We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heavenly treat!”
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A heavenly treat!”
Reviewed March 16, 2008

March 16,2008
From: The Morcks

For our family, the discovery of this gem of a bed and breakfast was was a very sweet surprise. It was like being welcomed home. We immediately were overwhelmed by the sheer beauty of the sight and then even more impressed by the welcome we received from the owners, Terry and Marcello. The rooms were beautifully decorated in a style that was in keeping with it's warm Tuscan location-Cozy, inviting, and lovely. The bedding was luxurious! Crisp sheets and downy comforters that make you want to stay in bed all day! We would go back in a heartbeat, but next time take a few days to lounge around the beautiful pool or bike through the amazing countryside that surrounds Casa Portagioia.This was a gift. Thank you Terry and Marcello! (hi to Tosca and Sammy from the girls!)

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank vacationerrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
713
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

Our stay was far too short!!
My husband and I and our best friends stayed for only 3 days. WE should have stayed much longer to enjoy this outstanding Casa. Between the 4 of us, we could not find one single fault! Terry and Marcello were such wonderful hosts and the superb dinner was certainly as delicious as it was elegant. In fact one of our best during our vacation. Everything was prepared with passion, love and great pride and it certainly showed.
Our rooms were so comfortable and absolutely spotless!
We highly recommend this wonderful, wonderful place

  • Liked — spotlessly clean, great attention to detail and comfort
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank framinles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

If you are planning a trip to Tuscany - you must stay at Casa Portagioia! You will not be disappointed!
Our close friends visited in 2006 & highly suggested Casa Portagioia.
We visited this extraordinary and delightful retreat in October-2007 for 5 nights of our honeymoon. It is one of Tuscany’s best-kept secrets. Casa Portagioia should be in a travel magazine! It was everything they said it would be and more! Terry and Marcello are very gracious and gifted hosts of this beautiful bed and breakfast. The grounds are breathtaking and offer complete peacefulness and serenity. It truly looks like a postcard. Terry offers suggestions on places & restaurants to visit with directions and will be happy to help with any reservations. (But watch out for his humor- he will get you!) Marcello is an exquisite chef- so do not miss the dinners on the nights they are available! The rooms are spacious and lovely appointed, very clean & charming. The towels, linens and beds are very comfortable and great quality (a big concern of mine when we travel!) Their attention of detail shows in absolutely everything! The breakfast is fabulous-with many yummy granolas-lots of hand picked fruits-yogurts, fresh croissants, & they make a terrific cappuccino! The location is convenient close to Castiglion Fiorentino and Cortona. If there is time be sure to visit Benedictine Monastery of Sant' Antimo- a beautiful monastery -but beware if you suffer from car sickness-prepare yourself! It is quite a drive - but the most beautiful scenic countryside drive in Tuscany. Also visit Le Celle behind Cortona. We took the train to Florence- it was very easy- try to catch the first one there and the last one returning- just allow time and be sure you know which train- we almost missed the one returning- due to the different names in Italian. Tuscany is wonderful- Each place has a special treasure to show you- museums, cathedrals, medieval towns, hilltop castles, remarkable shopping, wineries, amazing architecture and the natural beauty of the Italian countryside.
We hope to visit Casa P. again and see our new friends Terry and Marcello.

  • Liked — The quaint welcome feeling
  • Disliked — leaving- wish we could stay longer!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank OklahomaTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmond, ok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for a week during a month long Europe trip. Casa P was by far the winner of all the B&Bs we stayed during our month overseas. The owners are exceptionally hospitable and helpful. Their local knowledge was extensive (reservations, directions, tips, must see spots, food, wine). It is a picturesque Tuscan setting. Since the owners speak English, this is a great place for Americans. Our time there was memorable and we plan on going back the next time we are in Europe.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank okblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

Very well-appointed B&B (or self-catered apartments) situated between Cortona and Arezzo, adjacent to the charming and somewhat sleepy hilltop town of Castiglion Fiorentino.

The place is set out in a small valley filled with olive groves and vineyards, surrounded by lush hills...very quiet, beautiful and a bit removed. You could want for nothing during your stay here, Terry and Marcello have thought of everything. The accommodations have been extremely well considered, and the travel advice offered by Terry really added to our experience. Marcello cooks for the guests a couple of nights a week - not to be missed, we had a fabulous dinner of perfectly prepared regional dishes while we were there.

From this base, we were able to drive to various Tuscan towns (a lot of fun, really!), many of which are approximately an hour or less away by car. And you will need a car; there is a train station in Castiglion Fiorentino with trains heading toward Florence or Rome, but you would still need to drive to the station as it's a bit too far to walk. We rented a car from Avis in Arezzo (through AutoEurope, via the Casa Portagioia website) which was much easier for us than the Rome or Florence airports.

It is worthwhile to note that on Sundays or Mondays in areas like this...outside of the cities...stores, gas stations (though some are open as automated self-serve, i.e., you can still get gas) and restaurants tend to be closed or at reduced hours so you must plan accordingly...it really can be very quiet locally, especially on those days.

In any case, I cannot recommend Casa Portagioia highly enough, especially if you are looking for a peaceful Tuscan vacation away from the rampant tourism of the cities. It was like our home while we were there. I've stayed in many nice hotels in many places, but Casa Portagioia is really unique and special and represents a tremendous value for what is offered.

We miss Terry and Marcello already and have wonderful memories of our stay there. If you are at all considering this location to stay during your vacation, do it! It will easily be the highlight of your holiday.

  • Liked — Terry and Marcello, and how beautiful our room was, with a view of the surrounding countryside
  • Disliked — Nothing, it really was even beyond expectation
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanderlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

In September 2006 our first visit to Tuscany and Casa Portagioia and within days we realised any other holiday from now on would be a very hard act to follow. Hence we were back in 2007 and 2008 can not come soon enough. The beautiful driveway lined with cypress trees that leads to the most amazing gardens with views to die for .Everything about Casa Portagioia has been designed with thoughtfulness and perfection.Terry and Marcello deserve all the glowing responses that I have read and this beautiful retreat is a credit to them both. Marcello the wonderful cook who puts Tuscany on a plate and inches on the waist explains the local cuisine, not to forget Terry whose dry witty humour has had us all in stiches with laughter his abundant knowledge of the wines and the area is amazing ,the both of them make every person feel special .So we are back in 2008 the early summer this time to see the Sunflowers in bloom, to sit in the gardens or maybe by the amazing pool and savour the local grape, or just to gaze at this breathtaking countryside. Patricia and Christopher North Yorkshire UK

  • Liked — The Location , The hosts The Rooms and Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CP_PPTheTykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We had a dream to stay in a converted Tuscan farmhouse and at Casa Portagioia that dream came true. Set in the rolling hills of beautiful Tuscany amidst vineyards and olive groves, close to Castiglion Fiorentino and only an hour or so south of Florence, this turned out to be a haven of peace and tranquility. From the warm friendly greetings we received from our hosts to the delicious breakfasts, to the beautifully restored rooms, this Tuscan farmhouse is perfect in every way. The bedrooms have been decorated with care and have every convenience you could wish for including crisp linen, fluffy towels and even a carafe of the local sweet wine, Vin Santo. What bliss. After the noise of the previous two weeks the silence was almost deafening. Casa Portagioia has been lovingly restored and a photo album in the reception area bore evidence of the work which had been carried out over a two year period.

Marcello and Terry proved to be the ideal hosts. They were friendly, helpful and informative but not intrusive making us feel more like special friends than guests. Marcello is a wonderful chef and we delighted in Terry's sense of humour. The sumptious breakfasts were delicious with freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, a large selection of cereals, freshly baked rolls and croissants followed by a cooked breakfast if desired all served in a most attractive dining room. Marcello provides a typical Tuscan evening meal two nights a week (usually Tuesday and Saturday) and if you can arrange to be there for that do so as it is good value and you will not be disappointed. A comprehensive cellar ensured that our meal was complemented by an excellent Tuscan wine. The dinner was one of the highlights of our stay.

Extremely well situated to many of the Tusan and Umbrian towns, villages and places of interest Terry and Marcello will advise and help you plan your day trips if so desired. Both of them have extensive knowledge of the surrounding countryside. If you want to do nothing but relax, there is a lovely large heated swimming pool set amidst beautifully manicured lawns and gardens.

All too soon we had to bid farewell to our new friends, for that is what Terry and Marcello had become and with heavy hearts Antoinette and I drove away to our next destination. Without doubt this had been the highlight of our holiday and if we should be lucky enough to return to Tuscany one day we would not choose to stay anywhere other than at this little piece of paradise. Our only regret was that we had not planned to stay longer.

Kingsley and Antoinette. Cape Town. South Africa.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank King041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
7.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.8 mi away
Residence Le Santucce
Residence Le Santucce
#5 of 34 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Property: Casa Portagioia
Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing