We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“even better a second time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
cypress
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“even better a second time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

we fell in love with place 2 years ago. this b&b continues to live up to its reviews. the area is great, the rooms are wonderful, but what makes this place so special are the owners terry and marcelo. they once again went out of their way to help us, from the recommendations, to helping us find car repair. we cannot wait to return to tuscany and especially Casa Portagioia.
make sure you take directions, a little hard to find. but well worth it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
706
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

From the moment that you pass through the tree lined avenue towards the gate until you leave after enjoying the last breakfast, you will be totally enchanted with everything that Casa Portagiola has to offer. We stayed here on our way through Italy to Luca and had a wonderful time, the day commenced with the marvellous breakfast spread offered by Marcello and topped off with Terry's humour and wit, everything on offer was fresh and inviting, even down to Marcello mastering the art of making a great hot chocolate drink.

The rooms are extremely comfortable and you can be assured of a great nights sleep in the peace and tranquility of the countryside. Nothing is a problem, from recommending tours of the local area to a good restaurant and in my case, getting a pair of pants altered. Marcello's touring maps make finding places a dream.

The grounds of Casa are immaculately maintained, there is something for everyone, whether you want to sit in the garden or relax by the pool, everything is neat and tidy and capped off by the vista of the surrounding countryside.

We will definitely come back to Casa and have recommended it to our family and friends. Thanks to Marcello and Terry for the experience of enjoying Casa and being so friendly and helpful during our stay.

Best wishes, Judy & Bernard

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljungby, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were given a very friendly welcome by Tosca and Sammy - part of the Fabulous Team at Casa Portagioia - Terry and Marcello weren't half bad either!
I wondered whether 12 nights would be too long - they WHIZZED by!

To name some of the things that stand out re our stay:
Attention to detail.
Great bed.
Great shower cabinet - solid, spacious, no leaking all over the bathroom floor, shower nozzle will not fall on you and give you a head injury or a black eye.
Beautiful room - very comfortable space.
Ample coat hangers.
Walking through the garden full of flowers to breakfast.
Comraderie at breakfast - pleasant exchanges with some of the other guests.
Fruit - lots - for breakfast and the delicious pastries - I have a patricular fondness for the apple-filled ones.
Freshly squeezed orange juice and bottomless cups of coffee
My husband loved eggs and ham by Marcello for breakfast.
The option of having lunch.
A good location for exploring the surrounding Tuscany and even Umbria.
Tips and advice from the hosts re EVERYTHING in the area and even beyond - gratuitous maps provided - mostly by Marcello's Maps.
Friendly Signora Rosella who keeps the lovely rooms up to speed. I enjoyed her happy disposition and repartee despite my very flawed Italian.
Signore-the-Gardener - always with a friendly greeting - no doubt the staff enjoy working here.
Very attractive buildings.
Marvellous decor. Interesting photographs on the walls - Marcello is an accomplished photographer. There's a great shot of Steve McQueen's mother during her biking days.
The humour which, as an ex-S. African, I miss living in the Land of Eeyore. I was in my element.

It's a beautiful place and it goes without saying that the concept and result thereof are products of sheer hard work and perseverance. Very admirable.
All this can only come about when people engage themselves whole-heartedly - and Terry and Marcello have and do! Their generosity of spirit is what makes Casa Potagioia an oasis which one wants to return to.

Thanks for a fabulous stay.
Jeannette and Martin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in June (apologize for the delayed post) at the tail end of our honeymoon which included the South of France and Cinque Terre. This was the perfect ending to a great trip! The grounds are meticulously cared for by the wonderful host Marcello and Terry. It's honestly hard to leave to go explore Tuscany when you are surrounded by such beauty and ammenities.

Being a younger couple, it was a pleasure to have our host patiently give us recomendations on everything from wine offerings to which town to explore. You will need to rent a car and driving in Tuscany is certainly different from urban driving in the US. Not a whole lot of street signs in this part of the world- definitely get a GPS for your rental. Arezzo is a cool town, especially if you're interested in fashion.

We will definitely be back to visit our new Tuscan friends, might even help mow the lawn this time!

Room Tip: Each room feels like your own Tuscan Villa, can't really go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert_L60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 days at Casa Portagioia. Shame it was such a short stay but we can't wait to come back. Terry and Marcello are wonderful hosts! They were so helpful and recommended great places to eat for dinner. Our room was fabulous - so clean and modern. Breakfast was a delight (marcello's eggs are the BEST). Overall we loved it!!!! Thank you Terry and Marcello

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I had our "second honeymoon" in Europe recently and Casa Portagioia was a highlight. Terry and Marcello are wonderful welcoming hosts. The valley is exceptionally beautiful with forested hills and olive groves. Casa Portagioia itself is clearly the product of a great deal of effort and passion. Marcello kindly recommended dinner in the nearby town Castiglion Fiorentino which was excellent.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank climatejoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a 2 week trip to Italy. We spent 5 nights at Casa Portagioia and really wished we had been able to stay longer. I have never posted a review on Trip Advisor but after our stay there felt that I needed to. And I will echo all the other reviews that have been posted ….Casa Portagioia is truly “a little bit of heaven on earth.” From the moment we arrived with the genuine warm (and humorous) welcome from both Terry and Marcello we began to relax from a hectic few fighting crowds in Venice followed by the drive south.
First of all, the property is truly spectacular (a true postcard setting) with gardens and grounds and smells (lavender bushes line the walkways) that will amaze. The rooms were excellent and very comfortable with an unbelievable attention to detail. And, as most of the other reviews have so appropriately pointed out, the crowning touch is the two hosts, Terry and Marcello. They are truly warm and genuine and extremely hard working. They were always there to offer advice, suggestions, unusual maps and make reservations for you. And, all is offered with witty jokes, warm conversation and a real attention to your every need. Take the time to talk with them each day…because their recommendations for nearby places to see and visit will out shadow anything you will read in a guide book. On a spur of the moment my husband and I (more so me) decided we would like to take a cooking class. They arranged for us to take one with a local (Jouti) which also exceeded expectations.
In looking back over our stay there, we really did try to experience the Tuscan countryside and unfortunately did not take the time to truly relax and enjoy this beautiful property which in retrospect should have been a must. While the location is perfect for exploring many of the gorgeous Tuscan towns; make sure you build in time to sit, relax and experience the warmth and beauty of Casa Portagioia and its hosts ….it is priceless! Can’t wait to return!

Room Tip: Any room would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 416Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
7.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili - Chateaux et Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.8 mi away
Residence Le Santucce
Residence Le Santucce
#5 of 34 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Property: Casa Portagioia
Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing