We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was our second trip to North east Tasmania and Tin Dragon Cottages. The cottages are tastefully decorated, well provisioned and the setting is beautiful with the Ringarooma river curling around the property which is surrounded by forest. It has its own hydro power and free range eggs and garden greens. These were all made available by our helpful and generous hosts: Graham, Christine and James.
We saw plenty of wildlife including platypus, wombats, wallabies, snakes and the freshwater lobster!
We also found there was plenty to do in the region with great walks at the Blue Tiers, the Historic walk at the property, the Lavender farm, waterfalls and there was even fossicking at the Weld River where we found zircons and sapphires.
We would recommend it to anyone as an eco friendly place to get away from it all. It was great.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three of the cottages and they are all lovely
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 181 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Comfortable well provisioned Cottages in a peaceful & quiet setting set on the banks of the picturesque Ringarooma River. The property has a rich & diverse habitat with much to explore /discover - Tin Mining History, wildflowers, native orchids, echidnas, platypus, wallabies , micro bats & birds. We counted over 30 species of birds during our four night stay . An ideal location from which to explore the region - Ralphs Falls & Myrtle Forrest, St Columba Falls, Pyengana Cheese Factory , Blue Tier, Welborough Myrtle giants, Derby -Tin Mining history , beautiful beaches at Mt William National & Bridport just to name a few. Our affable hosts Graham & Christine were terrific & made our stay one of the best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAF352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

An excellent jumping-off point for drives and walks around Tasmania's north-east, these cottages are well and thoughtfully equipped and situated on a bend of the Ringarooma River, where we saw a platypus just two minutes from our door. There are alpacas, chickens (we were provided with eggs and told we could collect more) and extensive vegetable gardens on the home farm. Interesting short walks into tin-mining history start on the property. Friendly hosts and very comfortable and well-priced accommodation. We've booked US family in there in January.

Room Tip: These cottages are all good, but next time we'll try the one with the outdoor bath.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stootrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

An unplanned stop, but we were so glad we did stop and we stayed here! It was so good we then extended our stay! Love, love, loved this place, so peaceful - we enjoyed the nearby walks, waterfalls, meandering rivers, cheesery, the chooks (and eggs), alpacas, and a perfect stop over to/from Mt William NP. Just a perfect place. The hosts were amazing. So much to do in this area, and the accommodation was spot on... We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE_Tassie, Owner at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Our reviewers keep us on our toes and heart-felt comments like those expressed here let us know we are on track. We love this region of Tassie so much, we decided to establish a tourism business. Branxholm doesn't register as a tourism "icon". But, do come and stay with us and explore the region. You'll be pleased you did!

Thanks guys--hope to see you here again.

Graham and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Tin Dragon Cottages at Branxholm is a hidden gem! It is missed by the folk that stick to ‘icon’ tourism. That’s their loss because it’s really rewarding to get out there and discover the real Tasmania. Hosts Graham and Christine strongly support the intriguing Tin Dragon Trail of Chinese heritage with walks and interpretation (on their property & adjacent) that take you back to the 1880s when there were10 Chinese tin miners at Branxholm for every European. Alpacas, chooks, an invitation to pick fresh veges from the garden, a mini-hydro scheme, generous breakfast provisions are among the fringe benefits. But it is really the peace and the ambience of this beautiful place beside the Ringarooma River that makes 3 nights not long enough of a stay! There is no better accommodation between Launceston and the East Coast, and that is an under-rated arc of Tasmania.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jon_c662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My mate and I went Quad bike riding around the Weldborough area and decided to stay at Tin Dragon cottages. It was a wonderful place and perfect to get a good warm nights rest. Upon arrival we were greater by the hosts Christine and Graham and were shown around the cottage and general area of the farm. The cottage we stayed in had 2 double bed rooms, large living area, well stocked kitchen and large bathroom. Gas heating kept the place nice and warm with electric heater when sleeping. Although we never got to explore much around the cottages due to riding every day, I noticed there was a beautiful river and walking trails very close by which would be great to explore. We will definitely be staying there again on next years ride up there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggusstickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently spent three nights enjoying both the wonderful Tin Dragon Trail Cottages and also the great local hospitality on offer in the North East of Tasmania. Plenty to see: Pyengana cheese, pub in the paddock, Tin dragon Trail visitor center, St Columba Falls, the beaches of Bridport and wineries beyond. Wonderful accommodation in an idyllic location and well appointed. Highly recommend that anyone looking for for a relaxing escape anywhere in Tasmania gives the Tin Dragon Trail cottages a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range: $120 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages Branxholm, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing