We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the heart of Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Le Santucce
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In the heart of Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stunning views, beautiful place, very clean, and very friendly. The rooms are spacious, equiped with everything, I was particularly fond of the furniture, my little girl loved it too.
Love the little village of Castiglion Fiorentino where I found, shopping, great little restaurants, and bars.
I will surely return to Santucce , very close to Arezzo, Perugia, Florence, Siena and Cortona.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank chefanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
29
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
KKTC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Residence Santucce is a lovingly restore convent. The building is imposing and from the main entrance has uninterrupted views over the Tuscan countryside. The rooms are quite large and brightly decorated to a high standard. Castiglione Fiorentino itself is like many other Tuscan walled towns but I found it had little to recommend it from a tourist’s point of view other than its location which was fairly central to the more tourist friendly towns of Siena, Cortona, San Gimignano, Montalcino, Montepulciano, Arrezo and Florence. The local restaurants were at best mediocre with the exception of the nearby Pizza house which served real pizza perfectly cooked and presented.

Several things let Residence Santucce down, most of which probably could have been rectified had there been someone on site to deal with the problems as and when they arose. We saw little of the much heralded Alfeo and only saw the lady owner when we can to pay our bill after our 10 day stay.

On several occasions we had difficulty parking our small Fiat car at the residence or in the nearby streets. The Residence Santucce boasts a car park which is in reality an access road with a small area outside the main entrance for three small cars. We were told that we were not allowed as visitors to park in the walled town as cars had to be registered with the local municipality and that it was also ‘strictly forbidden’ to park on any access roads in case of emergencies. Not only was it a problem to park but was also a problem to get the car out of the tiny parking space if you had found a space to park in the first place. We were blocked in on several occasions and the only solution was a long walk to the railway station to catch a train to our intended destination as we were unable to find the inconsiderate drivers that had blocked our exit or find the elusive ‘’owner’’ of Le Santucce.

The Residence Santucce claims to be accessible to the disabled but I would question this. The building is several hundred years old and a maze of corridors and steps and I would think that anyone with any form of walking difficulty would find the place difficult if not impossible to navigate. A lady had fallen down the stairs on the morning of our first day there and was being attended to by who I assume to be Sig Alfeo.

Our room/apartment had a door opening inward on to a step with the odd arrangement of the light switches being inaccessible behind an open door, there were steps up into the bedroom, into something the owner refers to as a breakfast nook and again into the kitchen. The stairs down to the bathroom were downright awkward requiring care to avoid smacking ones head on the steep staircase going up to the bedroom. The final step into the bathroom took you down to a rather slippery floor surface.

The small kitchen was good but there was no kettle for boiling water. In all establishments of this price range I have stayed in there has always been a welcome pack if it is just a bar of travel soap to wash with and a couple of tea bags but at Le Santucce there was nothing, No problem though because there was a small shop just round the corner where the basics could be purchased. Having got our milk, cheese etc on opening the fridge we found that it wasn’t even switched on – well it was plugged into the wall socket but switched off at the main fuse box! Little things like that do matter and should matter to those offering such accommodation.

Did I mention the mosquitos? The so call loft bedroom backed onto a main thoroughfare which has a sort of gully drainage system that not only whiffed a bit but was a breeding ground for mosquitos. Thank god for Biffa supermarket in nearby Arezzo who sold citronella candles which worked well provided you kept all the windows and shutters closed which in 32c of heat in rooms with no AC or fans made life pretty difficult and sleeping even more so. The mossies are clearly a problem judging by the insect splatter on the otherwise pristine walls!

We stayed for a total of ten days and saw nothing of ‘’the friendly family’’ that owned the place. There was the odd glimpse of Sig. Alfeo but that was about it. Our room was cleaned and bins were emptied just once during our stay which we felt was inadequate.


I am aware that most of the reviews on Le Santucce range from average to excellent. Sadly, my experience was anything but satisfactory. Maybe I was unlucky, maybe Sig Alfeo didn’t appreciate my ‘’Soir de Paris’’ or maybe I should have thrown myself down a staircase or two in hope of attracting attention but one thing is for certain, I won’t be rushing back!

TrenItalia offers an excellent and economic service to all major cities from Castiglione Fiorentino.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinsonKktc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luisellatanganelli, General Manager at Residence Le Santucce, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
The review we received from this guest really surprised us.
The comments, fortunately, are in total disagreement with the majority of the reviews received so far.
This can only mean that the guest has written his review so biased against us.
It 's the first time we receive this type of treatment and we are really sorry for this.
Most of the things reported are not completely true.
Words and phrased like "so heralded owner", " The so call loft bedroom", "odd glimpse" and so on are almost offensive to us, given all the love and passion that has always put in our work.
References are made to events which could happen anywhere (the woman who falt down).

However, we console ourselves with 99% of good reviews, we take note of what is written in this review and continue to do what we do best: make our guests feel at home and always welcome at Le Santucce !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is our 2nd year to visit Le Santucce (Little Saints) - a 13th C convent converted into 19 immaculately clean and artistically decorated apartments. In this residence located in a little hill-top town, you have a "back door" entrance into Medieval Tuscany, yet with all the amenities of home. A wonderfully caring family will make sure your stay is everything you want. Conveniently located near (3 min. car ride) the train station, we had easy train rides to Rome, Florence or Orvieto. Not having to worry about "big city" traffic - is a real plus. We used Le Santucce as our home base for day trips all around Tuscany and Umbria regions. We are looking forward to our 3rd year at Le Santucce where we will celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary. Le Santucce is truly a step back in history, but a step forward in convenience.

Room Tip: If your stay requires kitchen facilities, please include that in your request
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Mrs. Miranda and Mr. Alfeo Tanganelli have made a great cultural deed when they have rebuild an old ruins of the monastery. The nuns and the priests who have worked and prayed there carry on the prayers. We think that the places where spiritual people practiced in their bodies, souls and minds, carry on to be spiritual whatever happens later.

Le Santucce has gorgeous outside views and beautiful paintings indoors; there are well thought out details everywhere.
One is surrounded by beauty.
We were happy to live some days in a place where all was aimed to create beauty, to create a place where the necessity to choose between sensual gratification and peace of mind is not needed and can be abolished just due to its beauty.

We enjoyed tremendously kind hospitality (you see the connection to the spiritual!) of the whole family!
We certainly want to visit your place and Toscana another time, but it takes time, because we cannot bear to leave our cat (19 years), she did not feel well of our staying away!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EEVA I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Simply perfect! Warm atmosphere, tuscan style, very kind owner! What else ?!... Le Santucce was a very strategic point for our daily tours in other part of Tuscany (Siena, Cortona, San Gimignano, Montalcino, Montepulciano). From our terrace the sunset on the Valdichiana was wonderful... especially sitting and relaxing with a glass of red tuscan wine! Recommended !!

Room Tip: Apartment #7 was amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very clean facility. Family-owned. Quiet yet within walking distance to restaurants, shops, markets. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet corner of Tuscany to relax and enjoy the sights, sounds, smells and flavors of authentic Italy, you must stay at Residence Le Santucce. The facility is a beautifully restored convent with beautiful rooms overlooking the Valdichiana and the Tuscan farm lands of the valley. Your hosts the Tanganelli Family, you will find to be warm, caring individuals who will put the added touches on making your stay memorable. Walking the streets around Le Santucce is a step back in time to the 13-14th centuries, with cobblestone streets, church bells, beautiful vistas, and fantastic local restaurants. Conveniently located near Cortona and Arezzo, but without the hustle and bustle of those cities, and without all the tourists! A gem of a facility, and wonderfully run by a great family

Room Tip: All good rooms, and can accommodate singles to families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glaucomadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castiglion Fiorentino hotels
2.7 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.5 mi away
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
#2 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa Portagioia
Casa Portagioia
#1 of 12 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Viziottavo
Bed & Breakfast Viziottavo
#4 of 12 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Suite San Michele
B&B Suite San Michele
#6 of 34 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Le Santucce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Santucce

Property: Residence Le Santucce
Address: Via Trieste 30, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the historic centre of the medieval hill town Castiglion Fiorentino which enjoys a rich cultural heritage celebrated especially in May/ early June when the town is taken over by medieval madness! Come and enjoy medieval games, food and all manner of medieval merriment which includes Castiglion Fiorentino’s very own palio (horse race) which is the culmination of an afternoon of pageantry. We are happy to arrange for guided visits to enable you to make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Residence Le Santucce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Santucce Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing