We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Le Santucce
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and Beautiful”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We travelled to Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany for our honeymoon. We enjoyed being in Le Santucce, a very relaxing place, with excellent views over Castiglion Fiorentino. Le Santucce is beautifully decorated, very pleasant.The room was comfortable, they have cooking implements, among other things. Nearby, there are shops and places to eat (with better prices than in large cities). It is possible to walk to the train station (10 min), which connects to cities such as Arezzo, Florence, Pisa, Rome, and many others. The hosts were very very kind - it made a difference in our trip. We loved being there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmassai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
30
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had heard about Residence Le Santucce in Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy through good friends of ours so we decided to try it out on our recent trip to Tuscany. The restored 13th century Benedictine convent was everything we had hoped it would be...and much more. First and foremost, the Tanganelli's (Alfeo and Miranda), our generous hosts, did everything possible to make our visit to their Residence, their town and their region of Tuscany an enjoyable one. Our apartment was spacious and clean. The beds very comfortable. There was even a small kitchenette equipped with everything you needed to make a meal. In addition, we had a large terrace overlooking the historic Chio and Valdichiana valley's. A spectacular view! Residence Le Santucce is 'ideally located'. The town of Castiglion Fiorention is well worth a visit and you are very close to the beautiful Tuscany towns of Arezzo, Cortona and Montepuliciano. Florence and Sienna are less than one hour away!

We highly recommend Residence Le Santuce. Definitely worth a stop whenever you are visiting Tuscany.

Jim and Ineke Begg
Brussels, Belgium
August 2012

Room Tip: The renovated Benedictine convent has been built in such a way that all the rooms have a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbbegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My father and I had a very pleasant one-night-stay here at a wonderfully restored, lovely situated former monastery in the center of Castiglion Fiorentino, a very beautiful small town (13.000 inhabitants) we visited in order to try the world famous Bistecca alla Fiorentina. Which we did: We wanted to taste the original Chianina beef meat, world's biggest cattle, which is grown in the region. We found a very good restaurant only 5 minutes from our accommodation. I would especially highlight the kindliness and service-orientation of the owner Family, Luca and Alfeo Fabianelli and their three children. They sent my lost shirt to germany and even paid the shipping!

Whenever you plan a trip to Arezzo region - stay at Residence Le Santucce!

P.S.: Roberto Benigni was born in Castiglion Fiorentino, by the way. :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micha_700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luisellatanganelli, Direttore at Residence Le Santucce, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our RESIDENCE LE SANTUCCE for your stay in Castiglion Fiorentino, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the rest of the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at RESIDENCE LE SANTUCCE.

Warmest regards,
Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our first time staying at this property. It is a beautifully renovated convent with breathtaking views of Tuscany. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff, Alfeo in particular, was friendly, attentive and helpful, even arranging a visit and transportation to a local winery for a tasting. Castiglion is a beautiful walled city that is quiet and peaceful. It is perfectly located with easy access to Cortona and Arezzo. There are good restaurants and Le Santucce is perfect for enjoying a glass of wine watching the sunset over Tuscany. I would recommend this property without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TedMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina,Sask
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Le Santucce is a amazing reconstruction of a bombed out convent by owners Alfeo, Miranda and family. The peaceful location is in a very safe, quiet town, within easy drives to Florence, Arezzo, Bologna etc. Our room (15)was beautifully appointed and HUGE, with a great view from the balcony. There are several very good restaurants within minutes walking distance, and we found it very comfortable to walk at all hours of the day. The breakfast was more than we needed, with fresh espresso or 'cafe american'. We would highly recommend a stay at his lovely hotel in this quaint town

Room Tip: We had room 15- large,brightly decorated and a great view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanRegina59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon for 7 of the 11 nights we stayed in Italy. We stayed in Rome in a nice hotel, but then moved on to Castiglion Fiorentino, where we stayed at Residence Le Santucce.

We stayed in one of the apartments which was large, open, clean, quiet and homely. We had a terrace area which we used whilst we were there (although we were out most of day touring).
The owners have done a spectacular job in restoring (more like rebuilding) the old building to what it is today. We felt at home with Alfeo helping out in any way possible. He gave us some good advice on where to go and what to see which was very useful.

Castiglion Fiorentino is a wonderful place and (thankfully) not mentioned in many guide books. This means that it very much a good place to be away from tourists, if you like it - we do and we enjoyed going into the butchers each morning to buy sandwiches and trying out the pastries at the each different cafe. The locals are very approachable and warming - just be polite with a "buongiorno"!

The apartment had a small kitchen but we hardly used it as we generally ate out every morning/evening as prices locally are very reasonable. It was also a pleasure to find that this property is located with the 'old town' which makes it so much more pleasurable as you feel you are more part of the community with butchers, cafes, shops, etc all within walking distance.

All in all, it was a wonderful property and town to be in and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We shall visit again...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beansnchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I loved Residence Le Santucce. The restoration was phenominal. Our apartment was clean, comfortable and the balcony, facing west, afforded us some beautiful sunsets. I loved the town as well, although, being American, I was not used to shops closing in the afternoon! My only regret? We should have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castiglion Fiorentino hotels
2.7 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
79 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Portagioia
Casa Portagioia
#1 of 13 in Castiglion Fiorentino
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Viziottavo
Bed & Breakfast Viziottavo
#4 of 13 in Castiglion Fiorentino
78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolci Colline
Dolci Colline
#2 of 31 in Castiglion Fiorentino
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Suite San Michele
B&B Suite San Michele
#6 of 31 in Castiglion Fiorentino
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Le Santucce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Santucce

Property: Residence Le Santucce
Address: Via Trieste 30, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the historic centre of the medieval hill town Castiglion Fiorentino which enjoys a rich cultural heritage celebrated especially in May/ early June when the town is taken over by medieval madness! Come and enjoy medieval games, food and all manner of medieval merriment which includes Castiglion Fiorentino’s very own palio (horse race) which is the culmination of an afternoon of pageantry. We are happy to arrange for guided visits to enable you to make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Le Santucce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Santucce Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing