridah
Cape Cod
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Add this to your bucket list!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we (a group of 7 adults)have stayed at Villa Senaia twice so far (for 2 weeks at a time) and have planned our 3rd visit for Sept. 2014. There is so many positive about this wonderful place and part of Italy, it shouldn't be missed. The villa is spectacular with breathtaking views of the valley and the walled city of Castiglion Fiorentino. It sits on a hill a short distance from CF and has everything possible you would need on a vacation. The hosts, Giuseppe and his lovely wife, Laura are wonderful. We are greeted with fresh fruits, cheeses and Italian meats. The cupboard is stocked with Giuseppe's wonderful, home made wines and olive oils for purchase (well worth the price, too!). During our stay our hosts would bring over their homemade jams and biscotti! Such a treat!!
The city of CF is small but offers some of the best food around. There is a small, family owned place called La Sffizieria that has some of the best pizza, panini's and red wine around! The folks who own it are so pleasant and accomodating.
Cortona is a short ride and is well worth the trip. There are plenty of sights to see, shopping and eating. I would recomment Trattoria D'Addario - it is wonderful!
Castiglion Fiorentino is truly the "heart" of Italy.
Even if you do not speak Italian - do not worry. The Italian people here are so helpful and wonderful!
(I tried several times to upload photos but Trip Advisor's site kept crashing)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the villa and hospitaliy
Liked least: the bugs - can't do much about that!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2014
I am very happy of your stay and will look to September with a bottle of wine to celebrate your return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquie D
Granger, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love!!! Tuscan farmhouse/villa of our dreams!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for only three nights while my husband attended a class in town..far too short a stay in such an amazing place.
The owner, Giuseppe, was extremely warm and gracious. Since he and his wife and daughter live next door, he was able to help with directions, etc. He left a bountiful spread of local fruit, bread, some amazing wine and various pantry items waiting for us when we arrived.
The farmhouse/villa is just beautiful and so comfortably appointed! The views from the patio, pool, yard, and upstairs balconies were incredible, picture perfect!
The location is absolutely the best as it is within close proximity to many towns in Tuscany and Umbria. We were able to visit a different town each day of our short stay.
We are planning to visit again within the year with our daughter and would definitely love to stay in this amazing place again!
Words cannot adequately describe how much we loved staying in Villa Senaia. However, our memories of this beautiful place will draw us back!
Jacquie Danahey

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2014
Hello, I'm sorry that the answer is not immediately seemed,
I had written but perhaps a little practicality with your computer
I am very happy of your stay, I hope you can come back with more time so you can find more news of Tuscany
thank you very much Giuseppe and Laura little Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary n
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better then we could have dreamed !”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from 3 weeks in Italy and one week was spent at Villa Senaia. This place was a dream come true from the owners, Giuseppe, who the wife's say is George Clooney's double, to his wife Laura, who spoiled us with her delicious baked goods, The views looked almost unreal which gazed over the countryside overlooking the town of Castigleon Fiorentino which is walking distance from the villa and straight out of a scene from the God Father.... This place had it all and is a must if you are looking for a genuine Tuscan villa in the heart of the region.. Day trips included drives to Assisi, Siena, Cortona and the Chianti region all within a two hour drive. We can't wait to return....and will never forget the magical time we spent and the genuine warmth and hospitality given to us by Guiseppe and Laura.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2013
in our work know that we were able to satisfy customers is the best success,
you are always welcome when you return from George Clooney (country), I will prepare a very good bottle of wine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrJLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa, Great Hospitality!”
Reviewed October 24, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I just returned from a week long vacation at Villa Senaia located in Castiglion Fiorentino. Everything about this villa is fantastic! The location is outstanding since most tuscan hilltowns are a easily accessible from the villa within an hour or less. Great location to experience Tuscany as well as Umbria. The owners of the villa which live next door, Giuseppe and Laura, provided my family with A++ hospitality and did everthing in their power to make sure that we were absolutely satisfied and happy. This is my fourth vacation to Tuscany and it has been the best yet. I highly recommend this villa to anyone interested in experiencing Tuscany the right way. The villa was very well kept and comfortable. The kitchen was fully loaded with all the appliances needed to cook your meals and eat "al fresco" while looking over the marvelous views of the valdichiana. A great grocery store is only five minutes away. Overall I give this villa a the best possible ratings because everything was to our liking and Guiseppe and Laura were fantastic!!! I will definitely return to this villa in the near future!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fvdven
Edegem, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tuscan villa”
Reviewed August 15, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful 4 bedroom / 3 bathroom villa with a stunning panoramic view. Ideal "base" To discover the Tuscan region. Very friendly owners, great swimming pool, beautifully restored house, tasteful decoration, ... this villa really has it all. We will most certainly be back, see you soon Giuseppe and Laura.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2011
thank you very much, I hope to see you soon, greetings Joseph and Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$359
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing