We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only regret, only 2 days”
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We just spent 2 wonderful and relaxing days/nights at the Casa Portagioia in Tuscany. It is located in a classic Tuscan valley surrounded by vinyards and olive groves - about 6-7 miles off the main highway between Cortona and Arrezzo and about 25 minutes from the A1. It is a refurbished farm house redone with painstaking detail that just makes you feel at home. The rooms are spacious, bathroom large by European standards, the breakfast was in a beautiful dining area, and the hosts went out of their way to insure we felt like a guest in their home. They have dinners on Tuesdays and Saturdays - we did Tuesday - and it was well worth the price - food, atmosphere, etc. We were traveling to multiple places and our only regret was that we did not have more days here to unwind and absorb.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2007

This was our first time in Tuscany and we booked the Casa Portagioia sight unseen. We really liked what we saw on their website and took a chance. We are so glad we did! Terry and Marcello are definitley gracious hosts, unpretentious and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are spacious and well kept, and the service is above and beyond. Breakfast and even dinner is homemade with the freshest local ingredients, and the hosts will offer great options for how to spend your days in the surrounding hills. We are certainly glad to have found our perfect Tuscan getaway on first try! We'll be back and hopefully bring more friends with us next time... --Joe & Jason, NYC.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank trippingoutnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

Casa Portagioia--where to begin?

Our magical week began when we drove up the long tree-lined drive to the beautifully restored Inn, and we breathed a sigh of relief. We were graciously met by Marcello who showed us around and ushered us into our beautiful room (with a complimentary carafe of wonderful brandy) and made us feel so welcome. My husband and I had just driven
from Florence via the scenic route through rain and a hail storm and we were ready to drink in the beautiful setting and relax.

The room was decorated simply and beautifully and each day we eagerly
awoke to the sounds of country life (or not, depending upon whether we chose to close the shutters). They even had soft water to shower with-what a luxury! At that time of year, on a few occasions, we were
fortunate enough to be able to have our breakfast outside on the patio overlooking the gorgeous gardens and catered to by the amazing and amusing Terry and Marcello. They freely provided an abundance of good suggestions to us as to what the area had to offer and we ventured forth every day to a new and exciting Tuscan experience, with restaurant recommendations in hand. Marcello is a wonderful cook
and we very much enjoyed his lovingly prepared meals on the only two separate occasions that are offered during the week. It turned out these were among the best meals we had during our entire 3 week stay in Italy!

It was indeed the highlight of our honeymoon and we could not have chosen a better location to explore this beautiful section of Italy.

I would love to have booked our stay directly through their web site,
but in doing a Google search, the results gave me no clue as to where
to start. You need to select the second Google choice for "Tuscan Breaks" and begin there for the experience of a lifetime. Thank you Marcello and Terry, missing you both - already!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ItalianHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

After reading a number of reviews from this site and others about Casa Portagioia, I decided to take the plunge! I WAS NOT LET DOWN! ......I'm not even sure where to start.....

We used this place as our base for day trips out into Tuscany, and it was fantastic!

The guys, Terry and Marcello were an absolute hoot!

For a couple of Oz travellers who were in desperate need of some good humour and a secure comfortable place to stay - this was a dream come true!

Our rooms were fastidiously cleaned and prepared for our stay. Home away from home! Actually, much better than my home. the beds were so comfortable (and the decor was Tuscan - even though I’m not a fan of the "country thing") The rooms could be made dark with the shutters/curtains to keep out the sunlight in the morning, or you could wake up with it pouring in the room and hearing the birds and animals start to become alive.......... so serene!

Breakfast! Oh my god. Prepare to be entertained. The guys take absolute pride in making sure you've had enough, and the conversation over breakfast is great. They can provide suggestions for you during the day, suggest places to visit and keep you laughing with their shared stories!!

I was looking for somewhere in (conservative) Italy to stay with my partner, but just before we were about to leave - our relationship broke down so I had to change my booking at the last minute. The guys were more than accommodating! I ended up travelling with a female friend so we changed our room to a twin share (instead of the original double I had booked). No problems. I felt looked after the whole time.

Here are some suggestions for other travellers.....

1) email the guys - both Terry and Marcello are more than willing to share advice and provide suggestions before you get there and during.
2) use their suggestions! They pre booked our Museum tours for us in Florence etc and we jumped queues everywhere because we had tickets waiting for us when we arrived.
3) hire a car to get around. The driving in the country side isn't difficult - even for Aussies used to driving on the other side! Terry and Marcello can give you directions to almost anywhere, but do add on a little extra time to your travel time (they advised us that it would only take about 1/2 hour to somewhere but it took us 45 minutes or more ........probably because we were so distracted by how beautiful the scenery was around us.
4) eat at the venues that Terry and Marcello recommend. When we had our bookings made by them, the restaurant owners treated us like Family!! It was very special. I loved it!
5) Learn a couple of phrases in Italian, the locals will absolutely love you for it.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank J79guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

This was our fourth visit to Casa Portagioia and will not be our last! We love the place....it just gets better and better. Terry & Marcello are like old friends now! Everything about this establishment is top quality and nothing is too much trouble for the charming and amusing hosts.

What could be better than enjoying a delicious breakfast on the beautiful terrace before making your way to the pool area to spend the morning peacefully reading a book or taking a dip in the crystal clear pool.

If you do choose to venture away from the peace and tranquillity of Casa P there's plenty to see nearby, Cortona (a favourite), Sienna, Arrezo, Assisi. But make sure you're back in time if Marcello is cooking dinner - these informal evenings are not to be missed - the food is the best in Italy and it's a great time to chat with fellow guests in such delightful surroundings.

We returned to the UK, relaxed and refreshed.....until the next time.

Christine & Nigel
Ipswich, Suffolk, UK

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank The_Aviators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

My husband and myself spent 5 days at Casa Portagioia with my sister and her husband for whom this was a first trip to Italy. We were all completely charmed by the warm welcome, beautiful location and unfussy comfort. We cannot think of anything that would have improved our Stay. We enjoyed lovely fresh food at breakfast and delicious cooking for some meals. Terry and Marcello advised, with witty eloquence, on travel and local restaurants. None were a disappointment. Being truly English.we asked for tea in our rooms and were provided with the necessary equipment and fresh milk in the fridge. We really felt we were the most important guests.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank beppina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Our stay at Casa Portagioia came near the end of our 18 day Italy vacation during the height of wine harvest season. Unfortunately, we only booked two days at this gem on a hillside in a hidden valley near Castiglion Fiorentino and wished we had stayed much longer. Indeed, the facility was so pleasant in all aspects that we dispensed with the usual sightseeing planned on the itinerary and spent an entire day at the pool basking in the glorious sunshine overlooking vineyards, olive groves and distant Tuscan agriturismos interrupted only by the incredible lunch that Marcello whipped together. The pomodoro pasta and bean mixed salad we had was as good or better than anything served us at any of the restaurants during our trip and enhanced by the spectacular panoramic vistas which surrounded our outside flower laden dining terrace area. Breakfast was as good and varied as all reviewers have mentioned. Our room was well equipped and a delight with every detail well thought out and delivered. We too were subject to Terry's offbeat "dead heading" directives, but as other travelers have noted, the grounds were so well maintained, that our requested kabutzlike labor was completely unnecessary. Both of the restaurants recommended for dinner by Terry and Marcello in Castiglion Fiorentino and Arezzo were winners. We found our hands on hosts to be extremely warm, engaging, funny, accommodating and informative, but not at all intrusive. This is the perfect place to stay to chill for few days near the end of a hectic whirlwind Tuscan visit. We truly regretted having to leave.
MLM&JLM
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank mtogateddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
7.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
776 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
328 reviews
7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 23 in Cortona
834 reviews
0.8 mi away
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
#2 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
124 reviews
20.1 mi away
Castello delle Serre
Castello delle Serre
#1 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range: $223 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing