We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant for a break in the Isle of Wight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of NorthCourt Manor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shorwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
NorthCourt Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shorwell
Dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant for a break in the Isle of Wight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed here with friends for a long weekend break and it couldn't have been a better choice. The house and grounds are amazing and the position within Shorwell means it is short walk to the local pub for dinner.
John and Christine are great hosts, the rooms are very comfortable, spacious and are decorated to compliment the age of the manor. Finding a useable table tennis table in one of the rooms complete with large oil paintings hanging on the walls was particulary memorable for me.
Highly recommended .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We made a spur of the moment decision to visit the IOW and were lucky enough to find North Court had just one room available for the 3 nights we wanted. What a lovely surprise. Great location, charming hosts and superb gardens - we only scratched the surface - but gives us a good excuse to go back. The rooms were large and comfortable and the log fires perfect for the cold dismal days. Thank you John and Christine for making it a wonderful break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank samanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I first stayed here as a guest for a wedding celebration. Immediately, I knew that it was something very special indeed. I now come back every Spring, and bring writing students. I love it, of course, but it is wonderful to see it through fresh eyes every year, and like me they feel immediately at home and welcomed by Christine and John. See valda999 review, which says it all. I've never been on my own, but one day I plan to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex farmer
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Sixteen of us stayed in February for a four night bridge break and it was a great success. Rather like staying in a stately home with genial hosts, John and Christine made sure we were very comfortable and we had the house to ourselves. All rooms were en-suite and were mostly very large, Although we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis (brilliant breakfasts) there were two additional kitchens for self-catering or the pub was just three minutes away, where we had a bar to ourselves as well. Although we stayed the coldest week of the year, we hardly noticed as the heating was turned up and two wood burners and an open fire blazed. The enormous lounge seated everyone comfortably and still had room for four bridge tables. Centrally situated on the island, everywhere is just a few minutes away and public footpaths are everywhere.
I would thoroughly recommend North Court for a large group of friends for a celebration or - a bridge break!

Room Tip: General Gordon or Lady Gordon probably the best but several others very desireable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Amazing mansion in Shorwell with huge fabulous gardens. John and Christine are charming, and full of information about the island, with lots of maps and walks to borrow. Our room was huge with a small shower annex as well as a separate small bathroom and a large window overlooking the garden. When we were there, breakfast included figs and raspberries from the garden. Don't expect streamlined luxury - go to an expensive hotel for that, but for a relaxed, amazing value B&B it can't be bettered. Plus - The Crown Hotel is a stroll though the extensive garden (by torchlight after dark - don't forget to bring one). The food there is very good, so make sure you book your table.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Our stay at Northcourt definitely exceeded our expectations. I agree with all the comments below so would recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful hideaway in a beautiful historic house with absolutely gorgeous romantic gardens. Accommodation on the Isle of Wight does tend to be a little dated but Northcourt is traditional & authentic and we were not at all disappointed. We appreciated the little extras that not all B&B's provide - fresh flowers from the garden, candles in the bathroom and fruit from the garden at breakfast which in our case were raspberries & blackcurrents. Christine & John obviously work extremely hard to keep the house & garden looking as wonderful as they do but are at the same time welcoming & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valda999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

We spent four nights at Northcourt in the Lady Gordon suite, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Northcourt is a wonderful period building, surrounded by its own beautiful gardens and a field full of sheep. John and Christine welcome guests into a charming house that is very much a home. We liked our comfy super-king bed and separate sitting room, and the characterful plumbing of the deep roll-top bath only added to our enjoyment. The TVs (two in this suite) are small with limited reception, but they are okay, and one does not go to a place such as this to watch TV - apart from the News, of course! Guests are invited to partake of snooker in the historic library, and table tennis in the immense expanse of the old music room. Breakfasts are excellent, and John and Christine attentive and charming hosts. We look forward to returning in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KandADevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shorwell
7.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
11.9 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NorthCourt Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NorthCourt Manor

Property: NorthCourt Manor
Address: Shorwell PO30 3JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shorwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shorwell
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
NorthCourt Manor Isle Of Wight/Shorwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing