We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise”
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We have just come back from our trip to Tasmania and the highlight would have to have been our stay at the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages in Branxholm. The cottages are absolutely beautiful and no detail has been forgotten. They have state of the art appliances, are very spacious and have a lovely country, homely feel to them. The fantastic outdoor spa was wonderful at the end of a long day doing some of the walks around the property. We spent two nights here using it as a base to explore as far as St Helens but we wish we had of stayed longer as there is so much to do and see. Graeme and Christine should be commended on their fantastic work both assisting with local conservation and capturing the Chinese history of the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on their beautiful property in this poorly marketed region of Tasmania and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaibry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
110
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We were not sure what to expect when we booked this place, but began to get excited when we drove up the driveway along the river/creek. Graham & Christine are wonderful hosts, so accomodating and welcoming. We had arrived late and because we had only booked for 1 night, we wanted to stay and eat in to make the most of the beautiful, peaceful surroundings. But we hadn't been organised enough to buy food for the bbq, so Graham & Christine gave us some steaks, homemade coleslaw & let us take whatever we liked from their abundant vegetable garden. We stayed in the Fon Hock Studio cottage with outdoor spa. The cottage has a real warmth to it, it was really lovely and so well kitted out! I've never been to a B&B that also provided basic cooking ingredients such as pasta, rice, flour etc before (it was great!). The breakfast hamper was lovely too. Our favourite part of the stay was taking a bath in the outdoor spa. It had automatic heating so the water continued to stay warm so you could stay as long as you like (even to star gaze at night if you wanted to). It was private, but at the same time, we could see the farm animals (alpacas, geese etc) and landscape, so it was brilliant! One night was definitely not long enough for us. It's a great place to unwind and relax and enjoy nature. There are walks and apparently a platypus that lives down by the river, but we didn't get a chance to go down and take a look. We did manage to do the easy 20min Henry Ah-Ping walk by the settlers hut and saw the massive eagles nest. I must say, Graham and Christine have put so much heart into capturing the history of the area, their efforts are truly amazing. This was apparent in the Settlers Hut and along the walk and also from talking to them. Graham has so much knowledge of the history of the area and he will happily answer any questions. We would love to come back and spend a few consecutive days here. We highly recommend it to couples or families who want a relaxing, peaceful break in beautiful surroundings (the kids will love the animals!).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTandMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana (and New South Wales)
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We unexpectedly came across this accommodation in a flyer we found at a local cafe. It sounded lovely so we thought we'd check it out. It was the weekend and we weren't sure if there would be any availabilities, but we took the turnoff in Branxholm (very easy to find by the way) and came up to a sign that said "reception." Cristine, one of the owners greeted us and informed us that there were availabilities that night. We decided to stay for two nights, seeing as how that would make our accommdation cheaper. She took us round the reception area and pointed out the cottages, right away we were sold. Graham, her hubby, came down the hill to take us inside the cottage we were to call home, just to make sure we really wanted to stay (and stay we did!!). We pulled up to Chintock, came around the side of the house, saw the spa and the barbie and we knew we'd found our place. Graham opened the door and we were greeted by a lovely kitchen, plush leather sofa, a large bathroom, and an inviting bed. We had gas burner oven, flat screen TV w/satellite/DVD/CD, a gas fireplace...all the comforts of home without the clean up. Graham and Cristine were more than accommodating, and their lovely son James was eager to show us his chooks (make sure to have a look, for a 6 year-old, James has a great way with all those chooks). We had everything we needed including full breakfast (fresh eggs from James' chooks), fresh-cut flowers, a selection of DVDs and CDs, and assurance from Graham that we would have all the privacy we desired. We couldn't have found a better place to stay or people to greet us when we got there. We felt right at home, and we could've stayed for a week or longer. Our late-night spas we warm and relaxing with only the stars, moon, and an occasional alpaca or wallaby around us. It was absolutely perfect, and if we find ourselves in Tasmania again, we know who we'll be visiting. The Chinese tin mining history is also very interesting and unique and the proprietors have done a lovely job of setting up displays, information, and walks along the three mines that used to be in function. Rarely do you find such a spot where the owners have really put themselves in the shoes of the guest and provided them all they could want or desire...and on top of that they welcome suggestions for improvement and are always looking to be at the top of their game in for hospitality industry. Please have a stay at the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages sometime soon - you will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravelerMSDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

The facilties at our cottage were all anyone could need + the BBQ right outside on the patio. Beds were very comfortable, the little bag of individual toiletries were a lovely touch as well as the fresh flowers. The huge power shower was fab - though no bath. The provisions with fresh eggs from the host's chickens were delicious. Graham and Christine were very welcoming, helpfully pointing out where to go/what to visit.
Even offering us the opportunity of raiding their garden for fresh vegetables for our evening meals.
Finally I must mention the Alpacas which were in the field opposite the cottages - it was fun feeding them Graham thanks we loved it all. Sorry for accidently packing your sauces from the fridge. Wendy & Phil Healy St. Albans Herts UK

Stayed February 2010
Helpful?
Thank StAlbansWendyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

I have just returned from a fantatic trip around the East Coast of Tasmania with my husband and two little boys (3 & 4). We decided to spend 3 nights inland to view the countryside and relax a little (if you can with two little boys).

Our cottage was by far the best accommodation on our whole trip. Very comfortable with a kitchen full of goodies, including fresh eggs (I know they are fresh because the boys collected them), sausages, bacon - even the ingredients to make pancakes!

We will definitely come again on our next trip! Thanks to Graham, Christine and James for your hospitality.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tasman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

There are a number of very positive reviews of the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages and this will be no exception. From arriving and being welcomed by Rusty (the friendly farm dog) and then by Graham, Christine & James, the most friendly hospitable hosts we have had the pleasure to meet.

Our stay was made so welcome. Our cottage - AH MOY, was a two bedroom and like all the cottages built by Graham was built to a high standard with fantastic attention to detail. There was nothing we needed or were short of. I slept like a baby, not sure if this was due to the quality of the beds or the Alpaca wool filled doonas. We also loved the bacon, sausage and fresh eggs supplied. Christine has also gone to so much trouble to document the history of the property, chronicling the history of the Chinese Migrants who worked the land for the tin in years gone by. We only managed one of the trails and that was fantastic, still it will give us an excuse to return.

Do yourselves a favour, track down their website and make a booking before we beat you to it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanMelb0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here. The cottages were well apointed with everything you need and the setting was fantastic. Graham and Christine are lovely hosts and will make your stay a memorable one in a beautifial part of Tassie. We will come back, Steve, Audrey and baby Dylan

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a-s-d-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branxholm
4.1 mi away
St. Paul's Bed and Breakfast
9.1 mi away
Weldborough Hotel
Weldborough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weldborough
79 reviews
11.8 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#2 of 5 in Scottsdale
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Property: Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages Branxholm, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing