We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Portagioia - Tuscany Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Villa Schiatti(Castiglion Fiorentino)(Great Value!)
$116
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Park(Castiglion Fiorentino)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Planet(Arezzo)
$105
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Il Casale(Cortona)(Great Value!)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$888
$858
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais San Pietro in Polvano(Castiglion Fiorentino)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveler rating
1,082
3
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,082
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterry and marcellob bother guestsattention to detailperfect hostssense of humourour honeymooncourse dinnerevery morningdinner reservationsbeautiful groundsplaces to visitold friendsfresh fruitmaking reservationshamevery aspect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
913 - 918 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for a week during a month long Europe trip. Casa P was by far the winner of all the B&Bs we stayed during our month overseas. The owners are exceptionally hospitable and helpful. Their local knowledge was extensive (reservations, directions, tips, must see spots, food, wine). It is a picturesque Tuscan setting. Since the owners speak English, this is a great place for Americans. Our time there was memorable and we plan on going back the next time we are in Europe.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank okblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

Very well-appointed B&B (or self-catered apartments) situated between Cortona and Arezzo, adjacent to the charming and somewhat sleepy hilltop town of Castiglion Fiorentino.

The place is set out in a small valley filled with olive groves and vineyards, surrounded by lush hills...very quiet, beautiful and a bit removed. You could want for nothing during your stay here, Terry and Marcello have thought of everything. The accommodations have been extremely well considered, and the travel advice offered by Terry really added to our experience. Marcello cooks for the guests a couple of nights a week - not to be missed, we had a fabulous dinner of perfectly prepared regional dishes while we were there.

From this base, we were able to drive to various Tuscan towns (a lot of fun, really!), many of which are approximately an hour or less away by car. And you will need a car; there is a train station in Castiglion Fiorentino with trains heading toward Florence or Rome, but you would still need to drive to the station as it's a bit too far to walk. We rented a car from Avis in Arezzo (through AutoEurope, via the Casa Portagioia website) which was much easier for us than the Rome or Florence airports.

It is worthwhile to note that on Sundays or Mondays in areas like this...outside of the cities...stores, gas stations (though some are open as automated self-serve, i.e., you can still get gas) and restaurants tend to be closed or at reduced hours so you must plan accordingly...it really can be very quiet locally, especially on those days.

In any case, I cannot recommend Casa Portagioia highly enough, especially if you are looking for a peaceful Tuscan vacation away from the rampant tourism of the cities. It was like our home while we were there. I've stayed in many nice hotels in many places, but Casa Portagioia is really unique and special and represents a tremendous value for what is offered.

We miss Terry and Marcello already and have wonderful memories of our stay there. If you are at all considering this location to stay during your vacation, do it! It will easily be the highlight of your holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Wanderlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

In September 2006 our first visit to Tuscany and Casa Portagioia and within days we realised any other holiday from now on would be a very hard act to follow. Hence we were back in 2007 and 2008 can not come soon enough. The beautiful driveway lined with cypress trees that leads to the most amazing gardens with views to die for .Everything about Casa Portagioia has been designed with thoughtfulness and perfection.Terry and Marcello deserve all the glowing responses that I have read and this beautiful retreat is a credit to them both. Marcello the wonderful cook who puts Tuscany on a plate and inches on the waist explains the local cuisine, not to forget Terry whose dry witty humour has had us all in stiches with laughter his abundant knowledge of the wines and the area is amazing ,the both of them make every person feel special .So we are back in 2008 the early summer this time to see the Sunflowers in bloom, to sit in the gardens or maybe by the amazing pool and savour the local grape, or just to gaze at this breathtaking countryside. Patricia and Christopher North Yorkshire UK

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank CP_PPTheTykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We had a dream to stay in a converted Tuscan farmhouse and at Casa Portagioia that dream came true. Set in the rolling hills of beautiful Tuscany amidst vineyards and olive groves, close to Castiglion Fiorentino and only an hour or so south of Florence, this turned out to be a haven of peace and tranquility. From the warm friendly greetings we received from our hosts to the delicious breakfasts, to the beautifully restored rooms, this Tuscan farmhouse is perfect in every way. The bedrooms have been decorated with care and have every convenience you could wish for including crisp linen, fluffy towels and even a carafe of the local sweet wine, Vin Santo. What bliss. After the noise of the previous two weeks the silence was almost deafening. Casa Portagioia has been lovingly restored and a photo album in the reception area bore evidence of the work which had been carried out over a two year period.

Marcello and Terry proved to be the ideal hosts. They were friendly, helpful and informative but not intrusive making us feel more like special friends than guests. Marcello is a wonderful chef and we delighted in Terry's sense of humour. The sumptious breakfasts were delicious with freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, a large selection of cereals, freshly baked rolls and croissants followed by a cooked breakfast if desired all served in a most attractive dining room. Marcello provides a typical Tuscan evening meal two nights a week (usually Tuesday and Saturday) and if you can arrange to be there for that do so as it is good value and you will not be disappointed. A comprehensive cellar ensured that our meal was complemented by an excellent Tuscan wine. The dinner was one of the highlights of our stay.

Extremely well situated to many of the Tusan and Umbrian towns, villages and places of interest Terry and Marcello will advise and help you plan your day trips if so desired. Both of them have extensive knowledge of the surrounding countryside. If you want to do nothing but relax, there is a lovely large heated swimming pool set amidst beautifully manicured lawns and gardens.

All too soon we had to bid farewell to our new friends, for that is what Terry and Marcello had become and with heavy hearts Antoinette and I drove away to our next destination. Without doubt this had been the highlight of our holiday and if we should be lucky enough to return to Tuscany one day we would not choose to stay anywhere other than at this little piece of paradise. Our only regret was that we had not planned to stay longer.

Kingsley and Antoinette. Cape Town. South Africa.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank King041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We just spent 2 wonderful and relaxing days/nights at the Casa Portagioia in Tuscany. It is located in a classic Tuscan valley surrounded by vinyards and olive groves - about 6-7 miles off the main highway between Cortona and Arrezzo and about 25 minutes from the A1. It is a refurbished farm house redone with painstaking detail that just makes you feel at home. The rooms are spacious, bathroom large by European standards, the breakfast was in a beautiful dining area, and the hosts went out of their way to insure we felt like a guest in their home. They have dinners on Tuesdays and Saturdays - we did Tuesday - and it was well worth the price - food, atmosphere, etc. We were traveling to multiple places and our only regret was that we did not have more days here to unwind and absorb.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews