We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best experiences ever....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Provincetown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences ever....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Casa Portagioia is one of the best experiences ever.
Our hosts, Terry and Marchello, are warm and wonderful. They recommended great restaurants, arranged tours and travel and made us all feel welcome.
The rooms are beautiful.
We will absolutely return !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
704
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Terry and Marcello have created an extraordinary B&B, and have welcomed us into their home with great warmth and hospitality. We've had the good fortune of traveling extensively, and have stayed at a number of five-star accommodations. I must say that Casa Portagioia is the best I've experienced. Why? Our apartment is spotless and beautifully appointed; our hosts are ready to assist us with every aspect of our trip (and the five course meal they made us this week was the best we've had on this whole journey, we've all agreed); the setting is breathtakingly beautiful (just this morning I watched grapes being harvested on the adjoining property, and now I'm sitting beside a field of lavender, typing this review!); and the environment is so beautiful and welcoming that three of us have opted to stay on the property to spend the day today, rather than tour a nearby city. It's our final day here and we don't want to leave! Need I say more? Thank you so much, Terry and Marcello!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the apartments, which were ample in space. Full kitchen. Comfortable living ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TKCromwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

OK. We are partial to B & B's but some are just a cut above the others...in this case, a huge cut. Casa Portagioia is a fabulous secluded spot in between Cortona and Arezzo. Beautifully restored, nothing at this first class spot is left to chance. Marcello and Terry are the ultimate hosts and bend over backwards to accommodate all your wishes. Breakfasts are a feast for the eyes. No one makes scrambled eggs quite like Marcello...the full monte. From recommending and arranging restaurants reservations to their amusing hand drawn maps, you could not be better taken care of. Oh my and don't miss one of Marcello's dinners. One of our best meals in Italy. We love you guys! Arrivederci!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Although we were unable to stay at this amazingly beautiful place as I left it too late.. we did drop in to meet Terry and Marcello just to say hello and see their place. Their hospitality was wonderful , while Marcello made us capaccino , Terry provided great information and guidance which inlcuded a reservation to do some wine tasting in Altesino and visits to other places we never would have seen. They both truly made our visit to Tuscany so much more with their knowledge of where to visit and what to experience. I cannot say enough about their willingness to assist us when unfortunately we were unable to be their guests. Without question our next visit toTuscany this warm inviting place will be in our travel plans.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank htaylorbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Within 5 mins of arriving at Casa Portagioia I was making plans to come back. We booked for 6 nights but ended up staying 7 nights due to car problems. Terry and Marcello definitely have the right combination here, from the immaculate rooms, stunning gardens and delicious breakfast each morning, they create an atmosphere that makes it feel like you have arrived to stay with old friends.They are what make Casa so special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lidia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Casta portagioia is an amazingly beautiful, relaxed haven nestled in the Tuscan sunshine, that envelops you into the warmth, humour and attention to detail that is Terry and Marcello. Our hosts knowledge and guidance in exploring the region, where to eat and where to purchase was second to none. An outstanding experience that shouldn't be missed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Vivienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I can't begin to describe how wonderful this "home" is and the hosts Terry and Marcello absolutely make it- their warmth and humor and expertise about the area Meant that every detail was lovingly catered for.
Start w Marcellos warm welcome as we arrived with a tour of the property and our rooms. As soon as we arrived we didn't want to leave - this place is beautiful, unique and so peaceful.
The gardens are immaculate and the rooms well appointed.
Every morning a beautiful breakfast is lain out with local fresh fruit, yoghurts, croissants/ bread. Coffee made fresh by Marcello or Terry. Then Marcello will make you eggs and fresh ham and tomatoes.
Twice a week Marcello makes a special dinner -no detail spared, a beautiful individualized card w the menu and a little quote is on each table. Candles adorn the room and opera and classical music play as beautiful food is brought to you.
Marcello writes marvelous maps for your day trips and both Terry and Marcello offers details for where to visit and history of the area you are visiting. Terry tells funny stories and made us laugh though his humor is quite dark.
Every restaurant and every recommendation was fantastic, without exaggeration.
Highly recommend a lunch and wine tour with Avignonese- that followed by a gelato at luciagnano - snoopy gelateria ( not that you will need more food but because it's amazing) was a day to be long remembered.
Did I mention the olive oil here is the best I have tasted, so smooth and made here at Casa Portagioia? Their first wine vintage is available now too and very nice, there is also available a large selection of wines for purchase.
On our last day, we had car problems - Terry and Marcello liased with the car company and Local Mercedes shop and had our car towed, hopefully to be repaired and fortunately they had a room for us to stay another night. ( actually none of us wanted to leave). We were thankful they were able to arrange this for us and host us again.
Thank you both for a wonderful, wonderful stay. We will be back.
We stayed as a couple and two friends traveling together but with separate rooms and we all found this accomodation ideal.
Words can't express how wonderful Casa Portagioia and Marcello and Terry are. We also met some lovely people from around the world while we were here.

Room Tip: Best rooms are Castelli and Venerzi All rooms have good hot water and are well appointed. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FoodieGTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
7.4 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.8 mi away
Residence Le Santucce
Residence Le Santucce
#3 of 34 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Property: Casa Portagioia
Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing