We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveler rating
1,145
3
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,145
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terry and marcello other guests attention to detail perfect hosts our honeymoon every morning sense of humour dinner reservations old friends fresh fruit each guest cypress trees course dinner every aspect vineyards and olive groves places to visit ham
Filter
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Relaxing stay in a beautiful location

Truly outstanding hosts. Beautiful rooms. Peaceful countryside. Delicious breakfast.

Following our time in Rome, we spent two nights here before heading on to Florence. This was a great place to just relax in the middle of our trip. What makes this place unique (and the real reason to stay here) are the hosts, Marcello and Terry, who go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and fun. It was always a pleasure interacting with them.

We did two small trips from here. The first was to the nearby town of Castiglion Fiorentino just for dinner one night. It's the closest place for a really good meal, and it was about a 10-minute drive. The second evening we drove to Cortona, about 25 minutes away to explore and have dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed it. So, for meals, you'll probably be driving every evening. A GPS and a good map are highly recommended. (If you don't have a map, Marcello will happily draw one for you.)

We will certainly stay here again the next time we're in Tuscany.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A secluded but wonderfully located spot whether looking for a romantic holiday, sightseeing Tuscany or just staying put by the magnificent pool reading or looking at the view of the valley. Beautifully renovated and attention to detail a given, this has to be the best place to stay whatever ones purse! Both Terry and Marcello are excellent hosts and are more than helpful is sorting out any 'touristy' requests or bookings for restaurants and museums. A very definite recommendation and look forward to returning one day!

Room tip: We stayed in the ground floor self catering, Andreocci apartment which was great. Plenty of space and with a fully equipped kitchen. All the B & B rooms looked very special as well.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PipsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Excellent.......well....excellent everything. Very nice hosts too - who enjoy taking a little time with you & do their utmost to help you enjoy your stay & advise about the region. Be sure to stay one of the days when they're making dinner as thats a special treat.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gaffney99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our stay at Casa Portagioia was absolutely amazing! Terry and Marcello are wonderful hosts who treated us like family. We are 2 couples travelling from Los Angeles to celebrate out 50th birthdays. The daily breakfasts, cappuccinos and five star dinner that Marcello prepared were delicious. Terry was so helpful with his itinerary and restaurant suggestions, and entertained us with his wonderful British humor! He never steered us wrong!The accommodations surpassed our expectations. Our rooms were so charming, Tuscan-like with incredible views of the surrounding valley. We will not hesitate to recommend Casa Portagioia to all our friends and family. Our only regret is that we did not stay long enough!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaralynO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We last stayed at Marcello and Terry's magical home two years ago and found our return visit to be just as memorable as the first. The grounds, gardens and vineyards are mature and were in excellent shape in spite of the drought in Tuscany this summer. We enjoyed meeting the other guests over dinner at the B&B and breakfast continues to be the highlight of our stay.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LocandadellArtista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews