We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Le Santucce
Nearby Hotels
Relais San Pietro in Polvano(Castiglion Fiorentino)
$160
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Schiatti(Castiglion Fiorentino)(Great Value!)
$105
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Planet(Arezzo)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Il Casale(Cortona)(Great Value!)
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Villa Baldelli(Cortona)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Park(Castiglion Fiorentino)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
94
13
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
13
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationsmall kitchenroom was largewalking distancegorgeous viewsgracious hostsconventcenturyarezzovalleyromeapartmentloftnunscharmtripsproprietor
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 112 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon for 7 of the 11 nights we stayed in Italy. We stayed in Rome in a nice hotel, but then moved on to Castiglion Fiorentino, where we stayed at Residence Le Santucce.

We stayed in one of the apartments which was large, open, clean, quiet and homely. We had a terrace area which we used whilst we were there (although we were out most of day touring).
The owners have done a spectacular job in restoring (more like rebuilding) the old building to what it is today. We felt at home with Alfeo helping out in any way possible. He gave us some good advice on where to go and what to see which was very useful.

Castiglion Fiorentino is a wonderful place and (thankfully) not mentioned in many guide books. This means that it very much a good place to be away from tourists, if you like it - we do and we enjoyed going into the butchers each morning to buy sandwiches and trying out the pastries at the each different cafe. The locals are very approachable and warming - just be polite with a "buongiorno"!

The apartment had a small kitchen but we hardly used it as we generally ate out every morning/evening as prices locally are very reasonable. It was also a pleasure to find that this property is located with the 'old town' which makes it so much more pleasurable as you feel you are more part of the community with butchers, cafes, shops, etc all within walking distance.

All in all, it was a wonderful property and town to be in and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We shall visit again...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beansnchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I loved Residence Le Santucce. The restoration was phenominal. Our apartment was clean, comfortable and the balcony, facing west, afforded us some beautiful sunsets. I loved the town as well, although, being American, I was not used to shops closing in the afternoon! My only regret? We should have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a no frills inn that manages to have clean n spacious rooms. The beds are very comfortable and it is wonderful to sit on their patio n relax with wine after touring. Even the breakfast was ample and good. The owners were present all the time too which someone previously said they never saw. As for the price, it is a bargain for the location n convenience to Arrezo and Cortona. It is located within walking distance of very good and inexpensive restaurants too. Their is also close by several small groceries too as we had a small kitchen and dining area too in our room. Save your money for the city hotels and stay here to tour while in Tuscany. The only drawback is that their is no daily towel or garbage pickup service. Otherwise, an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank suzeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stunning views, beautiful place, very clean, and very friendly. The rooms are spacious, equiped with everything, I was particularly fond of the furniture, my little girl loved it too.
Love the little village of Castiglion Fiorentino where I found, shopping, great little restaurants, and bars.
I will surely return to Santucce , very close to Arezzo, Perugia, Florence, Siena and Cortona.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank chefanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Residence Santucce is a lovingly restore convent. The building is imposing and from the main entrance has uninterrupted views over the Tuscan countryside. The rooms are quite large and brightly decorated to a high standard. Castiglione Fiorentino itself is like many other Tuscan walled towns but I found it had little to recommend it from a tourist’s point of view other than its location which was fairly central to the more tourist friendly towns of Siena, Cortona, San Gimignano, Montalcino, Montepulciano, Arrezo and Florence. The local restaurants were at best mediocre with the exception of the nearby Pizza house which served real pizza perfectly cooked and presented.

Several things let Residence Santucce down, most of which probably could have been rectified had there been someone on site to deal with the problems as and when they arose. We saw little of the much heralded Alfeo and only saw the lady owner when we can to pay our bill after our 10 day stay.

On several occasions we had difficulty parking our small Fiat car at the residence or in the nearby streets. The Residence Santucce boasts a car park which is in reality an access road with a small area outside the main entrance for three small cars. We were told that we were not allowed as visitors to park in the walled town as cars had to be registered with the local municipality and that it was also ‘strictly forbidden’ to park on any access roads in case of emergencies. Not only was it a problem to park but was also a problem to get the car out of the tiny parking space if you had found a space to park in the first place. We were blocked in on several occasions and the only solution was a long walk to the railway station to catch a train to our intended destination as we were unable to find the inconsiderate drivers that had blocked our exit or find the elusive ‘’owner’’ of Le Santucce.

The Residence Santucce claims to be accessible to the disabled but I would question this. The building is several hundred years old and a maze of corridors and steps and I would think that anyone with any form of walking difficulty would find the place difficult if not impossible to navigate. A lady had fallen down the stairs on the morning of our first day there and was being attended to by who I assume to be Sig Alfeo.

Our room/apartment had a door opening inward on to a step with the odd arrangement of the light switches being inaccessible behind an open door, there were steps up into the bedroom, into something the owner refers to as a breakfast nook and again into the kitchen. The stairs down to the bathroom were downright awkward requiring care to avoid smacking ones head on the steep staircase going up to the bedroom. The final step into the bathroom took you down to a rather slippery floor surface.

The small kitchen was good but there was no kettle for boiling water. In all establishments of this price range I have stayed in there has always been a welcome pack if it is just a bar of travel soap to wash with and a couple of tea bags but at Le Santucce there was nothing, No problem though because there was a small shop just round the corner where the basics could be purchased. Having got our milk, cheese etc on opening the fridge we found that it wasn’t even switched on – well it was plugged into the wall socket but switched off at the main fuse box! Little things like that do matter and should matter to those offering such accommodation.

Did I mention the mosquitos? The so call loft bedroom backed onto a main thoroughfare which has a sort of gully drainage system that not only whiffed a bit but was a breeding ground for mosquitos. Thank god for Biffa supermarket in nearby Arezzo who sold citronella candles which worked well provided you kept all the windows and shutters closed which in 32c of heat in rooms with no AC or fans made life pretty difficult and sleeping even more so. The mossies are clearly a problem judging by the insect splatter on the otherwise pristine walls!

We stayed for a total of ten days and saw nothing of ‘’the friendly family’’ that owned the place. There was the odd glimpse of Sig. Alfeo but that was about it. Our room was cleaned and bins were emptied just once during our stay which we felt was inadequate.


I am aware that most of the reviews on Le Santucce range from average to excellent. Sadly, my experience was anything but satisfactory. Maybe I was unlucky, maybe Sig Alfeo didn’t appreciate my ‘’Soir de Paris’’ or maybe I should have thrown myself down a staircase or two in hope of attracting attention but one thing is for certain, I won’t be rushing back!

TrenItalia offers an excellent and economic service to all major cities from Castiglione Fiorentino.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 at all costs!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinsonKktc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luisellatanganelli, General Manager at Residence Le Santucce, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

The review we received from this guest really surprised us.
The comments, fortunately, are in total disagreement with the majority of the reviews received so far.
This can only mean that the guest has written his review so biased against us.
It 's the first time we receive this type of treatment and we are really sorry for this.
Most of the things reported are not completely true.
Words and phrased like "so heralded owner", " The so call loft bedroom", "odd glimpse" and so on are almost offensive to us, given all the love and passion that has always put in our work.
References are made to events which could happen anywhere (the woman who falt down).

However, we console ourselves with 99% of good reviews, we take note of what is written in this review and continue to do what we do best: make our guests feel at home and always welcome at Le Santucce !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews