We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquillity, Comfort and History”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2012

If you want the peace and beauty of the Australian bush, very well appointed accommodation, genial and generous hosts and a well researched connection to the fascinating heritage of the Chinese tin miners of North East Tasmania then Tin Dragon Trail Cottages is the place for you.

My partner and I stayed in Chin Tock Cottage for two nights at the end of April and found it the most relaxing and enjoyable experience. Christine and Graham told great stories about the history of the original Chinese mining leases on their land as they introduced us to the simple but fully appointed cottage.

Fresh farm eggs complemented the ample breakfast supplies and a wallow in the outdoor spa followed by a glass or two of port provided a mellow end to a day walking the well marked bush tracks.

We loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages for 2 nights 24th & 25th April. A fantastic place to stay, tucked away in a lovely part of Tasmania - a little piece of paradise. We stayed at Fon Hock Cottage - very well appointed. Even though it was a wee bit cool, we tried the outdoor spa and it didn't disappoint - magic! Fed the alpacas which roam in the paddocks. Thanks Graham, Christine and James for a fantastic stay. Will recommend to everyone we know.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matchooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just got back from 5 nights here! A great find...lots of pluses!
The area is tucked away, saw a platypus on our first evening. The cottage is gorgeous with a great outdoor spa (fantastic even if it s raining!)
Brekky supplies are good and a welcome decanter of port was a nice touch.
Graham was very helpful and informative.
The farm feel...alpacas, chooks etc really make this place a little slice of country heaven!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages. The cottages themselves are very comfortable with everything you could need in a family home catered for. Good quality appliances and fittings. Breakfast provisions thoughtful and generous together with usual beverages and snacks. The location is beautiful and ideal for families. So many lovely forest and river walks to do, alpacas to feed, native flora and fauna to see - and this is all on site. There are many places of interest and beauty to visit nearby too. The hosts very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We would love to have spent a few more days. Highly recommend!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages for 3 nights in February, and it was the best place by far we stayed in Tasmania. Everything was perfect, Christine and Graham have created a wonderful place, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed in Chintock Cottage, which had a fabulous outdoor spa, with wonderful views and the alpacas wandering close by, we could have stayed and stayed ! We even saw an Echidna on our little patio. Would just love to return here. Thank you Christine and Graham for creating such a wonderful place

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leasuretaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had chosen to spend three nights (wish we had spent longer) at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages during our two week tour around Tasmania. Information about the accommodation we found through "Trip Advisor". As we live in the "concrete jungle" of Hong Kong, we were looking for something calm, relaxing, and which would bring us back to nature. We have a three year-old daughter and thought it would be good idea to show her a bit of country-side, let her run without any worries in the fields, and see some animals in their natural environment.


As soon as we arrived we could see that we made 100% right decision. We were warmly welcomed by hosts Graham, Christine and young James. We were recommended to stay in Ah Ping cottage which had two separate bedrooms, very big living/dining room and the best-equipped kitchen we found during our two week tour around the island. Everything was very well thought-out by the owners of the cottages, and you could find everything you need for comfortable stay, including supplies for a nice breakfast. Very good value for money you pay.

We celebrated New Year there and made good use of the cottage's BBQ, which was very clean, good quality so we managed to prepare best lamb chops ever.

We spent three nights there. Our daughter still remembers this place and keeps asking when we are going again to feed chooks. When you stay there you feel like you are at home. All the cottages are build so that everyone has total privacy, peace and comfort. All of us are looking forward to returning there one day. Highly recommended to everyone, who is looking to spend romantic and peaceful time in the countryside away from all hustle and bustle of the rest of the world.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aukse2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

It's hard to add to the previous comments. The cottage (studio style) was large, beautifully furnished and well-stocked. The setting is delightful. We got up at 07h00 and walked down by the river - saw my first platypus in the wild and watched for about 10 minutes as it cruised around. Feeding the alpacas is great family fun - the look on our son's face when one spat a mouthful of food all over him was hilarious.
The hosts are passionate and committed. Their biggest challenge will be in maintaining their impressive ratings. whatever happens, this place deserves to succeed and I only hope the various councils and regional tourism bodies get their collective heads around the opportunity the tin dragon trail presents.
When I told some Launceston friends that we'd stayed in Branxholm they couldn't believe it - the town isn't much to look at. But even they are now curious about trying Tin Dragon Cottages.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range: $120 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages Branxholm, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing