We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again and Again-The Best”
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Repeat reviews should be offered when there is something to be said important, so here goes. Casa Portagioia is consistently the best bed and breakfast property in Europe. It has a wonderful location, great facilities, and the most caring, attentive, and gracious hosts. Location-situated in the rolling Val di Chio surrounded by vines redolent of fruit ready for picking, olives, and fruit trees, the Casa Portagioia, set in south central Tuscany, is a perfect home base. By car one can easily reach Sienna, Florence, Arezzo, Cortona, Gubbio, Orvieto, Assisi, and Perugia for sightseeing day trips. If wine tasting is your thing, the B and B is an excellent hub to visit the wine country of Chianti Classico, Montepulciano and Montalcino. The train station at Castiglone Fiorentino, the local town, is 5 km away and provides an easy way to get to Arezzo, 10 minutes away, or Florence 1 hour away. If chilling out is your thing, the Val permits wonderful walks; the pool and deck are great for relaxing . Amenities- the 6 rooms and 2 apartments resemble those of a 5 star hotel, with great beds, Frette linens, new cutting edge TV, wifi, and wonderful amount of space for full unpacking. Breakfast is bountiful and taken on a patio overlooking the Tuscan countryside. The small size of the B and B encourages interaction with the other guests fostered by the friendliness of the hosts Terry and Marcello. This was our third year in a row but we sat next to Nigel and Christine who had been 9 times in a row and a couple from Luxembourg 4 years with two Honeymooners as well. What sets this property apart from other nicely sited and appointed places are the hosts. Marcello is lovingly attentive. He cooks the breakfast, the 5 course full dinner served twice a week, and even a light lunch on request. In addition he makes each guest feel ethy re special to him. Terry is a wiz with suggestions, directions and arcane aspects of the GPS. His wry wit and humor enlivens the day. When a guest was ill, our hosts organized medical care, drove the guest to the hospital and stayed with him until treated-amazing. I was asked, “What do you see in this place that brings you back each year”, by a newly arrived guest. The answer-guests have the time of their life while at Casa Portagioia

Room Tip: they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MDrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Relaxing stay in a beautiful location

Truly outstanding hosts. Beautiful rooms. Peaceful countryside. Delicious breakfast.

Following our time in Rome, we spent two nights here before heading on to Florence. This was a great place to just relax in the middle of our trip. What makes this place unique (and the real reason to stay here) are the hosts, Marcello and Terry, who go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and fun. It was always a pleasure interacting with them.

We did two small trips from here. The first was to the nearby town of Castiglion Fiorentino just for dinner one night. It's the closest place for a really good meal, and it was about a 10-minute drive. The second evening we drove to Cortona, about 25 minutes away to explore and have dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed it. So, for meals, you'll probably be driving every evening. A GPS and a good map are highly recommended. (If you don't have a map, Marcello will happily draw one for you.)

We will certainly stay here again the next time we're in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A secluded but wonderfully located spot whether looking for a romantic holiday, sightseeing Tuscany or just staying put by the magnificent pool reading or looking at the view of the valley. Beautifully renovated and attention to detail a given, this has to be the best place to stay whatever ones purse! Both Terry and Marcello are excellent hosts and are more than helpful is sorting out any 'touristy' requests or bookings for restaurants and museums. A very definite recommendation and look forward to returning one day!

Room Tip: We stayed in the ground floor self catering, Andreocci apartment which was great. Plenty of space an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PipsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Excellent.......well....excellent everything. Very nice hosts too - who enjoy taking a little time with you & do their utmost to help you enjoy your stay & advise about the region. Be sure to stay one of the days when they're making dinner as thats a special treat.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gaffney99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our stay at Casa Portagioia was absolutely amazing! Terry and Marcello are wonderful hosts who treated us like family. We are 2 couples travelling from Los Angeles to celebrate out 50th birthdays. The daily breakfasts, cappuccinos and five star dinner that Marcello prepared were delicious. Terry was so helpful with his itinerary and restaurant suggestions, and entertained us with his wonderful British humor! He never steered us wrong!The accommodations surpassed our expectations. Our rooms were so charming, Tuscan-like with incredible views of the surrounding valley. We will not hesitate to recommend Casa Portagioia to all our friends and family. Our only regret is that we did not stay long enough!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaralynO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We last stayed at Marcello and Terry's magical home two years ago and found our return visit to be just as memorable as the first. The grounds, gardens and vineyards are mature and were in excellent shape in spite of the drought in Tuscany this summer. We enjoyed meeting the other guests over dinner at the B&B and breakfast continues to be the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BakerCristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Now, I could easily join the chorus of singing praises to the hospitality of Terry and Marcello, their wicked sense of humor, kindness, helpfulness and their rather suspiciously apt skills in gently pushing you towards spending your holiday in a way that is relaxing, adventurous (I'm still keeping an eye out for those vipers and wild boars) and entertaining at the same time. I could also tell you about the perfectness of the estate itself, all the small, carefully and lovingly constructed details that adds up to an experience so memorable that will undoubtedly cast a long shadow over any of my future holidays. But instead, I will only say this: if you don't fall in love with the place, at least a little, chances are that you are either dead, a snob beyond saving or just simply not a good person.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gabor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
7.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
761 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
820 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#4 of 65 in Perugia
728 reviews
20.1 mi away
Castello delle Serre
Castello delle Serre
#1 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
597 reviews
22.0 mi away
Al Giardino degli Etruschi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range: $184 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing