We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Heaven on Earth!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

We''ve just come back from our first visit to Casa Portagioia and we had such a wonderful time. It's incredible! I cannot speak highly enough of the accommodation, the location and most importantly our hosts. Terry and Marcello really are the best. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and to make sure we had a fantastic holiday.

The small community of guest bedrooms and apartments creates a very personal holiday. All of the guests were extremely friendly and we were able to share tips, advice and stories over breakfast each morning.

Casa Portagioia is in an idyllic location, with mind blowing scenery. It really struck me how much time and effort has been spent making Casa Portagioia perfect. Terry and Marcello have put so much hard work and effort into this unique guest house. The attention to detail is telling.

It's very difficult to sum up what makes Casa Portagioia such a fantastic place, all I can say is that we've already booked to go back, and we cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Tuscany.

I'm not sure how anyone could leave a negative review of Casa Portagioia. I am very fussy about where I stay on holiday, and I cannot think of anywhere else that I have stayed that I've enjoyed so much. It's as far removed from Faulty Towers as one can imagine.

Terry; you have a great sense of humour. Marcello; I wish we could have brought you home to cook for us everyday!

counting down the days until to our next visit….

James & Chrissie.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jj79741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
690
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful slice of relatively undiscovered Tuscany for 4 nights. Our room was very comfortable and the shower was thankfully large for Tuscan standards, their bath amenities were great. The heated pool was a magnet offering views of real working Tuscan rural life. The beautiful grounds are lovingly kept by the preconversion farm owner and Terry (Dirty Harry, a nickname my husband gave to this Clint Eastwood-ish character!). Prior to our arrival we had been on a 6 star cruise line and had stayed in a 5 star hotel in Tuscany, had eaten many wonderful dinners, but the dinner that Marcello prepared far surpassed any other meal we tasted. What a glorious existence to eat a real home made breakfast and gourmet meals on their awesome patio overlooking the grounds. Terry and Marcello are gracious hosts that have created a fabulous place to visit and relax. They know the area well and can answer your questions about what to do and make reservations for dinner, etc. These two personalities Terry (dry humor Brit) and Marcello (effervescent Italian) combined with their beautiful dreamscape make this a MUST VISIT destination in Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wellshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

We loved Casa Portagioia! The grounds are beautifully maintained. Our room (Veterini) had great views of the hills and the vineyards and olive groves. Our hosts, Terry and Marcello, couldn't have been more gracious and informative. We loved having breakfast on the terrace every morning. And Marcello's home-cooked 5 course dinner is not to be missed. Our fellow "Portagioians" were an interesting mix of couples from the U.S., Ireland, Australia, and Germany. This was a great location for day trips around Tuscany. We've told all our friends about this Tuscan gem and definitely plan to return again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DodiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

We arrived at Casa Portagioia for three nights to relax in the middle of our whirlwind journey through Italy with our two teenage children. I had great expectations since it is rare to find ratings as consistently high as as theirs. All four of us found it to be the highlight of our entire vacation. Terry and Marcello are wonderful! Each detail of our stay was perfect. They helped plan the perfect itinerary: wine tasting, exquisite dinners, delightful sightseeing, even shoe shopping for my daughter and myself. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EGREUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Casa portagioia was so beautiful and stunning from the minute we drove up. We were overwhelmed on how incredible this place is. Then we meet Terry and Marcello, the two most welcoming and friendly owners you can find. They made sure that our stay was a great one. Marcello's cooking is incredible and terr's hospitality were exceptional. we will always come back to casa portagioia. Defintely the best B&b we have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonyandmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gimignano, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

We have stayed in many B&B's, and Casa Portagioia is among the finest. Every aspect of this Tuscan country inn is beautiful, charming, comfortable and welcoming. The proprietors Terry and Marcello are kind and attentive and have clearly poured their hearts and souls into this accommodation. Wandering the property you encounter vineyards, olive trees, bountiful flowering pots and the kind of casual elegance one imagines of Tuscany. Breakfast on the terrace is a glorious way to begin the day before you head out to see the sights or relax by the lovely pool. We'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BakerCristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed six nights at Casa Portagioia and wished for more time. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds, our comfortable room, the delicious food and especially the hosts, Terry and Marcello. Terry was a very informative guide with great suggestions and directions. Marcello was a great chef who provided a wonderful breakfast and a special five-course dinner that he prepares twice a week.(DON'T MISS IT) He suggested and made reservations at wonderful local restaurants. We hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneandBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
7.4 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
4.2 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
#2 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Property: Casa Portagioia
Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing