We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have read her books or lived in Africa give this a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Karen Blixen Museum

The Karen Blixen Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.42*
and up
Copenhagen Card
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Rungsted
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic home, bird sanctuary, park, and museum all in one, located in the house of writer and Nobel Prize finalist Baroness Karen Blixen (in the US and UK, Isak Dinesen), known especially for "Out of Africa" and "Seven Gothic Tales". The museum not only maintains the 17th century house, Blixen's furnishings, and the park, but regularly hosts exhibitions related to Blixen's life and work in Kenya and Denmark. Recent exhibitions have included an exhibition "HER" by internationally acclaimed artist Candice Breitz about Meryl Streep's career.
UK
Level Contributor
220 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“If you have read her books or lived in Africa give this a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a well presented small museum showing examples of her work along with photos of her time in Africa. A short tour of the house is available and worth while to bring a context to her life. The cafe is worth a visit and we had lovely Sunday brunch which kept us going the rest ofthe day.
Buy a Copenhagen card and get the rail and entrance to the museum for free!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    67
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Pleased we went”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I am pleased we went as we enjoyed Karen Blixens book and film Out of Africa but didn't realise she had 'sold her soul to the devil' for the fame it brought. Still it seems to have worked, for someone who had limited literature published she is quite famous. There is short film of her speaking and the private areas were nice to see. There is a cafe serving hot and cold food with 'indifferent' staff. The grounds are extensive but the woodland looked poorly managed, apparently they are leaving it to attract birds! Her grave looked desolate an unhappy place in my opinion. There is a shop that sells her books and other gift items and where you pay your entrance fee.

Officially to get there go to track 9/10 in Copenhagen Central Station take the S train B,C or E to Hellurup which is the 6th stop switch to track 1 or 2 take the regional train to Helsingar and walk from there. But we went instead to Klanpenborg station and caught the 388 bus just outside the station which took 25 minutes along the coast road and gave us a lovely view of old houses and wonderful thatched roofs. The driver will let you know when you have reached Karen Blixen museum.


At Klampenborg there is also the popular Bellevue Beach, Jægersborg Deer Park, Bakken Amusement Park, and Klampenborg Horse Racing Course.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARARE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little bit of Africa in Copenhagen.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have lived in Africa all my life and have travelled quite extensively during the 15 years I owned and ran my own travel company.I have visited Copenhagen regularly and always try to see or do something new. This trip we visited the Karen Blixen Museum. We drove there and the drive was interesting - the suburbs we drove through were beautiful, great architecture and very neat.I was impressed with the attention to detail at the museum and the historical story covering her life in Copenhagen. One seems to concentrate on her life in Africa and learning about her family and seeing her home was worth the visit. The gardens are lovely too, especially as it was summer - August - so everything is green, blooming and the temperature wonderful.She was a remarkable woman and lived a remarkable life.
Everything she was remembered for is echoed in the house and her descriptions of the gardens and scenes around her. Definitely worth a visit, in summer or the winter!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NIKKI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

It is very easy to get here from Copenhagen. A short train ride and then a 15 minute walk. If you stay on the right side of the road going towards the sea, you will meet a small path, marked by birdhouses. The path leads through a beech forest, with labelled other trees including cherry and maple. You pass by Karen Blixen's grave- which is beneath a beautiful old beech tree. The path takes you to the house arriving from the property itself rather than the public face, which is rather interesting. The shop was very interesting and a small museum- not really much to see,a few artefacts and book collection. The house itself is an exquisite experience. The flower displays are fresh- and the rooms full of resonance. Her office was beautiful. Knowing Kenya and the work of Karen Blixen quite well, I imagined her travelling to this area, from Kenya and thinking about Kenya. I found myself wanting to go back in the winter for some reason. This was a highlight for me- of a week's visit to Denmark. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Probably a good thing to do on your own.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Gladystacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
418 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Historic, "Out of Africa" house -- but the gardens are the delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The house was claustrophobic, and lacked air -- we couldn't wait to get outside and tour the lovely gardens, stately trees -- and the innovative "bench tour" : every trail bench had a smart-phone-recognizable token that let you hear Karen Blixen's voice describing the view and grounds. Memorable!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Karen Blixen Museum also viewed

Humlebaek, Fredensborg Municipality
Hillerod, Hilleroed Municipality
 
Helsingoer, Helsingoer Municipality
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to The Karen Blixen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing